We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel with Resort touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bangkok to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21/100 South Sathon Road | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“City Hotel with Resort touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fabulous 4 night stay at the Banyan Tree Bangkok, we have stayed at 2 other Banyan Tree resorts and wondered how the city hotel would compare. Absolutely beautiful! Great location, a very relaxed and enjoyable environment. We stayed on the Club Floor and after checking in to our room we enjoyed complimentary drinks along with a 10 minute neck and shoulder massage overlooking the city. The room/suite was beautiful and well laid out, the choice of pillows was great, fruit basket daily and a selection of incense and oil with a burner was also a lovely Banyan Tree touch. The small gift each evening was very sweet. The bath was amazing with a selection of bubble bath/oils/salts which was great after a hectic day out in the city. Unfortunately the shower temperature was a little temperamental. Breakfast was delicious and the staff are very attentive throughout the Hotel. Cocktails at the Vertigo Bar is a must! cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: Club Floor Rooms are on the higher floors, access to the 19th floor lounge for both breakfast and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,108
    653
    206
    56
    27
See reviews for
381
1,549
163
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

So being a banyan tree fan, stayed in at least 3-4 banyan tree hotels in different locations around SE Asia, I found this one to live up to all my expectations. Albeit with a few hiccups that I had not experienced with other banyan trees. Most notably was the restaurant services at vertigo restaurant. Initially we were supposed to fine at sirocco at Lebua sky tower as I wanted to take my girlfriend to the awesome bar there and dine at the wonderful classy atmosphere they had to offer. But since they were fully booked, we were recommended by the hotel staff to try vertigo, another popular award winning sky bar/ restaurant. Only to my dismay, we were seated right in the corner backing bare faced concrete with steel railings visible. And also with hardly a good view of Bangkok as it was blocked by the railings. The table still had some crumbs on it and the food definitely wasn't what I would expect from an award winning restaurant. The sword fish carpaccio seems like it had been kept in the fridge overnight and the lamb seemed to be a bit over cooked and stale as well. Needless to stay I would probably not be returning to this restaurant unless they can guarantee me a much better seating and a fresh menu. Furthermore, both of our first choices of meal were not available as they had been "sold out".... And their service was mediocre to say the least.

On a lighter note, for those of you reading this, banyan tree is still a wonderful hotel to stay in and I would 100% recommend it to anyone with the budget to stay here. I just won't be staying in the Bangkok one anymore solely because of the memory of the restaurant.

With that said, everything else, from the service and room quality and sleep quality, perfect!
Although there were hammering noises outside our room, very quiet hammering noises every morning from around 10am -12pm. Yes we like to sleep in. Ha ha.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,G.B.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fabulous hotel. Stylish, clean, great customer service.
We stayed on club level. The room was clean, stylish, comfortable & well appointed. The drinks, lunch, snacks & cocktails throughout the day in the club lounge were excellent.
All the staff are welcoming, courteous &efficient
The bars are great, especially vertigo..
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a club level room is good value, especially if you plan to have some snacks & a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our recent stay at the Banyan Tree highlighted some of the characteristics that should make the hotel a desirable place to stay including a spacious and well appointed suite, gorgeous views from the Moon Bar, solid fitness facilities, and excellent advice from a staff member in the club lounge. Having said this, poor service on multiple occasions made what was supposed to be a memorable 10 year anniversary experience consistently more stressful than necessary. Among our complaints:
1) The hotel failed to respond to an email query around the need for reservations for a dinner included in our stay leaving us with impression reservations would not be required. When we arrived, we found we were unable to book dinner at Apsara the night we desired b/c the boat was fully reserved.
2) We waited for more than 25 minutes for drinks at the Moon Bar despite being the bar seeing minimal traffic on a Sunday night when alcohol was not being served due to gubernatorial elections.We eventually left drinkless after being informed multiple times are drinks were coming (which they subsequently never did).
3) The hotel did not advise us upon booking or afterwards that it could not serve alchohol the weekend of our stay due to local elections. While this restriction was outside of the hotel's control, as our reservation ostensibly included club access (evening cocktails) as well as complimentary drinks at the moon bar (downgraded to mocktails - which we never received), the value of our stay was less than advertised.
4) When we showed up for a reservation at Saffron, despite being dressed in attire that would have been deemed semi-formal (appropriate for a wedding in the States) my wife was told her footwear was inappropriate and we were forced to go back to our room to change. While a minor inconvenience, the fact that others in the restaurant were wearing t-shirts, sneakers, birkenstocks, etc., whereas my wife's more formal thong sandals were deemed flip flops due to their lack of a back strap immediately ruined the mood for what otherwise might have been an enjoyable dinner.
5) A service member chastised my wife for attempting to take food from what appeared to be an open buffet table at the club lounge. Unbeknownst to us, it was 5:29 and tea didn't start until 5:30.

Net, while some of the inconveniences were major (being shifted from Apsara to Saffron) and some were minor (having to change shoes), they all characterized a lack of tact and service that was inconsistent with what we would expect from a 4 or 5 star hotel such as the Banyan Tree. Together these experiences left us more than glad to leave behind us what we had previously expected would be a memorable conclusion to our weeklong anniversary celebration.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

As a family of 5 we had one of the two bedroom suites that was almost bigger than our hous back home. Extremely well appointed rooms, with all the five star comfort you expect, and some things you don't expect, like the steam cabin in the bathroom.

Food is outstanding as well (have not tried the Vertigo, though). Service impeccable. About the only gripe I have is that the location does not led itself to exploration by foot, unless you are prepared to walk quite a bit. So we ended up going to the metro station most of the times to get to where we wanted.

The vertigo bar is a hit on its own. Watch out for the dress code, which is strictly enforced: long pants, no flip-flops and no back packs. If you are not staying in the hotel, they will borrow you shoes and pants at not cost.

You can't go wrong of you book the Banyan Tree!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a truly excellent stay for three nights at this lovely hotel that represents the best of Thailands architecture, food and overall generosity. Thank you so much all of you from the staff, special thanks to Suksan who did a great Piyo-class in the gym. You also can not leave the hotel without a visit to the spa, it is the most rejuvenating and wonderful experience. Stay there, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a fantastic City break in Banyan Tree Bangkok!
Excellent location for the city malls, historic sites and still relatively close to airport!
The icing on the cake had to be the Vertigo bar at the top of the hotel, the views across the city are spectacular, and their cocktail selection was amazing!
Breakfast was great too, with a great international selection, and great setting overlooking the Koi Fish pool.
Definitely worth staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road | Thai Wah Tower, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.