We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding city hotel, one of the best I have experienced in Asia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bangkok to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Sathorn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding city hotel, one of the best I have experienced in Asia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have just spent ten days at the Banyan Tree Bangkok with my family, and have to say that the hospitality is amongst the best that I have experienced in Asia. Having spent two years living in Singapore I have had an opportunity to experience a number of the leading 5 star hotels in Asia (including the Oriental and St Regis chains) but have to say that the service we have just experienced surpasses that of these hotels.

The service from the top down was outstanding. The general manager, Khun Kai, seamlessly appeared at our check in to offer her personal welcome to the hotel; she was extremely polite and a pleasure to talk to. In the club lounge, Khun Pratch and Khun Ning and their team ensured we had outstanding and attentive service at all times, taking care of matters such as our daily excursion bookings and dietary requirements. No request was too much and therefore a very special thanks to them.

I would highly recommend a stay at the hotel and would recommend visiting their unique rooftop moon bar for dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room to benefit from club lounge usage and renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    744
    230
    62
    30
See reviews for
438
1,787
185
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in the Banyan Tree Club Room of Banyan Tree Hotel for three days in the city, the hotel itself is great, but it is a little far from MRT/BTS station, not a big deal if you use cab as main traveling way. We checked in at the 19th floor, the staff served welcome drink for us and we just need to sit in the rest area waiting them complete the paperwork. The room is great, especially the bathroom, I enjoyed taking a bath with a can of beer and great night scene of Bangkok so much. And do not miss the moon bar on the roof top, I would never forget this great experience drinking Mojito on the roof of the 61-story building, don't look down if you have fear of heights, another important thing you need to know about moon bar-get it earlier or it would be full easily. Though there are so many new opening hotels in Bangkok every year, Banyan Tree Bangkok is still a safe choice for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel let down slightly by location and some parts in need of renovation (bathrooms seen better days and some of the fixtures in our room had chips and scrapes...). Roof top restaurant/bar well worth a visit - amazing views and great service... Food and drinks at the pool bar were pretty poor (greasy, luke warm and wrong drinks...). Its this patchy service which doesn't quite match up to the reputation. Hotel seemed popular with business people, aircrew and Japanese tourists. Funkier 5 star hotels in Bangkok at same price or less - le meridian 5 mins away would get my vote.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I made a surprise 2nd visit recently and was not disappointed with the quality of service, room, food and general ambiance of the place. All absolutely top class.
Particularly noteworthy was the personal dedication of the front of house reception supervisor, whose name, I believe, is Kim. He immediately noted that I was somewhat elderly and a little frail ensuring I was attended to promptly and given a helping hand by the porter escorting me to my beautiful room. Thank you to all the helpful staff at this great hotel.

Room Tip: Stay high up to enjoy wonderful views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is fabulous! The service, rooms, breakfast are all 5 star! I would recommend staying Exec class as this will give you free drinks and snacks and express check in/out. The staff were so helpful and little touches like a free laundry service was great! A truly great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed twice at the hotel during our trip to Thailand both times on the club floor and used the facility extensively. The 19th floor lounge was a delight and we enjoyed the drinks and food exhaustively. This meant that we didnt eat out much at all and our overall costs were reduced. The service and quality were excellent and I have travelled extensivley over the years and I have not seen better.

The veritgo resteraunt on the roof was very special and is highly recommended. On a good evening you will find none better and the mini degustation menues are good value. Look at the menue before buying a bottle of wine tho. Go for cocktails whilst you look!

The gym is well appointed and the pool comfortable and refreshing. Its not a resort pool but very pleasant to spend some relax time.

Location is fine really, an easy walk to the subway and taxis are cheap. Any percieved loss in location is easily overcome by the quality and value of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is a bit out of the way from shopping etc, it also needs renevation but the staff in the hotel and at the club floor is excellent, especially Ying who made our stay very comfortable and out of the ordinary. Thanks again Ying for making us feel very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bangkok

Address: 21/100 South Sathon Road. | Thai Wah Tower II, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Banyan Tree Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Banyan Tree Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.