We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, Comfort, Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added The Sukhothai Bangkok to your Saves list
The Sukhothai Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxury, Comfort, Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything was awesome, from the moment we set foot on this place it was truly a five star experience. Staff were polite and attentive, we had lunch at Celadon and indeed it's one of the best fine dining. Stayed in the Executive Suite, the bed was the best ever we slept on. A gem in the CBD and even the front office confused with two guest with the same first name but was rectified quick.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Franco F,

Thank you very much for your splendid review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. The unique service of our staff, the most comfortable bed and our traditional Thai food at Celadon were highlighted as a recommendation for an unforgettable experience at The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    242
    56
    24
    17
See reviews for
177
644
155
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great location, lovely ambience, stylish rooms. You can see that the style of the rooms is starting to date and will need work soon. The staff are friendly and professional. Concierge service was exceptional and deserves praise. The pool is lovely but doesn't get much afternoon sun. The lifts and the corridors to the rooms are very hot and don't feel right to me. This needs attention for a 5 star hotel. Would I stay here again. Yes if the price was right.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Zhangram,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you loved The Sukhothai style of decorations and ambience which is very unique from other hotels in Bangkok and our concierge team did their best to provide you with an exceptional service. The comments on several areas will be raised up with the management team.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Sukhothai Bangkok hotel does deserve its Certificate of Excellence.
The décor of the hotel is beautiful, with quiet and calm design, giving a sense of leisure and comfort, making you forgetting the noise of the city.
The room facilities are outstanding, except the complimentary internet connection which is very slow.
The service is excellent and very welcoming.
There is a nice Thai restaurant in the hotel, and breakfast offers a good variety with plenty of fresh and tasty options.
The Blue Elephant is close to the hotel. Reservation should be made a head.
I would not hesitate staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear einavi,

Thank you very much for your top review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that you acclaimed us as an excellent hotel and you were impressed by our tranquil atmosphere of an oasis in the heart of Bangkok.

We wish to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Dear Ms. Pattama, Mr. Meadows
I had a great opportunity to stay at your lovely hotel for a few days last week. All in all it was very pleasant throughout. My wife and I particularly enjoyed the atmosphere. It was rather refreshing to see that you maintain the area superbly. I would certainly recommend the spa. The moment the treatment started i fell asleep and woke up again when it is done. that how good it was. We stayed at one of their Deluxe Studios, which was pleasant and accommodating. The food at La Scala was great with opened kitchen. We had dinner there outside by the pool.
However Ms. Pattama, I would rate your stay with 5 stars but our experience at the pool had put us off from doing so. The aging pool manager is probably the rudest hotel staff we ever encountered by far. He has very bad attitude and should not be working in service industry, period. During our stay, we visited the pool several times and had lunch by the pool. He intentionally ignored our presence, when he "had to" come and serve us he has done so as if we were asking for free food or something. when we asked about his recommendation, he sighed then walked away. Several minutes later another staff came to our rescue.
As optimistic as my wife is she gave him the benefit of the doubt. we had our lunch and left.
The next day, we went there for a swim and some drinks but his attitude hasn't been approved.
Dear Ms. Pattama, please do not let such behavior tarnish your hotel's reputation.
Volker

Room Tip: Choose a garden suite, it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a beautiful and lovely hotel. The room was great! Every detail was well thought out. The Lavazza coffee machine provided freshly brewed coffee in the room. The complimentary truffles paired well with the coffee. Breakfast overlooking the pond with stupas was serene. Perfect way to start our day. It was also within walking distance to Convent Road. Staff was attentive and courteous.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear sharonyp,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our room decorations, in-room facilities and our signature chocolate truffles met your satisfaction.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok soon.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I am a regular traveller to Bangkok and have stayed at several similar hotels like the Dusit Thani, Plaza Athenee, Oriental, etc. I decided this time to try the Sukothai. I hesitated because the hotel was US$300 per night.

The hotel location is good and it gives the feel of an urban oasis. It is a huge property and is well maintained. However, the service is very poor. The staff was generally grumpy and almost rude. The staff was inclined to tell you the rules rather than find solutions to your issues. For example, in the morning breakfast, I asked for a glass of orange juice. They said sorry it is not included in the breakfast!! I could not believe that a $300 room night with breakfast did not even include OJ!

The room was ok but nothing spectacular. The mattress is ridiculously soft and I got a severe back ache and had to move to the floor. I reported this to the duty manager who grumpily said that all mattresses were the same and said my only solution was to put a piece of wood under the mattress! I tried that but that felt ridiculous.

I will not be staying at this hotel again. It is for first time foreigners who do not know better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed here before and will do so again. It is welcoming, elegant and discrete. The hotel is set back from the road and so provides a quiet space in a very busy city. Staff go out of their way to help sort your travel challenges without being intrusive. Room service is great. Great bed linen!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear R0berta60,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is our pleasure to welcome you back again to The Sukhothai Bangkok. We appreciate your positive compliments on our services and the atmosphere of the hotel.

We would like to welcome you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukhothai Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.