We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat in the busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Save Saved
You added The Sukhothai Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sukhothai Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Retreat in the busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent four days in Bangkok to have a break from the routine. Sukhothai is not a large hotel and that suits us most. We spent most of the time resting in the hotel. The food is excellent. I spent the mornings by the poolside, sunbathing, swimming or reading a book. All the staff are friendly and offer assistance promptly. One may ask why not go to a resort but Bangkok has the attraction of the good restaurants and shopping malls. In the nearby Sala Deng distract you can find some good restaurants, shopping mall and the night market. they are all within walking distance. The nearby Lumphini Park is also wonderful to have a stroll in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your time to share your impressions for The Sukhothai Bangkok.

Reading your review we see that we reach our goal of helping our customers relax and escape their routine in an oasis in the heart of Bangkok. We are really glad to see that your staying was pleasant and that you enjoyed every service that we provide.

We are soon looking forward to your next visit to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,017
    219
    56
    20
    15
See reviews for
163
584
139
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stay in 1 night and cerebration of my wedding ceremony in this hotel . Everything is perfect and very impressive , organizer and staff hotel is professional and warm greeting
I love everything in this hotel . If you like to take a photograph this hotel have a many wonderful location for keep in your valuable memory time
Sunday brunch is perfect many tasteful international food , good quality
And you dont miss siradol restaurant is the modern romantic thai food

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing your time to write a review about The Sukhothai Bangkok.

We are really pleased that you have chosen The Sukhothai Bangkok for your most special day. Furthermore, we are pleased because you were satisfied by our facilities, friendly personnel and our award winner Thai restaurant, Celadon.

We are looking forward on accommodating you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We treated ourselves to one night at this hotel at the end of our trip before we left Thailand on the recommendation of a friend mainly because we were going to be in need of the spa before we left for our flights home.

Overall, we would not suggest this hotel. Our thoughts being that we paid more for this hotel than the other Bangkok hotel and it was worse. It was so fancy and grand to the point that we felt uncomfortable. And we really like fancy hotels. First, the rooms - they were nice and the bed was super comfortable. But the bathroom was all black marble and within seconds of getting wet I wiped out on the floor as it's really slippery! Second issue with the room is they were clearly having some weird humidity issue. It was so humid (not hot, just humid), that it was noticeable. I.e. passports were curved within a few hours. Very odd! Also our room was at the end of this long hallway in siberia with no AC so we think it had to do with that.

The main area of the hotel was nice, but HUGE and we never knew where anything was. Also its impossible to eat there. Their brunch was $100 per person. I know its supposed to be epic, but there isnt a lesser brunch/breakfast as an option. Who needs a $100 brunch? We felt like we couldnt eat at the hotel if it came down to it. We did find a cheaper option at the pool but it took some hunting.

Location wise it was totally fine, its in the downtown business district which is nice and clean. But unlike the other hotel we stayed in which was also in the Business District (Le Meridien), there was no street life, so no street food outside the hotel or local restaurants easily accessible near by and it wasnt really a walking street as it was one of the big two way avenues. It was near to the BTS though which was helpful.

The main pluses were the Pool and the Spa. We spent the AM of our last day hanging by the pool and it was bliss! Beautiful pool and the service was amazing. Refilling our free waters at every moment. Also great smoothies. The spa was also a really nice treat as we needed a place to get clean and ready for our long trek home. However, Le Meridien also had a nice spa they would have let us use.

Overall, we preferred the cheaper place! This feels like where your company would send you on a business trip, not where you want to go on your vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent a weekend at the Bangkok Sukhothai after a work week in Hong Kong. Overall, this is a beautiful hotel, quiet, beautiful rooms and landscaping, very peaceful in chaotic Bangkok. Hotel restaurants are wonderful, especially the breakfast and Celadon. My only complaints relate to a couple of service glitches: (i) the chauffeur was late in locating me at baggage claim; all the other hotel reps were waiting in the designated spot, but I had to call the hotel to help their pick-up representative track me down. It's frustrating to pay for a premium car service after a long flight and have to wait extra time; a cab would have been faster. (ii) the tour guide booked through the concierge arrived 45 minutes late for my morning tour. I view it as the concierge's responsibility to ensure that the guide arrives on time, and to notify my promptly if there is a delay. I arrived promptly at 8:30 and inquired about my guide, only to discover that the tour company hadn't properly registered the pick-up time. I should have been the prompt for that call; the concierge should call in advance and confirm pick-up times to avoid these sorts of issues. During a very short stay in Bangkok, this type of delay was frustrating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Sukhothai Bangkok for three nights in September 2012 at the beginning of our honeymoon. Although the hotel is beautiful, we couldn't help but feel it was a little impersonal and perhaps better suited to business travellers. After checking in we were never greeted by any members of staff by name and just didn't get the same feeling that we did at the other hotels we stayed in during our two weeks in Thailand.

We were in a Executive Deluxe Room, which was lovely. The bathroom was huge and it was beautifully decorated. The bed was huge and the bed linens luxurious. Everyday we returned to fresh chocolates and fruit. I have nothing but nice things to say about the room we were in.

We had booked a couple of meals at the hotel - a dinner at Celadon, and the Chocolate buffet in the lobby. Celadon was lovely, with an amazing atmosphere and the waiters in colonial dress. However, although the food was delicious, we paid much more here than we did elsewhere for a better standard of cuisine. The larger issue was with the Chocolate buffet. Although we had made a reservation, we had to wait in the lobby for a good ten minutes before we finally spotted someone to flag down. Once seated, no one came to our table to take our drinks/hot chocolate order for at least twenty minutes. The buffet was ok, but nowhere near what I expected based on similar experiences elsewhere. Overall, we were made to feel a little bit like we were interrupting the staff, and not like guests. A pretty big disappointment given the cost.

I may have rated the Sukhothai higher had we not stayed in such amazing hotels later in our trip. Compared to the other five-star hotels in which we stayed, we just didn't feel there was same level of service. Again this is probably because the hotel caters more to business travellers than to couples, but I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The Executive Deluxe Rooms are lovely and huge with every amenity you could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the older established hotels of Bangkok, but still offers all the charm and friendliness of Thailand. It also sits back from the street in lush surroundings, so you don't hear all that crazy Bangkok traffic. The rooms are spacious and the staff excels at making sure your stay is one you will remember. Whether it's getting a taxi for you, making a lunch or dinner reservation, checking to see how late a store stays open, they want to ensure that every minute of your stay with them and in Bangkok is a lovely one. An added plus, you can walk right next door to the Banyan Tree and take in the city lights at their roof top bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you were impressed by the charm of Thailand that can be found in every little detail at The Sukhothai Bangkok as well as the exclusive service from our staff.

We are looking forward to your return to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The perfect hotel in the heart of Bangkok. Staff are there to serve, to make you welcome, to ensure a peaceful rest in this wild city. The food is superb, the pool clean, the rooms large and generously supplied with all that you need for a worry free stay. Internet access and music system just great. The best hotel I've stayed at in coming to Bangkok over a number of years. This will be the place for me for the future. Try their Spa, its one of the best.

Room Tip: Delux-room overlooking the pool is great. I suspect that you will find all the rooms are just right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you and your couple had a fantastic moment together during your stay with us. Your positive review will encourage us to continue serving the best Thai hospitality to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Sukhothai Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, LHW, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukhothai Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.