We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sukhothai Bangkok to your Saves list
The Sukhothai Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Beautiful luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything was wonderful. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and refer to you by last name (even if its impossiblly long) The in-room amenities where the best. The hotel is a mini oasis in the middle of a busy city. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and have nothing bad to say about my experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators. I didn't mind the walk but it is rather long. if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you are impressed by our in-room amenities and our amiable staff. We wish to welcome you again to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    259
    60
    31
    18
See reviews for
187
685
165
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying in the Sukhothai is a very memorable experience. It is the best part of my travel.
I've stayed in at least 8 other hotels in Bangkok before a friend recommended the Sukhothai Hotel to me about 14 years ago. Since then , I always stay at the Sukhothai Hotel.
The room are luxurious and the staff are excellent. Try the omelette for breakfast.
I think it's the best in the world. The pool is a very tranquil spot.
I've also heard that the gym is good.
The Hotel is close to the sky train or a US$4 taxi ride Siam Square.

Room Tip: I've always found all the rooms very special. On arrival, if the Hotel is not fully booked, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing this 5 star review on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok was a memorable experience. We are so delighted to learn that you love our room, professional service from our staffs, amenities at Health Club, the pool area as well as the most popular menu at our breakfast.

Look forward to welcome you back to this an oasis in the heart Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights and have been switching three different rooms because of the air-conditioner problem as well as the mattress is too soft and imbalance. The staffs are friendly from the porter, reception to the gym staffs. All are helpful and friendly.

Besides the people, La Scala restaurant is a must visit rest. But the other restaurant serves Thai food situated outside the hotel property, the food quality is totally disappointed. Too upset that I erased the name of the resturant. By far, the worst Thai cuisine I'd ever had here. Over-price and poor food quality. I ordered the seasonal dishes - clams from Manila and New Zealand Mussel both are far from standard. Even the basic dish, 'pak Thai' was lousy, tasteless...very disappointed cos this is my last dinner for this trip.

The pool, the gym and recreation club are fantastic. I am running out of time in managing work out, sight-seeing, shopping, and swimming. Here are the tips: work out in the morning, then breakfast, use the biz centre checking emails, shopping and sight-seeing in the afternoon. Come back and have dinner in the La Scala restaurant or dinner after swimming, sauna ...thumb up!!! If u don't mind walking 5 mins to the next store - Banyan tree top floor for a drink - you made my day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciated your compliments regarding our helpful and friendly staffs. We’re really appreciated your “thumb up” on our La Scala restaurant.

We have taken a well noted on your comments toward our food quality at Thai restaurant and we’ll definitely addressed this to the team for further improvements.

Hope you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to welcome you back in the not too far future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and could not be happier with the choice.
Summary:

Location: excellent, easy to walk many places. Also close to the metro. Car service for those who desire is great

Atmosphere: Outstanding. Since it it not a high rise you truly feel that you are in an oasis in the city. This feeling is helped by the grounds which are magnificent. The pool is very tranquil and with very nice facilities

Rooms: Very nice, high end. Beds are very comfortable

Service: Truly 5 star. All staff are wonderful, the concierge service is amazing. My only observation is that pool side service is a bit slow if you are in a rush (a bit silly since going to the pool is usually a leisure activity), but getting a "quick bite" by the pool takes some time

Food: Only had the breakfast that was included with the room(other than snacks by the pool), but definitely go for this option. The choices were vast (both western and asian) and the quality was very high

Spa: Not the cheapest in town, but very nice and worth the money.

Gym: Excellent. A nice selection of equipment

Summary: Would absolutely stay here again without a second thought. Make sure to get a package that includes breakfast as it is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you for choosing to stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are truly delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us recently. Your comment on the service at the poolside will be addressed with the management team accordingly for further improvement.

We hope to welcome you back at the property again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are lovely. The pool area is serene. Everything about this hotel is first rate. I cannot find anything bad to say. I wll definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing the review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that our hotel facilities and services together with the friendliness staff met your satisfaction and impression.

We hope to welcome back you again when you next in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the start, the location and design of this hotel set it apart – a relatively low building in spacious grounds set back away from the busy Sathorn Road. From our room it was hard to believe that we were close to the middle of the bustling city.

Our executive suite was spacious and well-furnished, with all the comforts of home and more; daily generous supplies of fresh fruit and chocolate truffles added to our enjoyment. The only small quibble was that, in this day of computers, cell phones and other gadgets that need charging, there was a lack of conveniently located power outlets, but with some ingenuity we found enough.

The courteous and efficient staff were attentive and well-drilled to go the extra mile to make sure that one’s every need (and more) is met.

As pointed out by other reviewers, beware that Sathorn Road can be a traffic nightmare; we arrived at 5-30 pm on a Friday night and it was a parking lot. Our driver missed the discreetly marked hotel entrance on first pass and had to proceed until he could do a U-turn and return – it took 30 minutes to get back to the entrance. We also found that taxi drivers were not keen to take us to the hotel once peak hour started; although we had a very good reliable local guide with us, we were refused by 6 or 8 taxis before one agreed to take us if we paid a premium (3 to 4 times the metered rate, though still only $US10). Obviously this is not a fault of the hotel, but I mention it as something to keep in mind when you stay there.

We would have no hesitation in staying at the Sukhothai again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing and sharing your stay experience at The Sukhothai Bangkok on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us and impress with our hotel facilities and amenities.

We hope to see you at the hotel again in this near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimarn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

There are so many excellent reports about this beautiful hotel, which is the reason why I have never written a review about it. We have stayed numerous times at The Sukhothai and after having stayed here again just recently for eight nights I simply feel compelled to write a few words. It is true that the hotel is not the latest one in Bangkok, but it is full of atmosphere, experience and radiates a charm unseen in any other five star hotel in Bangkok (we have tried most of them). We stayed in an executive suite, which was spacious and perfectly maintained and serviced; personally I find the beds a bit too soft, but that does not do any harm to the overall impression. The staff is extremely friendly and always greets you with a "welcome home Mr. .." when seeing you first time even after a long absence. Breakfast at Colonnade is marvelous and so is the wait staff under the supervision of Khun Botan (specially Khun Sammy who has been around for such a long time already). It has been a couple of years since we dined last at the Thai restaurant Celadon as we never thought it was quite average; however, after learning that there is a new chef we gave it another try and were very pleasantly surprised as the quality and preparation of the various dishes was simply impressive. It is really worth visiting it again and I hope they manage to maintain the standard now achieved). We spent quite some time by the pool, which is such a relaxing experience in this busy city. The pool and its surroundings are probably the largest of all Bangkok hotels with sufficient beds. The entire staff is very polite and helpful. We ate lunch there twice and found the food very good; they have to bring your orders over from the main kitchen, so you may have to wait a few minutes longer than usual, but that is not an issue at all. The service at the front desk needs improvement as the staff seems not to work as a team and should better coordinate among each other. For us The Sukhothai defenitely outperforms other Bangkok's five star hotels in many ways and therefore remains our darling in Bangkok. We already look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The deluxe studios are also excellent; they are in a different building just next to the pool, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you very much for your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok and provided us with your positive feedback on Trip advisor. We are delighted to read your comprehensive and positive review for our hotel ambience, facilities, excellence services and our attentive staff members.

We are truly appreciated your recognition toward the Colonnade staff especially Khun Botan and Khun Sammy and we will definitely relay your message accordingly. Regarding your comments on our Front Office staff, we will take into discussion for further improvements.

We look very much forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukhothai Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.