We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sukhothai Bangkok to your Saves list
The Sukhothai Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 768 Hotels in Bangkok
Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Definitely a must-see and a go-to destination in Bangkok. Great service, beautiful rooms, awesome breakfast (best in BKK) and just a get-away from the chaos of Bangkok. Yet a stone throw from the action. A little Baby-Babylon for the ones in the know. A definite if you are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us at The Sukhothai Bangkok and the hotel facilities and services can make to your liking. We hope we will be able to welcome you back again next time.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    253
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
183
664
160
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hands down, the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Absolutely stunning rooms! You MUST upgrade to at least an executive suite. It is HUGE! There is lovely silk everywhere, the grounds are breathtaking, and the service is second to none. You get a bowl of fresh fruit everyday, yummy truffles, and the beds are extremely comfortable. While its location isn't the best (a bit out of the way) it is close to transportation, and taxis and cars are at the ready. Absolutely fabulous. I would choose it over the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you love our decorations, scenery, in-room amenities and especially our comfortable bed. We look forward to the chance having you stay with us once again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

It was very quiet in this hotel. Hardly anyone at their restaurants, pools or lobby. I think most people go elsewhere for food and drinks. I paid AUD$240 per night. Rooms are what a 5 star hotel should be. Pool is nice and the staff were very friendly. Concierge were helpful. Front reception were not as friendly. They did not know many places I asked to go to although these places are in the top attractions in Bangkok. Most only had limited English which also made it a bit difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear your wonderful comments regarding our rooms, pool and service from our concierge team. However, we have taken well note on your comments regarding our front office staff and will make sure we will pass this on to our management team for further improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. We look forward to the chance having you stay with us once again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked a deluxe room for one night at sukhothai as our honeymoon treat. We got upgraded to a suite and it was very spacious with every facility in good order. The setting of things in room was very user friendly and all staff were polite and smart! We got complimentary fruits, chocolate, sparkling wine as honeymoon gift and the breakfast provided a wide range range of choices! Really need to mention they got the most comfortable bed which enabled us for some deep sleep!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are truly appreciated that you have chosen The Sukhothai Bangkok as your honeymoon nestle. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoy our facilities especially bed. We will share your wonderful comments to our team and we hope next time we will have a chance to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A belated review - We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our big Easter trip. From the airport pickup it's was impeccable service all the way. A staff personally greeted us at the door and whisked us up to our room for check-in (so we didn't have to do it at the front-desk). We only stayed at the smallest room but it was still massive for 2 persons. Pool-side service was attentive and excellent, and so was the bellboys at the front of the hotel. Before each time we got into a taxi at the hotel, the bellboys always made sure the taxi driver clearly knew where we wanted to go. Breakfast quality was also excellent. The only negative was its location, a bit far from the BTS Sala Daeng Station. It's ok to walk that 10 mins distance for adults, but I feel a little apprehensive if I have to cross the busy Thanon Sathon Street with kids in tow.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you very much for your precious time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay during Easter Trip at The Sukhothai Bangkok is the pleasant one. We truly appreciated your compliments on our service and also on our breakfast at the Colonnade restaurant. We regret that our location might cause a minor inconvenient for you and your kids. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to The Sukhothai Bangkok in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Sukhothai for my part was a wonderful experience. My son stayed there before and wanted me to experience this fine hotel. We (my son and I) stayed 2 nights. My only complaints are as follows: Found the staff too friendly! During breakfast, I was often interrupted by some staff member. We had a deluxe room (smallest room), which was comfortable, nicely decorated and arranged practically. We were entitled to a free upgrade but had the misfortune that the hotel was full that evening. I was surprised at check-in that the staff did not say that we did or did not get the upgrade, but I asked the next morning. The hotel grounds are relatively small if I compare to the Peninsula (perhaps unfair to make this comparison). The bathroom was beautifully designed and practical. The room included an Italian coffee maker with Italian capsules that produced a better than average cup of coffee. I had breakfast both days and found it to be excellent (bagel, cream cheese and lax!) but hard to get good pancakes in Thailand! We had dinner at the Thai restaurant. Both the presentation and food were done quite well. The price is relatively high of course at 5-star restaurants (it seems the prices are comparable to USA and European prices). We did not use the spa and never found the gym (surprised if the hotel didn’t have one). The pool and pool area are relatively small but still quite nice. The one negative feature of the hotel is its location. There’s not much in the area and the nearest sky train (Sala Daeng) is about a 15-min walk. However, the taxi ride to the major shopping area (Siam) is not far. In conclusion, I highly recommend this hotel if you prefer peace and quiet, high quality and excellent service.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in this hotel are adequate. It depends on what you want regarding size. you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you for your feedback while staying at The Sukhothai Bangkok. We are delighted to learn you love our coffee machine in the room, bathroom, Thai food from Celadon restaurant. We have well noted on other comments for improvement. We certainly look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Frio, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first stay at The Sukhothai and we look forward to staying with you again. Every aspect of our stay was stellar to say the least. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment we were taken to our return flight everything was perfect. Our suite was gorgeous overlooking the pool, the truffles were delicious and the always full fruit basket was greatly appreciated.

Every staff member we dealt with was kind, polite, and super sweet. I have stayed at a variety of upper end hotels in Bangkok and can honestly say that the staff at The Sukhothai out shine the competition by a huge margin. The staff at the breakfast buffet were by far our favorites they all went out of their way to make our breakfast experience amazing. Everyone fawned all over our two year old daughter making her special pancakes, bringing her juice, and one manager even brought her the cutest little hair berets. These guys are amazing and made our stay an amazing experience. Special kudos to the folks behind serving counter they were extremely personable and always smiling. Oops... I almost forgot to mention that the food and the selection were outstanding.

The airport pickup and return were wonderful. Our driver was polite and personable. On our return to the airport we were assisted by hotel staff at the airport it was unexpected, but greatly appreciated.

Thank you for everything!!

Room Tip: Book a suite with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSukhothaiBangkok, Manager at The Sukhothai Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, thank you so much for this nice review. We are truly delighted to learn that your recent stay at The Sukhothai Bangkok was a pleasant one. We will certainly share this lovely comments to our team.

Look forward to welcome you back in this near future.

Best Regards,
Pattama Yoshimura (Mrs.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukhothai Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.