We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel though the standards are slipping bit by bit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sukhothai Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sukhothai Bangkok to your Saves list
The Sukhothai Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel though the standards are slipping bit by bit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Stayed at the Sukhothai over 3 days to catch up on some work. I've stayed there before about 3 years or so ago. Given that I've stayed at the Shangri-La, Oriental and Peninsula over the past 1.5 years, my comparison will be based on these hotels.

Incentives:

1) It is an intimate hotel with a serene, low-leveled approach which is quite restful in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. This contrasts very nicely with high-rise luxury hotel competitors like Banyan Tree, Metropolitan and Peninsula. The place I hear is based on the luxury chain Aman resort design. It shows.

2) An authentic use of local arts, crafts and materials is proudly displayed. If you like your hotels with the standard lux fare and appearance (a key point for chains like 4 seasons so you can feel familiar in any city), then Sukhothai isn't for you. If, like me, you like your hotels to have a touch of local flavour and a hushed plush feel, the Sukhothai is the best for a city hotel out of the river region.

3) Service was generally good. Housekeeping was efficient and little touches like petit fours for an afternoon tea and fresh fruits were available daily. It isn't Oriental standard by far but still 5 star Thai, which is saying a lot.

4) The security checks, now mandatory in Bangkok, were performed with the minimal of interruption but still seriously enough to make you feel relatively secure. The Oriental's is a little too burly for my tastes.

5) Location is great for work. Right on the financial district, it's great for business.

Decentives:

1) The hotel is starting to show its age. The tables and chairs are chipped and despite the upgraded B & O TVs, the cupboards and beds are getting long in the tooth.

2) Service is still great but slipping. The previously spectactular attention to detail and personal touches are almost all gone. Staff no longer greet you warmly, they no longer take note of how you like to place your toiletries or if you use more shampoo or conditioner (they used to and provided extra bottles of either automatically). They are still great by world standards but in Bangkok, you have to compare to the others like Oriental and Pen which have upped their game.

3)The location is great for business but not for much else. Most taxis seem reluctant to come to the hotel and waiting for a cab at the lobby or to return to the hotel seems to be a minor problem with many drivers now extracting exorbitant beyond meter prices ala Oriental style. Unsure if it is due to the depressed economy or the location where they feel they can't easily pick up another customer after dropping you off.

4) The hotel has a fly/mosquito problem. Electrical insect repellents are present in all the rooms but this frankly is little comfort. I think more effort to put anti-larvae treatment in the many ponds/pools around the hotel would be more comforting. I got stung, twice.

All in all, the Sukhothai is still one of the leading hotels but it appears to be resting a fair bit on its laurels. For my money, I'd stay at the Pen and pay the cab fare to my business meetings if in Bangkok for business. If there for leisure, well, you ought to stick to the river area or downtown near the shopping district like at the Grand Hyatt Erawan (old but locale can't be beat).

  • Liked — The uniquely thai look and feel of the place
  • Disliked — The insect problem and declining service standards
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    272
    64
    35
    21
See reviews for
200
714
170
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We had a wonderful stay in August at the Sukhothai. It is a beautiful hotel in Bangkok, a real Oasis of calm in the city.

We were upgraded to a suite for our Wedding Anniversary which was fabulous, I would concur about the beds, one of the most comfortable ever! the bathroom was amazing.

The buffet breakfast is beyond doubt the best we have ever had, just beating the Datai in Langkawi, which is some feat!!

The pool was very nice and very large for city centre. The complimentary fruit drinks were a nice touch. Throughout our stay the hotel staff were very helpful & pleasant.

We found the Celadon restaurant excellent & also La Scala, but the Colanade was over priced, esp the wine, I was poured a rather measly half glass of wine with dinner. The Zuk bar is fabulous and the cocktails are equally good!

Visit the rooftop bar at the Banyan Tree next door for a truly amazing view of Bangkok.

Overall, we loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Excellent Leading Hotel of the World.

  • Liked — The luxury of the entire hotel!
  • Disliked — The fact that the spa is being renovated, and treatments were in unused bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

I stayed at the Sukothai almost a year ago now. But i stil remember it - especially the swimming pool - one of the largest present in 5 star hotels in Bangkok (believe me i checked;) ) Staff was very kind and helpful, the place all in all very different from its competitors - low rise and has a calm atmosphere. The only downside was lack of proper soundproofing of the suites : a construction site next to and a faulty (loud) airconditioning system located next to the hotel spoiled the calmness both day and night ;)

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

Standard rooms are small but no matter. This is a hotel that will leave you lacking for little. The beds are exceptionally comfortable (if only I had one like it at home!), the decor very soothing and high-tech and the bathroom with its beautiful teak floor is a marvel with an enormous bathtub, shower and sink area. The breakfast buffet was, quite frankly, too good. It has something for every taste and all the items were of exceptional standard. You really have to restrain yourself! The hotel service is excellent. I asked in the morning about restaurants in a certain part of town and in the afternoon was presented with a printed list of several names. The gym attendants greeted me with an open bottle of water and towels and set the weights on my machine. They probably would have even done the workout for me! Every hotel service is done with a smile. If only all hotels were like this!

  • Liked — The rooms and bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This hotel is a pleasure - I could have spent my whole holiday here without venturing out once!

The décor is claming and really reflects Thai art and culture - the thing I really liked about this hotel is that you know you are in Thailand, it is a million miles from bland insipid international hotel standard which reflect luxury but no sense of where you are. Its not flash and showy, it is instead laid back luxury oozing superb taste. The walls display replica of Thai statues and there are a number of tranquillity pools that are pleasing to the eye and calming to the mind and the staff are kind and courteous and attend to your every need and whim without being grovelling.

We started our trip with a massage in the spa - I had the jet lag massage, my husband the traditional Thai massage, it was bliss. The staff in the spa were discrete and professional and the massage was refreshing very pleasurable, and the lemongrass tea at the end really zaps you back to life - I would highly recommend it (I would go so far as to say it is the best cure for a long flight I have ever had)

Its in a great location if you are in Bangkok for work as it is in the heart of the business district but actually from a tourist perspective it is cool too as you are only a short walk from the Lumphini sky train station (the traffic is so bad the sky train is the only really speedy way round the city!). Also there is a HUGE night market just round the corner - you can get everything there for a real bargain!

The buffet breakfast is awesome - there is something for everyone regardless of your background, tastes and preferences - its pricy if you only want a little breakfast but if you are hungry this is your kind of place! Also they serve a wicked latte.

The pool is large and wasn't too busy, and as everything seems to be in the Sukhothai, the pool is discrete relaxing and claming area where you can lay back in the sun while the staff run around laying out fresh towels and bringing you ice water. The cocktails are fabulously naughty too!

In summary I would recommend the Sukhothai very highly indeed. Its not a cheap option but it is a very special place indeed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Checking out - I wish I was still there now
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Just spent three nights at the Sukhothai, it really is an oasis in a busy city. Good size rooms, good service, nice pool area & good food if a little on the expensive side. Breakfast buffet is amazing.Our room was very quiet but there is building work going on so be sure to ask for a room away from the renovation/building work.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My colleagues and I stayed at the Sukothai Hotel for 3 days from 28 - 30 July 2007 for our company trip. The hotel is not what I would expect from a 5-star. Here is why:-

1) You will have to wait quite awhile to get a taxi to go somewhere else from the hotel, I have waited on average 5 to 10 minutes for one taxi because the hotel is situated in a busy commercial district in constant traffic jams. If you do not take the taxi, you can take the Skytrain but it will take you 15-20 mins to walk to the nearest Skytrain station.

2) This hotel is aging. The rooms especially those carpets are getting so worn down. I also found that the room is quite small compare to similar hotels in Bangkok.

The hotel itself in my opinion is too big; I have to walk a long way from my hotel room to the lobby. It has a nice big pool and the gym is pretty nice which are positives yet I don't understand why the sauna in the health club can only fit 3 people max.

I would definitely recommend other (5 stars) hotels in Bangkok which I have previously stayed before eg.) Metropolitan (just down the street), the Peninsula and Conrad over the Sukothai.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sukhothai Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukhothai Bangkok

Address: 13 / 3 South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sukhothai Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COLONNADE, all-day dining restaurant features live cooking stations, Carving Trolley and a wide selection of Western and Asian favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sukhothai Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sukhothai Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sukhothai Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Sukhothai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sukhothai Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.