We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #6 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for the end of our honeymoon and even though we were staying in more boutique hotels in Koh Samui, we loved staying at such a classic and luxurious hotel in Bangkok. Bangkok can be a bit chaotic at times and it was a great feeling to come back to our 'haven'.

I couldn't fault the cleanliness, service and the breakfast! Will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,792
    321
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
357
1026
111
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Sadly, my wife and I and two friends stayed here for just 2 nights in February and wished we had organised our trip so that we could have stayed longer. This really is a superb hotel. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, the staff are charming and polite to a fault (in spite of some previous reviews to the contrary), the location is excellent and the food first rate. Our friends are vegetarian and we are not, so spending a 6 week holiday together in the Far East and Australasia was occasionally challenging when trying to find a restaurant that suited us all - but not here. The buffet style restaurant is the best of its kind I have ever experienced. The range of food is amazing and the quality is excellent both at breakfast and at dinner. The hotel has its own 'fleet' of boats that ferry guests for free across the river to the public landing where the water buses stop and one of these took guests on a sunset cocktail cruise up the river for an hour before dinner which was a magical experience. Try it if you can. To sum up, this was the best hotel of our 6 week trip and we would have no hesitation in going again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Possibly the best hotel anywhere! Large and well appointed rooms with superb views extremely helpful staff and excellent restaurants. A winner!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I had chance to visit your restaurant: River Café & Terrace. We quite enjoy with the variety of food and overall service EXCEPT the service from restaurant’s reception. If I’m not wrong their name is Anchalee & Wachiraporn: dark skin lady with faked smile in yellow uniform.

I am extremely disappointed about your restaurant reception’s impatient and impolite attitude & service. Unable to believe 5 star hotel would treat the guest in this way. May be because of I’m a Thai lady who have foreigner boyfriend. They really look down on me especially Khun Anchalee, her act and how she look and talk to me so rude. But really different with how she serves with man. Try to flirt on my boyfriend and his friends. I can guess that may be flirt on her boss and coworker (man) as well.

I try to observe them, when they talked to each other about booking, table, and guest they talked in Thai that some words some sentences should not come out from 5 star hotel staff. It’s true that the foreigner guest not understand what they talk about but I’m Thai so really understand and really touch in their bad attitude with some guest especially some high demanding guest about the location of table and quick service. They are unsuitable to work in 5 star hotel or any hospitality place. Do you check their background before? The service that I got from them and I can observe is unacceptable.

Furthermore, before we came here I called to check the restaurant information and check if there is any discount but because of I’m not the hotelier so some words or conditions I don’t understand so, I really need the clearly information asked her several questions but, she can’t provide the clearly answer also asked me to wait for a while then give me the answer without tone of voice. Impatiently kept saying “don’t you understand?” “Still don’t understand?” with the eager to hang up my phone. Anyway I still made a booking because of my boyfriend got the suggestion from his friend and I called again, the staff who talked to me on the second time, he really polite and can give me very clear information. So sorry that I can’t remember his name.

Moreover, I shared these experiences with my friends who work like an organizer and had the meeting group stay with you before “Not surprise” that they also got the same feeling with me about the river café & terrace reception service with Thai guest. I know that may be my friends overacting to arrange the table for their guest (lunch buffet) seem like overstep on the reception’s duty however your staff should not scowl or show dissatisfaction with inappropriate manning. And I quite sure the receptions that my friends talked about should be same staff who I gave name to you because should enough for your hotel that have the bad attitude staff like that. Also I heard from some friend that your staffs from this restaurant try to get business on your guest but for this issue I’m not sure may be just a gossip.

Lastly, the whole thing I would like to make the seriously complaint is the “attitude.” Your staff should treat guest with equally and don’t look down Thai people because they also Thai like me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Just returned from BKK and a second stay at the Peninsula. The service here is always top notch and I love the set up of the rooms. Entry foyer and separate dressing areas, closet.
The pool area is fabulous. Will definitely stay here again on next visit to BKK!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Just back from a stay at the Peninsula and we could not be more pleased.

We took advantage of the "Suite Life" promotion the hotel offers to book a suite for 4 days at the price of 2. I expected a slightly nicer room but our room was absolutely fabulous! (We had friends traveling with us that had a standard room and it was also lovely). We had a little entry room with desk, a full sitting room with couch, table and large flat screen tv, a large closet, a huge bathroom and a huge bedroom. Both the living room and bedroom had a river view.

Our room had complimentary fruit, cookies and candies. The fruit was restocked each day. The entertainment center was top notch. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotels location across the river was never an issue. We enjoyed taking the boat across to the sky train when we needed to. Cabs are extremely cheap so it would have been very easy to catch one at the hotel if we preferred.

The breakfast service was also very good with fresh baked goods and great fruit. The hot items were not quite as good as the cold but in light of the temps outside, that didn't pose an issue for us.

And lastly the service was excellent. No only before and during our stay but afterward as well. We left a hat in the room and I was contacted by email to notify me that they had found it and were holding on to it for me. A really nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

The PEN is a five star all the way and every inch of it shows you that only the best was considered when designing and constructing this huge property. The only issue I had here was that the service was not as you might expect from an Asian palace. It was good, practical, but nothing memoriable, that would make you feel special. Everyone are doing their jobs very well but in a robotic and mechanical way. then again, the property itself is top notch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.