We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Luxury in Advance
Ranked #4 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Peninsula is one of the best properties I have stayed at in Bangkok. There's a quiet elegance about it, which I guess should be expected of any Peninsula property.

I arrived really early, so had the benefit of eating breakfast while sitting by the riverside and watching the city wake-up. The breakfast was excellent.

My room was lovely and cosy and the bathroom was especially big. I had a view of the river which was very nice, though I hardly spent any time in the hotel!!

I hope to stay here again on my next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river and although a bit balmy, try and eat outside by the riversi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    358
    84
    29
    13
See reviews for
415
1,176
128
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ended a 4 week tour of Indonesia in Bangkok. While this was a very educational trip, Indonesia is a difficult place to visit. We were relieved and happy to be back in Bangkok. We were greeted at the airport by a representative of the Peninsula and taken comfortably in a lux car to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we did not even have to check in at the desk and were taken directly up to our view balcony room. We were then given an option to upgrade if we chose (at a 25% up charge, which was a fantastic price). The lovely rep that showed us to our room took us to the upgraded suite and it was beautiful! A wraparound view on the curve of the river. This one bedroom suite with two bathrooms (one had a view!) was exquisite. It felt like a homey apartment overlooking the grounds of the hotel, pool, river and the city skyline. We stayed for five nights and wish we did not have to leave. The service is wonderful and the outdoor Thai restaurant is delicious. We will stay at the Peninsula every time we travel to Asia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not too high so that you can enjoy the activity of the river. This time our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Peninsula Bangkok is one of the best properties we have ever stayed in. The service is extremely good, rooms are good size and well positioned and very clean. Bathrooms are well fitted with a shower and bath tub. There is attention to detail. A great Chinese restaurant which not many people know about and a great river side cafe. There is a lovely spa with good therapists.
Always a place to get away to relax and enjoy the amazing care and service. The hotel maybe across the river but if you get off at the Peninsula Pier opposite the Shangrila its a 3 minute boat ride. Staff are well trained and always look after the guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take high floor, for the view, the corner suites are very comfortable. Corner rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't get me wrong - this is a very good hotel with wonderful ambiance and in a great location. Having read all the reviews before picking it however I was expecting something very special. The first let down was at reception when the receptionist had our booking the wrong way round. Not her fault but she was unable to sort it quickly which was irritating after taking nearly 20 hours to get there. What really let things down for us though was the quality and price of the food. We tried all the restaurants and were underwhelmed I'm afraid. Very expensive and not particularly good. Breakfast was the exception where the spread was impressive though you have to be patient as it gets very busy. The rooms are pretty compact but comfortable and the views of the river are great. We would go back but would eat dinner elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here over the Songkran holiday. This was our fourth stay at the hotel and it is as great as ever. Slick service from being met at the airport until our departure 5 days later. Check-in was prompt and we were shown to our balcony room. We prefer this side of the river as the view back towards downtown is mesmerizing - sitting on the balcony with a glass of champagne watching the boats go up and down the river is enchanting. Rooms are clean, well stocked and has a nice deep tub. The décor is little dated but we like the plush interiors. Food at Thiptara was great - nice view of the river and delicious food. The pool never felt crowded and service was excellent. The spa is fantastic with nice sauna/steam room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Love everything about this hotel, by the river. Amazing rooms, totally gadgety and savvy. Love the thai restaurant, Thipthara - try the snowpeas and monkfish! and their caramelised nuts. location-wise, slightly away from where you would need to be but nicer to be by the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

All services -doormen, bellmen, front desk, concierge, spa,room service- were top notch from the moment we arrived through checkout. After checkout, we had a late flight out so they let us shower and change clothes in the spa after a final sweaty day of touring. There are fine boutiques here, including a Jim Thompson silk shop. As stated by others, the breakfast and dinner buffets had something tasty for just about everyone- both Asian and Western diets represented. We were upgraded to a suite, which was both large and tastefully decorated in a modern style. Views out from our corner windows- room 1504- were of downtown Bangkok and the Chao Phraya river. There is a free Peninsula ferry to cross the river, allowing one to hop on the very cheap municipal ferries- best way to travel in Bangkok as road traffic is even slower than Manhattan rush hour. Train station is also close by, if you want to take the metro, though it has only a few operating lines. The restaurant/bar in Hangover 2 is just across the river- Sirocco at Lebua- it has awesome views of the city there on the 64th floor roof. Service there is wonderful, but be prepared to pay for it.

Room Tip: Ask for corner suite on the river?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.