We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and the Room, Wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #6 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Jersey City, NJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and the Room, Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was here for business, but had a few days of pleasure relaxing at The Peninsula Bangkok. Many reviews complained about the location, but I enjoyed this location eminsly. I never had to wait more than 5 minutes for the shuttle boat across the river where you can either pick up the Sky Train, River Ferry, or Taxi practically at your feet when you get off the boat.One of these methods will get you cheaply and efficiently to any tourist destination on the map.

The conceirge service was EXTREMELY helpful to plan a day trip away from the city to Ayuttha. Which only cost 2,200 Baht for 9 hours of car service ( who happend to be an excellent guide).

The pool is so chill, you can relax in a little pagoda in the shade or a recliner in the sun.

The room was prestine with an amazing bathroom. I wish I had this luxury at home.

Breakfast was over the top, period. No matter your appetitie or background, there is food for you!

Staff, incredable at every level. If English speaking staff is important to you, then you'll be happy to know you can easily communicate your needs with the staff.

I had to change hotels during my 3 week stay in Bangkok, due to the fact I needed to be closer to my work site, and I was very sad to leave The Peninsula.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room, you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,796
    320
    74
    26
    13
See reviews for
362
1032
112
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
*Friendly Staff
*Spacious
*Free wifi in every part of hotel
*Value for money
*Breakfast!
*Views
*Surroundings & Bar

Cons:
*Lack of indoor seating for breakfast
*Location (however, a free short boat trip across the river negates this)

Overall, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had an amazing, but pricy (relatively speaking) trip to Bangkok thanks to the Peninsula. Great service, great accomodations, amazing property. Will definately return. If you can, always arrange for a limo service from the hotel to pick you up in Bangkok and avoid the taxi drivers trying to scam you for double the cost in a toyota corolla.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked Peninsula from our experience at Peninsula Hong kong but this one really disappointed us. First, the location is on the wrong side of the river and every time we wanted to take a walk , have to take a boat to cross the river, very inconvenient. Front desk people are big snobs, checkin staff tried to explain to me the difference between debit and credit card without believing to what I have to say. Room is nice but nothing compared to Hong kong Pen and doesn't justify the price paid. Only decent meal period is the breakfast which is decent spread otherwise no other restaurant is worth mentioning. Management cannot be seen around and staff is incapable of handling moderately difficult request.
Overall terrible choice when there are other great hotels like Oriental and Shangri-La on the other side.
Avoid this Peninsula !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great hotel. The physical hotel is getting a bit tired but it is kept in great condition. Lounge by the pool and watch the boats go by, it is a terrific spot. Food is really good, take the Thai cooking class. We had a terrific time and learned how to make some delicious food. Make sure to get a room with a balcony, it was nice to be able to sit outside. The spa was so amazing we had four treatments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We first stayed at the Peninsula Bangkok in 2000, soon after it opened. We've enjoyed going back over the years, but this was our first visit since 2005 - just for a short break. The prices have - not surprisingly- risen a lot in the meantime so it's not a budget option. But it's still a really lovely place to stay, and very relaxing. It's stylish and luxurious in an understated way, and with a great location by the Chao Praya river. This time we had balcony rooms, so after relaxing by the pool (where the staff really take care of you) we were able to go back to the rooms and sit outside, enjoying the view of the river and all the things going on there. There's an excellent buffet breakfast (bit crowded at peak hours though). In the evening we took the hotel's boat across the river and tried various restaurants - the hotel concierge can book ahead in advance. Definitely recommended for a treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Comfort, luxury,location, attentive staff and wonderful dining all in one location! Enjoy the boats on the river, catch the complimentary Peninsula Private water taxi, which can take you to gorgeous shops and other restaurants. At night you can take the water taxi across the river, then walk two blocks to the famous Sky Bar. We were on the 26th floor and had amazing views and the most comfortable suite. I hated to leave!

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views, but don't think there is a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.