We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #6 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Aus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

On our arrival at Suvarbhumi Airport in Bangkok we were met by an hotel representative immediately outside the baggage check area who escorted us to a gleaming BMW waiting at the curb.
The driver assisted us into the car while their other representative loaded our luggage in the boot.
Before moving off the driver offered us chilled drinking water & a cool towel. Now we were ready to take on the Bangkok traffic.
On arrival at The Peninsula we were welcomed by several members of staff & whisked up to our suite (we had been upgraded from a Deluxe King room to a Deluxe Suite) on the 21st floor where we went through the hotel check-in procedures.
After freshening up we decided to head out do do some exploring on the Skytrain. We headed out the river side of the hotel to their private jetty on the river. Here the security man saluted me & asked our destination. Upon learning we were going to the BTS station he radioed for one of the hotel riverboats to pick us up. The courtesy river boats are a fabulous service. The Peninsula has three boats.
Over at Saphin Taksin there is a priority pier for hotel river boats, Very Nice!
Later, on our return from shopping we went to catch the river boat back. On boarding the boat the boat man bid us "Welcome Home". This was a really nice touch.
The breakfast buffet is truly spectacular. Anything you want they will endeavour to provide.
The hotel was finished about 1998 and for a fitout that is approaching 15 years old the hotel is in remarkably excellent condition.
The hotel is designed so that every guest room has a river view. Some views are better than others, our suite had 200 degree views of the river, Incredible!
After traipsing around Bangkok all day we would put our shoes in a cupboard each evening where they would be cleaned & shined by the room attendant overnight.
While staying at The Peninsula we experienced an exceptional level of service.
Although the rooms are on the more expensive side I believe they are still very good value.
I highly recommend The Peninsula as a great place to stay while in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Grand rooms & suites are on upper floors & as such offer better views. I believe they are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,796
    320
    74
    26
    13
See reviews for
362
1032
112
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved the service, the pools, the proximity to the rest of Bangkok, but most of all the breakfast.
Beautiful setting on the river, great selections. I wish we could live there!
We've stayed at plenty of places, newer, more expensive and cheaper throughout the world but few could come close to this one.
Big rooms, Plenty of english language channels, ours had tv in the bathroom over the tub which may be a bit over the top, but after a few weeks away..I needed a bubble bath and to watch tv at the same time.
Professional staff, help with late checkout, a really good hotel.
OK one thing detracts, but this is everywhere, the pillows, they use those pillows that slowly deflate til you're sleeping on 2 feathers.
And they kept me waiting at the spa, but I'm reaching, trying to find a negative there. We will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: Try to have a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Peninsula Bangkok whilst on our honeymoon.

We were upgraded to a wonderful room, the service was impeccable and the food fabulous.

A very relaxing place to stay in busy Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the peninsula for the first few days of our 2 week honeymoon in Thailand. Its in an awesome location, the service is great, and the breakfast is AMAZING. We couldn't wait to wake up and eat for the few days we were there. They arranged a tour for us which was great - it was just us and the tour guide and it wasn't very expensive. I can't remember which room we stayed in but I know that it was an upgrade (thanks to Amex travel) and it was awesome. Had a great view of the city/river and a massive bathroom. It's pretty expensive but because of a special that was running we paid for two nights to stay for 3.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wow the service is outstanding, as well as the location!!! the hotel is the newest of the area but it has an Old style decoration... I dont think its worth its price, it is very expensive vompared to the ones around which are as good as this one....I dont recommend it if you want to party or have fun... is a very calm hotel and a lot of old people... if you want a bit of party go to the Hilton in front of it... anywhere you stay by the river is the Best option in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

There a lot of excellent hotels in the world and I have stayed in many of them. When you are not counting resorts , but city hotels, the Peninsula in Bangkok (basically all the Peninsulas that we have stayed, HK and Shanghai ) are one of the best in the world. The design of the rooms and the public areas, the quality of the maintenance , the excellent service ,the food and basically in every criteria, it is a standard of its own. We stayed here five years ago and every thing remain as it was. The rooms are big (I assume more than 40 M2 ) breakfast buffe was perfect and the dinner buffe was even better. The swimming pool and the flowers. Luxury at its best. We enjoyed every moment of it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

There are 5 & 6 stars hotels, some are new and some are getting on in years. This is one place which had kept its old world charm by providing the service that matters to the guest.

What matters to me - 1. Convenience to transportation , 2.Clean, Comfortable and Secure rooms , 3. Great view is a plus 4.Has sports facilities 5.Reasonable food outlets. On all these counts I score them excellent!

The "summon it when you need it" boat that takes you to the BTS Sky train that takes you to MBK, Siam Square, Silom, within 5 stations, cutting off the jams on the road is simply great! Another great thing about it - operates till midnight. I can almost be certain that I can reach an office in Silom within 30 minutes including walking time when I leave my hotel room.

The only drawback is I got taken on a "round about" trip by the taxi driver to boost up the meter fare when I asked to be taken back by the taxi to the hotel. Going to Silom by taxi is also a nightmare -- you can get stuck in traffic for more than an hour! I learnt from the mistake and started taking the boat - BTS combo!

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms has a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.