We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally finally made it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,442 Reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“finally finally made it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i've always looked on in envy at the Peninsula properties around the world, always longing to have just 1 stay at one of there hotels. Well this time we took the plunge. We arrived by the Peninsula river boat from the Shangri-La Krungthep wing which was a very tough act to follow,

Surprisingly we had to ask 2 or 3 fellow guests the way to the lobby/reception area from the boat pier and no member of staff was waiting to greet us, Check in however was swift, and the young gentleman was only too willing to uprgrade us free of charge to a Grand Balcony Room on the higher floors, 34th to be precise - and wow the view was something to savour - epic breathtaking views of downtown Bangkok right in front of our room - the towers Silom Rd, Sathorn Rd, ChitLom, Siam & Sukhumvit Rd making the skyline look like Manhattan !!! The only downside was our balcony seemed a little closed in unlike the Shangri-La which was wide open 180 degrees.

The room itself - bed was as comfy as i've ever had, spacious with a nice desk and sofa in the living area, the huge bathroom had his n hers sinks complete with the usual quality toilitries on offer which adjoined onto a very spacious closet area.

The breakfast was magnificent, english buffet style, with eggs cooked to order by the chef, dim sum and a huge range of cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruit, juices and coffee, all hosted on the most beautiful of riverside settings, directly opposite the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. The service was fine, although not what i'd expect here. Pool area was really nice although partially blocked off from the sun.

Being on the other side of the river posed no problems whatsoever - The Peninsula riverboats were frequent enough to drop us off in a matter mins at the central pier and Sathon Taksin skytrain station. Even getting taxi's and tuk tuks back to the hotel at night was easy and straightforward enough - contrary to previous reports.

As a stand alone hotel with room & breakfast there is no other place that will match the Peninsula, with its imposing grandeur both inside and out, yet we found it 'a little cold' and the service 'stuffy' & withdrawn - if only they offered the same free perks as the Krungthep Wing over the water (complimentary afternoon tea and evening canapes & cocktails) - this place would not be beaten.

For us Shangri-La's Krungthep wing edges it with a better location, better service & far better value, but make no mistake, the Peninsula deserves its standing as 1 of bangkoks grandest properties

Room Tip: every room has magnificent views facing the Bangkok city skyline & river, regardless of floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,980
    339
    82
    28
    13
See reviews for
394
1,127
125
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

So, my wife and I are going on a tour of Thailand and Australia and after looking at many hotels in Bangkok we decided that The Peninsula is the one. So our stay is in April and I will write a full review of the hotel then, but I just had to tell anyone that is looking to book at the Peninsula this so far is the place. As soon as I made the reservation you get the standard computer reply for confirmation just as any other hotel goes but that is where the difference ends. We started getting emails from the front desk staff confirming our reservation and spa treatment and airport transfers. These people really know how to make a person feel good. We have gotten emails from the concierge desk, the spa and also the hotel itself.
I am so excited to stay at this hotel and I will post the final review of the hotel once we return home. Stay tuned.....review will follow.

Chris Cain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is located in a near perfect position on the river in the centre of BKK. The rooms are extremely well appointed. The staff are well trained and very friendly. Breakfast is great with a wonderful selection of food styles.

The problem? For us, we have been forced due to travel plans, to eat in the hotel (Thiptara Restaurant) on three consecutive nights. We were three people & the first night we were told that the Chile red wine we had ordered was finished (2 bottles) the next night we chose Thai wine, not outstanding but OK. 3rd night after our first bottle of Oz wine we were told they had no more, also no more of the subsequent three choices. OK we were given a complimentary bottle of wine as an attempted recovery, BUT, at these prices to have a 50 choices wine list most of which seems to be a dream of the writer I find shocking.

Why not ten wines that they really have, rather than 50 that are dreams, we're very disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a lovely property with great rooms. Have to say, love the control panels by the side of the bed! Nice pool area that opens at 6:00 for an enjoyable early morning swim.

We spent a week there during the Chinese New Year. Perhaps not the best time service wise, they were always behind the ball and trying to scramble to get ahead. Breakfast was always a zoo, not very restfuls although the food selections were plentiful, and the bread and pastries were excellent. The best baguette outside of Paris!

In summary, excellent amenities and spa, a tad stuffy, impersonal, and woefully understaffed given the room rates. We might be willing to return for the river view and the early morning swim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spacious room, a very comfortable bed and great view of the river and the city beyond.

Helpful and efficient staff.

Easy to get around with round the clock (till 12 mid-night) shuttle boat transporting the guest to the sky-train station and the main ferry wharf.

One of the best breakfast buffet we've ever come across in terms of variety and quality of food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to what we think is Bangkok's best hotel, less pretentious than the Oriental, but one up from the Shangri La. Right from the airport pickup and check in the service was excellent and understated. The only challenge was that the hotel was dry, due to an achohol ban across the city due to the elections, however have to say the welcome more than made up for this. Would very much recommend this excellent hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Peninsula is a beautiful hotel. We were picked up from the airport by one of their cars and provided with bottled water and a wifi connection both of which were appreciated.

When we arrived they took us straight up to our room with our flower gifts and we checked in up there and due to the fact we had used the hotel’s car they had upgraded our room free of charge.

The hotel itself is very plush and everything is beautiful, it wasn’t however a stuffy hotel and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We also used the spa facilities and they were lovely. I would honestly recommend treating yourself to a facial. Best I’ve ever had and worth every penny.

The food at the hotel was very good too. At breakfast there is plenty on offer for very palate and tea and coffee being offered by the wait-staff.

We did eat an evening meal here and whilst the food was a very good standard it was expensive and we took the boat the next evening across the river to a restaurant that the concierge recommended which was fantastic and very good value for money.

I would highly recommend staying in this hotel and would do so again if I was in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.