We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
uk
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel many times and, for my money, it is, all round, the best five star in Bangkok. They have always, so far made sure I get the same room which I particularly like and request bless them. The ladies who run the piano bar are very very good hosts and talk to you if you want and leave you alone and provide efficient discrete service if that is all you require. I had a lovely chat with them one evening when we were the only people in and we laughed a lot, some such Hotels are too stuffy for that but the staff at the Bangkok Pen and lovely. The food is great as you would expect, boat and car service always perfect and I am please they still retain the one green Rolls Royce amongst the new fleet of 7 series BMW's. I prefer the old Rolls to the Phantoms at the Hong Kong Peninsula. The rooms are just great and I love everything about the way the suites and bathrooms are set up and the facilities they provide. Looking forward to returning soon, thank you.

Room Tip: I'm not telling you which one I like we might be going there at the same time! Frankly they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    327
    77
    26
    13
See reviews for
379
1,073
115
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent! My upgraded room with a balcony on the 32nd floor overlooking the river was beautifully decorated and kept impeccably clean. The furniture is comfortable and attractive. Storage is more than ample for the 30kg of luggage @piece that we each had. The marble bathroom has a large tub, separate shower, two sinks, and a private commode.

If I had to state the very best thing about the hotel I would choose the staff. From the housekeeping personnel, who clean your room without any carts blocking your passage in the halls to the efficient, knowledgeable concierge, to the cooks, waiters and bartenders.

Everything from the buffet breakfast, which we ate at everyday on the riverfront, to high tea and dinner was perfect. The best breakfast buffet that serves Chinese, Japanese, American,Thai, and fresh made pastries as well as the best honey ever.

Truly the best hotel experience I have ever had.

Room Tip: Ask when you check in if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As you turn off the road and drive up the cobbled entrance to this hotel you can feel the grim and anxiety of air and city travel being washed off you like a cleansing operation.
From the moment you are greeted at the door to the moment you drive back into the chaos that is Bangkok this hotel does everything right, the minute detail, the food the staff the rooms everything and i mean everything is just fantastic.
Don't get me wrong it's not the first time we have stayed in the far East far from it but this hotel is just the best bar none.
I just wish it was in a better City!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Overall a very good experience. Had a one-bedroom suite on a high floor with amazing views of Bangkok. Room was quite large even for a suite with plenty of space to relax as well as lots of storage. It was nicely decorated with high quality electronics including remote drapes. Hotel common areas are extremely nice, especially the spa which is immense. The pool - while large - did get crowded over a holiday weekend. We frequently had to wait for lounges although we were able to get a table for lunch without issue. Service was good although a few minor things were lost in translation. Only real complaints were: (1) breakfast was buffet only which got tiresome after a few days although the ample outdoor seating was fair compensation and (2) the area around the hotel is not as nice as the other side of the Chao Phraya , particularly the decrepit buildings directly adjacent to the hotel. Note this had no impact whatsoever upon our stay. The hotel's water taxis were excellent and staffed by capable crew.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's big asset is the riverside location with views of the river traffic and downtown Bangkok on the other side. The hotels provides a free shuttle boat that links to transport MRT and the crossing is part of the experience. The hotel including their riverside Thai restaurant is first class.I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Obviously a river view - we were on a corner and had views down river as well , gave the room an eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a late review of our stay at the Peninsula for our honeymoon in April 2011. This is our favourite Peninsula hotel, it's set in a lovely riverside location out if the bustle of the city.

The pool area is very relaxing and the spa services are impeccable. We left feeling thoroughly pampered. The spa is very modern and secluded with a variety of treatments.

We had a modern, clean room with a balcony overlooking the river. Having tea and fruits each afternoon with the view really was spectacular.

Eating in the riverside outdoor restaurant for 2 nights we had the best meals ever. The buffet style dinner is exceptional quality.

This really was one if the highlights of our honeymoon and we hope to return soon to experience it again.

Room Tip: Book a spa treatment, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great hotel in terms of room, breakfast and nice thai restaurant next to the river. As for location, it is at the opposite side of the river - need to spend more time on the road. However, the hotel does provide boat to the nearest train station.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;