We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 761 Hotels in Bangkok
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently stayed in The Peninsula Bangkok for 1 week. Having also stayed in most other 5 star Hotels in Bangkok and actually staying in Hotels globally for appr. 200 nights each year I can conclude that this property is one of the best. Their service is impeccable and also the location is superb. Pool is by far the best in BKK.

Breakfast Buffet is excellent. Also try their evening buffets. Best rooms are higher floors especially their deluxe suites are best value for money.

We will definitely come back soon....

Room Tip: Deluxe suite floors 30 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    334
    80
    28
    13
See reviews for
389
1,110
123
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I decided to give the Peninsula in Bangkok a go this time. The hotel is lovely however the room was half the size of the one I had at the Mandarin last year. I also found the restaurants to be very expensive especially for Bangkok - this really surprised me. The other negative was the location the Mandarin has a much better location. On the plus side you do get free wifi. So all in all I don't know if I would stay here again, with so many good hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Peninsula hotel is an unmissable landmark on the Bangkok riverside area; a monolithic sky scraper and one of the tallest buildings in the City. I stayed there for four nights to try an alternative to the more expensive and traditional Oriental with which I was familiar.
My arrival by limousine from the airport was flawlessly orchestrated despite considerable flight delay, the hotel driver provided chilled water and a cold towel. The check in was slightly confusing as it was conducted in-room, by a woman who seemed to know little about the hotel and couldn't take payment. I sorted this confusion out at the front desk and settled into the room.
I chose a Grand Balcony room and it was well worth it. The balcony on a high floor of the building affords a view looking across the river towards the city centre that you will get from no other hotel.
The room was well appointed, if a little full of nooks and crannies and equipped with a most illogical lighting and audio system. The decor was a little on the traditional side, but pleasant enough.
The pool is a nice feature of this hotel, with multiple level interconnected swimming pools all served by excellent pool attendants. A small poolside restaurant served tasty light food and cocktails.
Public lounges and rooms were all large and airy and well air conditioned. The Lobby Lounge is a great meeting place with rapid service of cocktails and light bites. All tasty and quickly delivered with full linen and silver cutlery.
The River Cafe buffet breakfast was extensive and offered a huge variety of cold and cooked items, all once again made from excellent produce.
The Thai restaurant gave us a prime riverside table in the evening, served us a very well prepared meal, including very tasty and authentic red and green curries; they also asked what degree of spice we wished for in each dish. A very good meal at a reasonable price, with wonderfully mixed cocktails.
All the staff were helpful and knowledgeable and made this a very smooth and enjoyable stay. The river boat service operated by the hotel enables easy transfer to any of the other locations on the waterside, such as restaurants, the shopping malls or other hotels. The Taksin Skytrain Station was also accessible from a drop-off pier along the river, leaving just a 300 yard walk to the station.
However, don't try this with heavy baggage, as it's all rough ground, several flights of stairs and other hindrances that would leave one gasping in the humid heat of a Bangkok day. The train is well air conditioned, once you are aboard, and very cheap indeed.
I would recommend the Peninsula whole-heartedly either for a pleasure or business stay in Bangkok. Maybe it's not as chic as the Oriental, or as trendy as the Lebua at State Tower - where the restaurant was permanently unavailable for reservation - but it has old world style and service that will leave you feeling that you have been taken care of by consummate professionals at a proper hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just ignore how much it cost. I book first night balcony room and the rest delux room to check out the difference. The hotel is beautiful, service is good but for some reasons the front desk don't seems to understand what is a smoking room and non smoking room, one said they will send us the key of the new room and the other said I need to collect it in person. This took me 3 trips to the check in desk ! Staff are friendly but not all which is a surprise to me, as this is an expensive hotel.

Room Tip: I peronnally prefer the deluxe room instead of the balcony room as it is larger and more comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had heard that The Peninsula Hotel was a 'good alternative' to the Mandarin Oriental across the river. I think there are no alternatives to The Peninsula! A perfect meet and greet at the airport (although the Peninsula could learn from the MO's 'fast track immigration service here!) and a relatively quick trip through Bangkok traffic to arrive around 1030am to find our room available for checkin. Great views from the Suite we had (no Upgrade though, even though one was 'promised' by Centurion Travel Services) and a wonderful if somewhat intimidating media centre (The hotel needs to reloo at this as there are much more powerful and simpler setups). Great service from start to finish (the Pool, Spa and outlets are all worth going to). Great Bar by the entrance to the hotel, great outdoor area and Afternoon tea is a must! A ride in the Rolls Royce (when are you going to get the new Phantoms?) topped off a perfect couple of days.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor room that faces the river..otherwise you will miss the real value this hotel bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

With many 5 star properties to choose from have to say I'm disappointed with my latest stay at the peninsula . Yes it's an iconic hotel and the setting is picturesque but its the little things that matter !
The pool hours are 6am to 11pm with food and drinks apparently available until 9pm - yet on my first night could not get a drink at 8.10 pm when 3 staff standing around ! On the second night arrived at 7.50 pm and insisted that I wanted a drink and some food , the attendant had to ring his boss - come on I'm surely not the first customer that has made such a request - you do have 24 hour room service.
Another annoying aspect was that we where to catch the train to Hua Hin one morning ( something different ) we made enquiries with the concierge regarding transport the night before who was very helpful and said to take the boat to the other side of the river with our luggage to avoid rush hour and take a taxi from their , should take approx 20 to 30 minutes. - good advice. On check out different concierge - bit of a bad attitude was insistent we needed to take a taxi over the bridge not use the boat as earlier suggested - well after 70 minutes in a taxi we missed our train - thanks !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Reading the last review, I felt compelled to write as my experience of the location over seven stays, each of at least a week, is very different from some of the views expressed..I stay at the Peninsula in a beautiful suite, where the service is exemplary , every year
It is an excellent hotel . Although it is on the other side of the river , in my view it is no disadvantage as the boats are so lovely and frequent.They are one of the joys of the hotel.
We eat out at good restaurants in Bangkok virtually every night and I can honestly say that I have never had difficulty in getting a cab to take us back over the river to the hotel at night.. Of course, we do not hire one in the street in the evening but get the restaurant we are visiting to get the cab for us. It is no problem. The doorman gives the guest a card for the driver with the address in Thai . What's more, the views have always been very nice from the 33rd floor, where we are. Perhaps there is construction on the side or somewhere - certainly not in front but this will surely only be a small part of the panoramic view over Bangkok!

Room Tip: The lower floors are cheaper but the higher the floor, the more panoramic the view. If you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.