We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Bangkok

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #6 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Deluxe room was super - large with gorgeous bathroom. Magnificent view and location . Buffet breakfast fabulous . Fun to catch the boat across the river to sky train - easy and less hassle than taxi .
Awesome pool great staff with a very friendly manner .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,793
    321
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
358
1026
111
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
china
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've stayed in several very nice hotels in Bangkok, but recently celebrated our anniversary at the Peninsula. It was just an amazing hotel all around. We had a room with balcony overlooking the river on the 18th floor. The view of the river traffic was really interesting, the hotel pool was very relaxing, and the entire hotel didn't feel trapped in the middle of the big city -- like many of the other big hotels. It was everything you might expect from a hotel of this class, but it was elegant without being glitzy. We especially appreciated that the Concierge actually had business cards for interesting (and less expensive) local restaurants. We went to a seafood place recommended, and it was terrific. The breakfast had a wide selection -- kind of like most really nice hotels have now, but this was even more extensive than the norm. Enough said. This hotel was just an all-around great experience.

Room Tip: balcony room was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel.
The location was perfect. We felt like we were in Bangkok - but out of the madness!
After a day in the city, it was such a pleasure to come back here at night and relax away from the hustle and bustle.

Room - we had a suite, with a phenomenal view of the river and city. The room was luxurious and large, as was the bathroom.

Spa - this hotel has an ESPA Spa. I love ESPA! Best products, best treatments and I fell asleep in my massage which says it all really!!

Food - we only ate breakfast in the hotel (included in our package). Everything you can think of was available - including curries and rice!!! We mostly stuck to eggs, pancakes, fruit salads and cereals though :)
For lunch and dinner we exclusively stuck to street food. Some of the best food I have ever eaten - so don't be scared to try it!!

Perfect base for staying in and exploring Bangkok.
(We visited Wat Po, the Grand Palace, floating markets and lots more!)
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in a suite and it was wonderful, you can get the full room details off their website however it was huge with so much space.
I rarely name members of staff in my reviews as I have been fortunate enough to meet some great people along my travels however I must say a big Thank you to Vince on the front office who was extremely professional and organised when around 20 guests arrived to check in at the same time as us, a huge Ambassador for Peninsular Hotels, he even gave us information on our future holiday to the Philippines, outstanding.
Our room had all the mod cons one would expect from a 5 star hotel and more with great views across the river. We had drinks and food at the bar and all served impeccably. The river crossing was flawless and they even carried my shopping and held umbrellas over us when it rained, very decadent!! Yes I would definitely stay here again and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had not been to the hotel since 2009. We are regular guests since it opened more than 10 years ago. What a pleasure to be back. The same thrive for first class service especially in areas which used to cause some problems like the saturated breakfast buffet in the morning. I am happy to report that these problems have almost been solved with careful allocation between the different restaurants in the building. Outstanding managers, Maître Ds help make breakfast an experience with an amazing variety of food. Special mention to the fruits selection.
Maybe one comment, it would be great if the hotel would have a better system to take care of its regular guests. Its large size sometimes creates a lack of personal touch/contact.

Room Tip: If you can get it go for the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything about the Peninsula is perfect, from check in to departure at Bangkok Airport (they have staff to assist if you take the hotel limo service). Rooms are beautifully appointed (we had a balcony room), sheer luxury in every respect.

Breakfast at the Riverside is not to be missed.

Loved the boat shuttle service. Puts the Peninsula in a perfect position for exploring Bangkok.

Shame only a one night stay, will try and return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I began our Honeymoon at the Peninsula in Bangkok before heading to Chang Mai and Ko Sumai. I was very impressed with the hotel overall. It was clean/comfortable, the staff was helpful and the location was ideal. The included breakfast was good except that it was the same selection every morning. That got a bit old for me by the third morning. The Peninsula ferry boats were great and we never waited more than 5 minutes to get across the river. Highly recommend booking the private spa room and enjoying a couples Thai Massage. The best Thai Massage of our Honeymoon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Bangkok

Address: 333 Charoennakorn Road | Khlong San, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed as one of the finest hotel properties in Bangkok, its riverside location inspired the wave- shaped design, capitalising on the uninterrupted panoramic views from every room and adding a distinctive architectural statement to the Bangkok skyline. The Peninsula Bangkok offers commanding city views, luxurious comfort, sophisticated facilities, extraordinary dining options and the legendary Peninsula service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Peninsula Bangkok
Peninsula Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.