We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Save Saved
You added Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Pathumwan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
munich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“short long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have a wonderfull warm welcome in our second home bangkok.When we arrive here in our hotel we get a warm welcome back from all staff members esspecially on the reception and in the lounge floor reception.

Room Tip: be a spg member and you will receive wonderfull rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear siegfried b,

Many thanks for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor.

It brings great pleasure to receive such positive feedback on our associates, this is a true testimony to all the efforts they put forth each day. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We would like to thank you once again for your kind comments and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to your second home in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    662
    269
    72
    14
    14
See reviews for
127
288
138
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times to attend official conferences. In all I would have stayed for 7 nights. The check-in was quick and staff was pleasing. I would have preferred an offer for a welcome drink. The lifts were fast and the room were spacious and elegant.
The property is walking distance to a Metro station and it will take you 15 mins to reach to one of the prominent malls (MBK). Now that goes well, if shopping is in your agenda.

I would have liked the hotel staff to be more interactive which could help you to be little more relaxed.

I being an indian vegetarian, would have liked the buffet breakfast to have more options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-smoking area were really quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear RahulS679,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that our Front Office team was efficient during your check-in and that our associates were pleasing. I am also delighted that you liked our guest rooms and that you also appreciated our central location in Bangkok. Whilst we do endeavor to offer a wide variety of cuisine on our buffet in the Rain Tree Café, I will certainly look into your comments on our vegetarian Indian offering with our specialty Indian Chef Karan to see where we can improve.

Thank you once again for taking your time to share your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Service at this hotel made up got everything else the hotel was lacking..... Though service could've been a tad bit better towards us without my Caucasian husband around?!

The staff in the executive lounge we're relatively polite and help especially the one who extended our checkout time as he was very knowledgeable in all aspects!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear micheleTaipei,

Thank you for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It brings me great pleasure to know that you felt our associates offered you excellent service, especially our Le Royal Club Lounge team. I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team. Regarding your feedback on the difference you felt, please be assured that I will review it with the team and ensured that consistent service is provided to all our valued guests..

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good location and elegant party hall for large gathering excusite cusine for a celebration time.
This part hall is separte from the main hotel which makes it convenient for visitors with exclusive decor well connected by Lift as well as escaltors

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear SINGARAMMOHAN,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I trust that you an enjoyable celebration in our spectacular Crystal Ballroom together with family and friends. We are indeed well-known for our elegant meeting venues and specialized catering services and I am delighted that you appreciated our efforts.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I hope that we have opportunity to offer you another memorable celebration at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed here 6 or 7 times. That says a lot for someone who spent 150 - 200 nights a year in hotels over the past few years. This is one of my favorites!!! The location is a block from the metro station, which is the best way to travel around Bangkok. 1 stop away is the largest concentration of shopping malls and 3 stops away is the Siam Paragon. I have not taken the new airport shuttle, but I hear its easy. This is a quiet street relative to the excitement and action just one metro station away in either direction.
The hotel lobby is grand, restaurant and piano bar are all first class... In Xmas, they have beautiful decorations that will make you forget that this is a Buddhist country. The pool area upstairs is a great place to unwind and at night they have great lounge singers. The club is a must do here. Pay the extra, it is a great investment as their drinks and happy hour are terrific. The staff here is top notch, even by tough Thailand standards of great service...
The breakfast buffet is one of the best in Asia, catering to Thai, European, Asian, US tastes and a fresh noodle bar! Include it! There is a Chinese restaurant here, it serves the best Peking Duck we have ever had in the world.

Room Tip: The rooms are large, bright, luxury bathrooms and typical Asian Luxury. Upper floors are best for vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear KAHORU W,

Thank you for your continued support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for taking the time to share such positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is a great honor to receive such high praise from a valued guest who has such a vast experience of staying in so many different hotels. I am truly delighted that you find our facilities and restaurants to be first class and that you appreciate our central location. Our Royal Club does indeed offer some great benefits which I am thrilled you highlighted along with our signature Peking duck which is offered in our Silk Road Chinese Restaurant. I will be sure to share you kind feedback with Chef Kam and the team to further reinforce all their efforts.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The check in process was smooth. But immediately after check in you are encountered with the first problem.....a long wait for the lift! Just 4 lifts for a 25+ floor hotel.

The room was good, but though the bathroom looked clean when I checked in, there was a leak in the tap near the closet after the first use. This was promptly rectified by housekeeping.

Stayed for 5 days at the hotel. The breakfast spread was good and had lots of interesting options. We had a conference there and the buffet lunch as part of the conference at the hotel was average.

Overall, the hotel had good & clean rooms, comfortable stay....but the long wait for the lift, a constant dampener.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Surmen,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel .

It is inspiring to know that you appreciate the service our Front Office associates provided and that you thoroughly enjoyed our signature Le Méridien breakfast in the Rain Tree Café. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are planning to initiate a soft refurbishment for our guestrooms early next year so that our valued guests continue to experience a high standard of facilities. Please note that from time to time, our hotel can be quite busy with groups and other events, which may cause some inconvenience and disruption in certain areas of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Bangkok this month. Having a gluten and dairy sensitivities, I searched for an allergy friendly hotel, that also provides excellent accommodation. I am short of words to describe what a wonderful experience we had. The hotel was luxurious, comfortable and pampering, and although it is a large hotel, the staff provided a personal and caring service. The food was another wonderful experience. We ate breakfast daily, and tried also the dinner buffet, and the 'Smooth Curry' restaurant. The food in all the restaurants was outstanding. After letting the manager know about my allergies, all the staff was notified about my needs. In any restaurant, the chefs, the managers, and the staff went out of their way to help and make us feel 'at home'. The breakfast buffet provided gluten free bread, muffins, and granola. In addition, the staff was ready to make any dish that I wished to have (such as yummy pancakes and fried rice). Both my husband (who has no allergies) and I enjoyed the food and the service tremendously. At the 'Smooth Curry' restaurant we had the most amazing Thai dishes. The best was the red curry dish; so tasty, complex, yet perfectly balanced. Do not miss this restaurant; we did not have the same culinary experience in any other hotel or restaurant in Thailand. In conclusion: beyond expectation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear travelgfcf 5/5,

Thank you for staying with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such a detailed review on TripAdvisor.
It is an absolute delight to know that our associates provided you both with personalized and caring service, this certainly highlights what we strive to offer all our valued guests. I am thrilled that our culinary team was able to accommodate all of your dietary requirements and that you both thoroughly enjoyed several meals with us. Smooth Curry does indeed feature mouth watering authentic Royal Thai Cuisine and I will be sure to share your praises with Chef Jasvir and her team.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again upon your return to the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the most beautiful tree-lined avenue in the heart of Bangkok and just a five minutes walk to the Ploenchit Skytrain station connected to the city’s largest shopping centre of Siam Paragon and Central World (two stops away) as well as the tourist attractions, including Chao Phraya River and Chatuchak Weekend Market. The famous Thai Boxing Stadium at Lumpini Park and Central Chidlom Shopping Centre are within easy walking distance.All guestrooms and luxurious suites boast views over the ever-changing Bangkok skyline. The hotel’s myriad facilities include a sublime spa, roof-top tropical pool, squash court, roof top jogging track, fitness centre and 8 creative restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.