We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Pathumwan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #59 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Taguig City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Plaza Athenee Hotel's ambiance is very nice. They serve great food too! A good place to stay and to celebrate holiday. My friend's wedding was held here and it's a two thumbs up. The location is also good. .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear chocolatiest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and that you feel the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel it is a good place to stay whilst celebrating the holiday season.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we will have the chance to see you soon at the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    291
    75
    15
    15
See reviews for
134
303
143
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Keep it up your excellent services and please upgrading your wifi speed. Adding more Variety of food for breakfast.
Nice n cozy room for family.
Convenience area n easy walking distance for shop n attraction

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Suzie F,

Thank you very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient.

Thank you for your comments and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was a great place to stay over the Christmas period. The location is good for the sky training you can get easily to Siam. The reception staff were lovely and we got an early check in. The room was nice but no wow factor. Very comfy bed though and free wifi. Breakfast was really good - fantastic waffles. The 10.30 finish was appreciated so we could have a lie in. We also had the Brunch on xmas day at Raintree Cafe - it was really enjoyable. Food was amazing, it is definitely the best brunch in Bangkok. There were carols, a Santa and we had nitrogen mai tai cocktail at our table. I would defo do it again next year if we were in Bangkok again.

Room Tip: They said there was work on the lifts but we never heard a thing on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Doonton1,

Thank you for writing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is always such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests, thank you for taking the time to share them. I was also thrilled to hear that you found our Brunch to be exceptional; I will definitely share your kind comments with our Food and Beverage team.

Thank you once more for your review and I hope we will have the opportunity to see you again in the future at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel, and not because we got a cheap deal through a friend who works there. Service was great the whole time and buffet breakfast was huge. Happy Hour in the bar went for three hours :) Room was well appointed and very clean. We had a small maintenance issue at 3am when the hose to the bath split and water was leaking but they had someone on staff who fixed it straight away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I have been staying in this hotel quite frequently in the last few years. Having just returned from a 3 days stay over the Christmas holidays, I can only repeatedly recommend it. Its location is first class, the accommodation is superb and the best of it is the extremely friendly and helpful staff. it was a pleasure staying there and we most certainly will frequent this hotel again soonest.

Room Tip: Just ask the friendly reception staff what you prefer and if possible you'll get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Abraham1_11,

Please let me thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for your continuous support of the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our accommodation and associates are greatly appreciated.
I am very pleased to learn that we were able to create a great stay for you during the festive period and that you can highly recommend us. It is the support and comments from our guests that encourage us to continually improve and monitor the service we offer our guests.

Please allow me to thank you again for your continued support and your feedback and I hope to see you again very soon at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Yes, it's true. And I usually avoid buffets due to low quality and 'feeding the herd' mentality. At this hotel, it's different. The buffet is a destination for tourists and locals, and has the largest selection of foods ever.

The lobby is grand and expansive, with huge curved staircases and various (overpriced!) shops and boutiques. The Glaz Bar is comfy and with free wifi for guests, it's a good place to spend hours working or surfing. But let's get to the foods.

As soon as you walk in to the breakfast buffet, you're greeted with a daily special 'shot' of various flavor blasts to get your appetite going. The buffet has lots of exotic local fruits, lots of different breads and pastries, sushi, fresh seafood, halal, curries, stirfry, salad bar, dim sum, various yogurts, eggs and waffles and soups all made-to-order, plus regular breakfast eggs, meats and hasbrowns.

The lunch buffet is also expansive, with various asian foods, fruits, breads, salad bar, carved meats, fresh seafood, tons of desserts, including a make-your-own ice cream sundae section. You can also get the make-to-order soups and also pasta.

Dinner is just as good. Friday night is the seafood bonanza with all sorts of cook-to-order fish, scallop, prawn, mussell, clam, lobster, etc. plus fresh meats, grilled or BBQ, mild to spicy. Your table has little clips with a number and you give the staff your number when you order whatever fish or meat and tell them how to cook it. They cook it to perfection and bring it out to your table. Of course the buffet includes soup and pasta to order, meat carving station, sushi, breads, salads, asian foods, desserts, fruits and more. If you're on a diet, forget about it, although you can eat very healthy at the buffet too!

The rooms are average, and even though I've stayed in this hotel at least 4 times, I was much less impressed with the room this visit. Staff is very helpful and after a day or so, they knew my name and room number, plus drink preferences. Nice!

Location is good. Depending on traffic, it can be 40-60 minutes or more from the airport. Going left at the street just outside the hotel you can see several foreign embassy buildings, various shops, etc., but unfortunately the Night Market is no more. Going right at the street outside the hotel it's less than a 10 minute walk to Central Mall, which has 7 levels and shopping galore. Small street cafes (skip them unless you want to risk stomach issues) and various small shops line the streets both ways from the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is ok, just average. Skip the overpriced hotel spa and go to Healthy Land where you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, General Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear CopperTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel during your visit to Bangkok.

I am very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you especially liked the cuisine offered in The Rain Tree Café. We do endeavor to offer a wide variety of dishes from all over the world on our Buffet and I am thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations with not only our signature Le Méridien Breakfast, but also with our extensive Lunch and Dinner Buffets. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Glaz Bar and that our associates were helpful and offered you great service throughout your stay.

Let me thank you once more for your review, and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the future at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,

ChooLeng Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed there twice and would not hesitate to go back. Spacious rooms, high attention to detail, perfect location, amazing breakfast/happy hours, excellent service in every sense of the word. Also...the best beds/pillows in the world.
A must stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear AnaPaulaLisboa,

Thank you for staying at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for writing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you would not hesitate to come back here on your next trip to Bangkok. I will most definitely share your kind comments with our team.

Please let me thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel

Address: 61 Wireless Road (Witthayu) | Ploenchit Skytrain Station, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#51 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the most beautiful tree-lined avenue in the heart of Bangkok and just a five minutes walk to the Ploenchit Skytrain station connected to the city's largest shopping centre of Siam Paragon and Central World (two stops away) as well as the tourist attractions, including Chao Phraya River and Chatuchak Weekend Market. The famous Thai Boxing Stadium at Lumpini Park, the new Central Embassy Luxury Shopping Mall and Central Chidlom Shopping Centre are within easy walking distance. All guestrooms and luxurious suites boast views over the ever-changing Bangkok skyline. The hotel's myriad facilities include a sublime spa, roof-top tropical pool, squash court, roof top jogging track, fitness centre and 8 creative restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Bangkok
Plaza Athenee Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.