We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding performence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   952 Rama IV Road | Suriyawongse, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding performence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a platinum status member, I was upgraded to the junior suite. The room was very modern with nice aerial views of Bangkok. The staff were lovely. The hotel's location is ideal to nightlife and within walking distance to the sky train station. The breakfast was lovely and the staff in this hotel are highly professional...This is the way all hotels should be run. Despite a closed club lounge and on-going renovations, the management in this hotel, know exactly how to look after their guests, inform them of disruptions in advance and make amends and reparations for any small inconveniences. The service on this visit was exemplary from the...the management, this hotel is properly managed by its General Manager Mr Mark Winterton and his team. One would imagine that excellence in hotel management is universal, amongst top four and five star international hotel brands but it is not, in fact, it is a very rare commodity indeed. I spend as much time each year in hotels, as I do at home and I estimate that only one in ten of the hotels in which I stay are well managed. So, thank you Mr Winterton and I hope that my travels bring me back to your hotel very soon, so that I may once again enjoy that brand of care and personal service, which is fast disappearing from even the most renowned hostelries.




.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    212
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
65
203
116
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As a platinum status member, I was upgraded to the junior suite. The room was very modern with nice aerial views of Bangkok. The staff were lovely. The hotel's location is ideal to nightlife and within walking distance to the sky train station. The breakfast was lovely and the staff in this hotel are highly professional and polite. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. This hotel puts to shame some of the Intercontinental hotels, in particular Intercontinetal Kuala Lumpur. I think the staff and management of Intercontinetal KL should learn customer service from Crowne Plaza Lumpini park Hotel Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the way all hotels should be run. Despite a closed club lounge and on-going renovations, the management in this hotel, know exactly how to look after their guests, inform them of disruptions in advance and make amends and reparations for any small inconveniences.

The service on this visit was exemplary from the bar staff, to the restaurant, the pool, gym and the laundry service, all were superb, I cannot praise them enough for their politeness, charm and concern for the needs of their guests.

I am not renowned for over the top, or overly sympathetic reviews, so my praise for this establishment is hard earned and why is this hotel so good; position, room size, facilities such as pool, gym etc? No, although these are all excellent; it is the management, this hotel is properly managed by its General Manager Mr Mark Winterton and his team.

One would imagine that excellence in hotel management is universal, amongst top four and five star international hotel brands but it is not, in fact, it is a very rare commodity indeed. I spend as much time each year in hotels, as I do at home and I estimate that only one in ten of the hotels in which I stay are well managed.

So, thank you Mr Winterton and I hope that my travels bring me back to your hotel very soon, so that I may once again enjoy that brand of care and personal service, which is fast disappearing from even the most renowned hostelries.

Room Tip: Best rooftop pool I know, take in the relief mural and the plant pots; only in Bangkok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Tucked away in a little quiet corner around Lumphini Park is this hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. About a 5 minute stroll to the nearest BTS station, this very convenient Crowne Plaza IHG property is situation right on the edge of the serene Lumphini Park area but still very accessible to the city center as the infamous Bangkok traffic typically evaporates nearby. We spent 4 nights here and like most of our Crowne Plaza stays worldwide, had a very pleasant stay overall. The staff were very friendly and professional, especially the guest service dept (Mr. Boonyuen) and the concierge, whom was very knowledgable and extremely accurate when it came to directions, timing and restaurant info. The F&B and House-keeping were also the high-lights of our stay, the food on the 24th flr buffet was just superb(credit goes to both Mr. Santiago & Mr. De La Garza and also the head chef Mr. Lasserre)and the cleaning staff very amusingly and cutely redecorated the arrangments of my gf's stuff animal collection that she bought - and to top things off they also added a few new staple Thailand elephants into the mix aswell much to our hilarity everynight coming back to the hotel room. Eventhough we really enjoyed our stay, there were still a few glitches that slightly dampened our experience. First was upon checkin I found out that I was double-booked from a travel agents website and that the hotel was fully booked. After much deliberation, Ms. Dussadee the Reception Manager was able to clear things up with the Travel Agent and helped us check-in which we were grateful for as we had pre-paid the full amount with the Travel Agent. Another minor complaint was we stayed during their renovation period on the club floor so there was some slight noise and as club members could not access their club lounge but had to switch to the lobby lounge. All in all though we really enjoyed our stay here and will def come back. If you're tired of staying at the top tiered brand name hotels in downtown Bangkok and want to really relax in the quieter corner of Bangkok, it really can't get any better/more convenient than this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved this hotel!
Clean, comfy, helpful staff - all you'd need
Pool nice and relaxing
Breakfast buffet yummy - if you buy the happy hour breakfast package happy hour in the bar is also a fun way to start the night off with free flowing drinks ;)
Location- near metro and subway - cabs so cheap anyway you can get anywhere easily
Lumpini Park itself is great too - its really nice to have a relaxing getaway from the bustle of the city walking distance from the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are no strangers to Crowne Plaza hotels worldwide or others in the IHG group and we have stayed at this hotel many times in the last 5 years. Our stay last year was made better by the fact that even though the hotel had changed ownership from Pan Paciifc it had still retained its charm, Thai traditions and service standards. To our utter disappointment this appears to no longer be the case. We returned to stay at this hotel this year for 4 nights following a 2 week stay in Pattaya for Christmas & New Year. Our check in experience was disappointing, our dates were misquoted and our debit card was refused as pre authorisation, cash or credit card only!. As Platinum priority club members we usually expect our room to be available on check in but this was not the case though this decision was changed some time during the check in. Our room when we arrived smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and had not been serviced properly, coat hangers left lying around, a broken bathroom tap. We made use of the pool and spa areas during our stay and as always the spa treatments and service were of the highest standard though the pool side service was disappointing, In the past we have enjoyed tranquil settings with luxurious teak day beds and soft mattresses to lounge around on, these were disappearing before our eyes as workman carried them away to replace with cheap lightweight aluminium loungers, tables and chairs, comfort and leisure is now a thing of the past, practicality and low cost are now a benefit enjoyed by the hotel. We did not use the restaurant as we feel it is expensive though the service and drinks in the Finishing Post bar is a must during any stay the ambiance and setting transport you to a tradtional Thai world which is a million miles from the corporate, loud music, indistinct environment of the public areas. We did have the opportunity to chat to the Manager and voice our disappointment but like all corporate establishments decisions are often made elsewhere at meetings detached from the immediate surroundings so we do not expect anything to change for the better which is why on our next visit to Bangkok we will be looking to take our patronage elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear hollwalk,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Good rooms! and I really like the hotel's ambience and the electronic c.r. was very convenient...
Comfy bed! too! All you need in the room was there....and even the scenic view outside the window! Love to stay here for long....but the price is a little bit high...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park

Address: 952 Rama IV Road | Suriyawongse, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#64 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy personalised service at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district.Take the elevator up to the 23rd-floor Lobby at the Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park hotel, where gleaming black-and-white tiles lead the way to our helpful Front Desk with dedicated Japanese-speaking Guest Relations. Staff will check you straight into your room or Suite, where panoramic views of Bangkok's twinkling city skyline await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park Hotel Bangkok
Pan Pacific Bangkok
Bangkok Pan Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.