We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disenchanted on return visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   952 Rama IV Road | Suriyawongse, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 654 Reviews
york
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Disenchanted on return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are no strangers to Crowne Plaza hotels worldwide or others in the IHG group and we have stayed at this hotel many times in the last 5 years. Our stay last year was made better by the fact that even though the hotel had changed ownership from Pan Paciifc it had still retained its charm, Thai traditions and service standards. To our utter disappointment this appears to no longer be the case. We returned to stay at this hotel this year for 4 nights following a 2 week stay in Pattaya for Christmas & New Year. Our check in experience was disappointing, our dates were misquoted and our debit card was refused as pre authorisation, cash or credit card only!. As Platinum priority club members we usually expect our room to be available on check in but this was not the case though this decision was changed some time during the check in. Our room when we arrived smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and had not been serviced properly, coat hangers left lying around, a broken bathroom tap. We made use of the pool and spa areas during our stay and as always the spa treatments and service were of the highest standard though the pool side service was disappointing, In the past we have enjoyed tranquil settings with luxurious teak day beds and soft mattresses to lounge around on, these were disappearing before our eyes as workman carried them away to replace with cheap lightweight aluminium loungers, tables and chairs, comfort and leisure is now a thing of the past, practicality and low cost are now a benefit enjoyed by the hotel. We did not use the restaurant as we feel it is expensive though the service and drinks in the Finishing Post bar is a must during any stay the ambiance and setting transport you to a tradtional Thai world which is a million miles from the corporate, loud music, indistinct environment of the public areas. We did have the opportunity to chat to the Manager and voice our disappointment but like all corporate establishments decisions are often made elsewhere at meetings detached from the immediate surroundings so we do not expect anything to change for the better which is why on our next visit to Bangkok we will be looking to take our patronage elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear hollwalk,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    187
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
61
178
108
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Good rooms! and I really like the hotel's ambience and the electronic c.r. was very convenient...
Comfy bed! too! All you need in the room was there....and even the scenic view outside the window! Love to stay here for long....but the price is a little bit high...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Got in late and hotel was easy enough to find and is within walking distance of the Sala Daeng station.

The lobby is on the 23 floor which is fun. The staff were super efficient and I was in my room within minutes.

The rooms are amazing with a sitting area, and there is a nice sense of spaciousness.

The bathroom is the winner here with an amazing shower and amenities to match.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I loved crown plaza bangkok the rooms are big... It has dressing corner... 2 shower one tub one normal... Big toilette... Great breakfast the stuff is amazing very helpful and nice... The bar is amazing for meetings or dates the stuff talks very good english... I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We staied at the 24th floor and the view was amazing, especially in the night, with all the lights on. The room was big enough and modern (it was room for an extra bed) and the bathroom was a little Sci-Fi, with buttons on the toilet. The restaurant for the breakfast was very cosy and beautiful. You have to try, if you go to Bangkok, the food on the street; it is amazing! It's the best thai food that I ever eaten! Bangkok it is a great city, with lots of places to visit, lots of temples, beautiful people. We were helped by a woman, in our first day, it was unbelievable. She went with us, stoped a tuk-tuk and give us a ride to a great fish and seefood restaurant, where we tasted the greates seaafood ever! She didn't spoke English, but with people like her it doesn't matter! Good people speake the same language! We thank her and all the people from Thailand for their spirit and smiles!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is obviously well managed. While it is a few years old, everything is very well maintained and extremely clean. The rooms are nice and spacious; the common areas are welcoming and comfortable; the location is good and all the food I tried was excellent.

Room Tip: You may want to ask to be on the same floor as the gym and pool. Just for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were blown away with this superb hotel, everything about it is excellent, the food is out of this world, the club lounge manager is so good at his job he will go far in the hotel industry as will Paula Elliss, she is such an ambassador for the hotel, (hope your Mum's better).The hotel itself is well situated in Bangkok for all types of sight seeing the railway station is just a couple of minutes away, the night markets are just around the corner.

Thank you one and all for making our stay in Bangkok so memorable, Harry & Hazel

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lumpini Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park

Address: 952 Rama IV Road | Suriyawongse, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy personalised service at Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district.Take the elevator up to the 23rd-floor Lobby at the Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park hotel, where gleaming black-and-white tiles lead the way to our helpful Front Desk with dedicated Japanese-speaking Guest Relations. Staff will check you straight into your room or Suite, where panoramic views of Bangkok's twinkling city skyline await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park Hotel Bangkok
Pan Pacific Bangkok
Bangkok Pan Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.