We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #62 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here only for one night as we where going to koh samed the next day. The hotel has a good location about 7 minutes with taxi to MBK Mall and directly by the river. The hotel has a good standard everybody is nice and welcoming. The rooms are very clean and up to date. I had roomservice at night and the hamburger I ordered was very good!
The breakfast was very good alot to choose from.
Overall the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    935
    195
    57
    24
See reviews for
500
1,211
176
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had read in a travel guide that a key to enjoying Bangkok is to stay in a hotel on the River Chao Phraya. We took this advice and booked here. We weren't disappointed. We woke in our Tower room to a fabulous view of the Chao Phraya River. After breakfast in Etc on the River, a beautiful outdoor location with up close views of river ferry boats, we quickly jumped on the Chao Phraya Express to head up the river to the star attractions. It was easy to get to these places and easy to get home. That says a lot in a congested city like Bangkok. The staff were very helpful. Our Tower Room was very nice, although not huge. The staff at the Tower Lounge were very helpful. There are two pools, and for those with kids I would suggest the larger kidney shaped pool. For singles and couples the pool in the front is better. In fact, I loved this pool and its great view of the river. If you are considering paying a bit extra to upgrade to the Tower room with the included breakfast, snacks and drinks ... it's well worth it. Do the math and you will see. My only criticism and I hope the management see this -- they need to change the furniture in the Tower Lounge. It's very worn out and doesn't fit in with the high standards of the rest of this hotel. Also, skip the River City shopping centre next door. It's over priced --head to the markets!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Traveller1561,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am glad you enjoyed most aspects of our hotel and enjoyed the lovely view of the River Chao Phraya. Your kind words have been passed to the concerned teams and I look forward to seeing you back at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for our first two nights in Thailand before heading off to Hua Hin for Christmas and New Year and returned on 1st Jan before our early flight home. The hotel is lovely with very attentive staff and fantastic restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisines. The food was suberb in the Thai, Sambal, Etc restaurants but unfortunately wasn't there long enough to sample the italian. The bar area was very relaxing with friendly staff but the highlight was the stunning view of the river. The courtesy ferry to the skytrain was lovely and located next door was the stop for the regular river taxi which can take you direct to the Grand Palace. The two pools were beautiful and had we the time we would have spend some time in them. A great place for both business & pleasure and just far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Compared to all the other hotels/places I stayed in Thailand this hotel was great. The room was clean and well kept. We were on the 22nd floor with amazing views. We went out in the evening to the bars on the strip and I felt it was easy to get around the city from this hotel. I'd definitely say there again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear OL88,

Thank you very much for your rave review! We really appreciate your nice comments about the location and our room. We look forward to seeing you back at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for the Loy Krathong festival. That is the good and the bad. It was very difficult to arrive at the hotel. Once we finally made it to the we had to wait a long time for the boat to come, although I repeatedly called the hotel. Our view from the room however was amazing!!!
The hotel common areas and rooms are somewhat dated and not very well maintained. My bed linnens actually smelled moldy. Perhaps that is the disadvantage of staying right on the river. The breakfast has a large variety of foods, but presentation could be better. It is a large hotel and breakfast feels like a busy train station. The omlette station is overly busy and I gave up waiting. The service is not very attentive. The gym and pools seem fine, although I did not use. The concierge seems to be very knowledabgle, although I had little interaction.

Room Tip: Choose a River view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear viator123,
Thank you for staying with us, and your review. We are disappointed that we were unable to impress you with our service or product. Thank you for highlighting that the views from the rooms are amazing, and that the concierge team was knowledgeable. Your feedback has been passed onto our team for review so that we can further improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our honeymoon trip around Thailand in November 2012 and really enjoyed our stay finding it the perfect base for exploring a beautiful city.

Team/service - We arrived and the team on reception greeted us and checked us in rapidly which was good as jetlag was setting in after a long flight. Throughout our stay the service was good and there was always a team member on hand if we needed anything.

Food & drink - The food was great with an unbelievable choice offered every morning for breakfast in the Etc restaurant from the traditional continental items to some local delicacies both hot and cold. We also dined in the same restaurant one evening after visiting the night market and enjoyed delicious thai food sitting by the river with a fantastic view. We also enjoyed a couple of evenings in the Lobby lounge bar enjoying a cocktail and thai beer while listening to the live music that was on - nice relaxing place to watch the world go by and relax after a long day sightseeing.

Rooms - we stayed in a Deluxe River view room on the 21st floor with a stunning view out over the Chao Phraya river. The bed were comfortable and the room was a good size with all the modern amenities you need.

Transport/accessibility - we had airport transfers as part of our package but loved the free shuttle boat from the hotel to the main pier and Skytrain station (Saphan Taksin) and used it every day of our stay. We also used the river boat for our day trips especially to reach the Grand Palace (a must during your stay in Bangkok!)

We didn't have time to use the swimming pool, spa or fitness centre (saving that for later on our trip) but all looked well equipped. We did use the Business centre just above reception to check emails and keep in touch with people at home and always found the evenings were a good time to pop onto the computers.

Overall a good place for relaxing after a long flight and a base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear CrazyClaireHerts,

Thank you for your 5 star rating and the extensive and detailed review, which we are sure other travelers will also benefits from. We are very happy to know you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

Regards,
Panita B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Sheraton Orchid Towers is an ordinary 5 star hotel. The setting is great, right on the river and the short ride in the Sheraton ferry down to the Skytrain is a real treat.The pools are also a pleasure to swim in. The hotel itself however is very ordinary. The rooms seem dated and whilst the concierge staff were helpful I found the reception staff quite difficult. Breakfasts were a nightmare. They were actually quite stressful, other guests were pushing my children to get to the egg counter! The quality of the food was also not what I would expect from a Sheraton. I wouldn't stay here again even though I liked the setting and appeciated being able to step away from the bustle of Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panita B, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear KateM29,

Thank you for your time and I am glad you are pleased with our services and facilities. Your comments are vital for us to improve further. I will address the points on reception with our Front Office Manager to ensure exceptional service is being delivered. I sincerely apologize for the shortfall you experienced during your stay with us, Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we look forward to seeing you back at Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers.

Regards,
Panita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#49 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.