We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #62 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed one night at the Shreraton in early May. When we contracted the tour, that included one night in Bangkok, the lady form the travel agent recommended this hotel. I tried to "upgrade" and asked her for something a bit more fancy and she replied that of course she could book me wherever I wanted, but that I would be saving $200 with respect to the Peninsula and the likes, and the hotel was very similar. Without having seen the others, I can 100% recommend this hotel. Nice pool by the river and all rooms with river view. Very good breakfast and spacious rooms quipped with everything you would expect from a 5* hotel (albeit I think it has 4*). Staff very polite and helpful. Moreover, the hotel is very well located and next to the city centre and historical areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    933
    195
    57
    24
See reviews for
500
1,210
176
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jane5432
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was a lovely hoteI located right on the river which was a welcome change from where I normally stay.I had a room facing down the river so the view was gorgeous especially at night.
I booked an hour's long boat cruise up the river one morning which was most interesting, getting on and off the boat was another matter. There is no suitable walkway/jetty to comfortably and safely step onto the boat and back onto the jetty once the trip had ended. I actually stumbled whilst getting off as it was quite a big step getting off the boat, a fact which I brought to the staff member's attention.This experience would not be suitable for the elderly or for those of us with new hips!
Overall the room and this hotel were lovely.
I usually stay at the Pathumwan Princess Hotel next to MBK shopping centre. I will probably stay there again next time as I find I spend quite a bit of time at MBK-shopping!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

we stayed here at the end of our trip to thailand having being spoilt in 2 other luxury hotels in other parts of thailand which may explain why i wasn't wowed by this hotel. We stayed in a premier river view deluxe room, which is the same as there normal deluxe but on a higher floor. Having said that, there was nothing wrong with the accommodation,its a typical sheraton room you'd find in the uk or us.

It was fine for a stop over before a flight although i wouldn't recommend it for the start of a special occasion trip, however maybe the suits would be ok.

Its located on the river and the hotel provides a free shuttle to the sky train which is a few stops a way. You can also get the local ferry from a near by pier to some of the main attractions like the emerald palace and reclining Buddha temple. So it is well located.

The staff are fairly friendly and even gave us a floral gift and cake for our special occasion.

Room Tip: if booking for a special occasion maybe go for a suit and book any late check out in advance as can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We checked into the Royal Orchid Sheraton as the last little stop over before departing Thailand. At first I was a little dismayed - we were put into a twin room on our honeymoon! At check in we were assured that the two beds were both queen sized, so we assumed it would all be ok. Upon arrival to our room it was apparent that they were double beds (tiny for two of us to share comfortably!). It was a late night check in so we chose to stay put for the night, and the next day the staff could not be more helpful in correcting the mistake and transferring us to a king room (as well as providing complimentary fruit and flowers which we did not at all expect).

The location is very peaceful and is definitely removed from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The only problem was the whistles that the ferries used to dock at the jetties - it started quite early in the morning and was enough to wake me up at times.

The rooms are appointed much as one would expect of a hotel of this calibre. The lounging chair next to the windows were a nice touch and were a very relaxing place to sit while waiting the rain out.

The complimentary ferry service to the skytrain station was fantastic, a highlight of our stay. We wished that the Sheraton would offer a night cruise using the same boat as the 10 minute ferry ride was so enjoyable and always seemed to be over far too quickly.

The lobby bar was outstanding, we enjoyed a delicious cocktail most nights before setting out. The pool area was also nice, although we could not find anyone to order any snacks/drinks from while we were there.

All in all a very solid performance.

Room Tip: The rooms in the northern wing have amazing views up the river, well worth trying to secure one if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

For the past 7 years we have stayed in the tower suites of this wonderful peaceful hotel. We are always welcome with great joy, and have come to know some of the staff very well. the rooms are always well presented, ready on time, especially if arriving from Europe at 6.00 am. Food and hospitality are 5 star. I am looking forward to returning soon. Please stay and enjoy their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Always book a Tower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Had two separate stays at the Royal Orchid during May. They were both really enjoyable. Particularly the second stay when we upgraded to the tower room. Not only was the view from our 28th floor room fabulous but the extras that came with it were delightful. Tea time with lovely snacks, cocktail hour with more snacks and a full bar, plus great views. The service was excellent. We enjoyed a good Thai dinner with entertainment in one of their restaurants and eating by the river in another of their restaurants. Although the Sheraton is somewhat cut off from other restaurants except the few next door at River City, it was fine by us since the heat was such that we did not feel like walking. Taxis are inexpensive and there are boats that can take you to other parts of the river. There is also a tour desk in the Sheraton that can help arrange any tours you want to take. You can get a better price on a tower room by pre-paying for your stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river and seem to be fairly quiet. The higher up you go the bigger the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Returning from a few weeks in Europe we decided to stopover in Bangkok. The Royal Orchid was suggested and we are glad it was. It is a lovely oasis in the mad world of Bangkok. While the initial location at the end of an alley seems odd it does provide a quiet environment away from the hustle of the Bangkok traffic and crowded streets.

The hotel is lovely. Our room was great with a nice view along the river. Access to the river meant that we didn't have to fight the traffic to get to some of the sites such as the Grand Palace with the river ferries cheap and fast. Service was friendly and efficient across the board.

The two of the four restaurants we ate in were good - fast, good variety and lovely food. We especially liked the Thai restaurant with traditional dancers.

Overall I would highly recommend the Royal Orchid.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to the deluxe river view rooms - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers

Address: 2 Charoen Krung Road Soi 30 | Siphya, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#44 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#51 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#51 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Chao Phraya River with exquisite views, we offer a pleasant combination of warm Thai hospitality and world-class service in a modern setting just minutes from Bangkok's business districts, entertainment, and attractions.Enjoy the refined style and modern comforts of a relaxing riverside hotel. Take time out at our two pools or book a spa treatment, discover exciting cuisine in our six restaurants and bars, or experience memorable events in 22 unrivaled function rooms.All 726 of our spacious guest rooms and suites boast spectacular panoramic river views. Revel in the warm, calming, and contemporary ambiance of these well-appointed accommodations, featuring subtle Thai style and the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel And Towers
Sheraton Royal Orchid
Sheraton Bangkok
Royal Orchid Sheraton Bangkok
Bangkok Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.