We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astera Sathorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Astera Sathorn to your Saves list
Astera Sathorn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   143 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 570 Reviews
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Astera hotel is located 1 block away from the canal boat and the Sathorn Train Station so it makes an excellent base for exploring Bangkok.

The rooms are basic but are clean, modern and have A/C, TV, fridge, safe, kettle and complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee and snacks. The staff are friendly and very accomodating toward guest needs. Beds are a bit hard, but tolerable.

We paid $5.00 extra for the breakfast (booked through Agoda) and thought it was an good deal. Choice of eggs done any way, fresh fruit, cereal, hot foods such as french toast, pancake, bacon/sausage, etc. and breads. Nice assortment to suite any taste.

Room Tip: The Hotel does not have signage if walking from the train station, therefore you could walk past it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    339
    128
    27
    8
See reviews for
37
66
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As most the reviews say the hotel is a little tired but it is clean, the pool is nice and the staff are so helpful. Great customer service makes all the difference in this hotel and they will go out of their way to help. They played with our 8 month old daughter endlessly and when another hotel reservation let us down one member of staff let me use her mobile for free to call other hotels. Great value for money and the location is great for the metro and skytrain and the ferries to a lot of the top tourist spots. If you are looking for something comfortable without spending too much this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at the Astera in January 2013, and enjoyed my stay. Although the hotel is aging, my room was clean and of a good size. The staff were excellent. Since I am an older woman travelling alone and had never been to Bangkok, I decided to request an airport pickup and am glad that I did. I felt that I was in good and safe hands to get from the airport to the hotel, and was pleased not to have to worry about finding the hotel by myself very late at night. The location is excellent - just about two blocks from the river and the skytrain station. I didn't eat at the hotel because I wanted to experience real Bangkok food as opposed to hotel food, but the restaurant appeared pleasant and clean. I also didn't use the hotel facilities such as swimming pool and work-out room, so cannot comment on them. The only downside to my stay was that there was not a steady supply of hot water, and on two of the three days my shower was cool as opposed to hot. Given the heat and humidity in Bangkok, I really didn't mind taking a cool shower, but if you want to be guaranteed of hot water I suggest not staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I stay here many times and it never disappoints. The location is great and the staff are always really friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is perfect for Bangkok Skytrain and Riverboat services. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and when I return to Bangkok next year I will stay here once again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights & then paid for the 4th night whilst there.

I think this is a REALLY good hotel for someone first arriving in bangkok, like myself.

I paid for an airport pickup, which admittedly was a hefty 1000 baht. But it was worth it for a nice vehicle, polite driver who was patient in waiting for me for an hour at the airport!

The service provided to me at the hotel was very good and despite them having a "tour guide counter" they didn't once try to push a tour on me - in my opinion this is a good sign of good accommodation in bangkok.

The rooms themselves were of very good quality & were very clean & bright. However, there were a fair few very small ants on the floor. I didn't get any bites & they seemed to stay on the floor. A gecko also shared the room. Given the rest of the place, I didn't let this bother me.

It is also a 5 min walk from the BTS station, which is very handy & surprisingly easy to use & 7 mins from the central ferry point. This is great because it means you can go to the old city on the ferry as well as the new city on the BTS. (The ferry drops you off right outside the grand palace)

The staff always greeted me with a smile.

Highly recommend. However, not much night life there if that is what you are looking for.

(Ps, the road nearby is a bit mental, I always stood and waited until a local chose to cross & I'd suggest you do too if it your first visit or you will get run over)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khanom, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is far from being new, you can spot the age on the walls, floors, elevators. Nothing one can't leave with for a few days. The rooms, though, have been renovated and they look nice and
The room has a safety box, large cabinets, plasma tv, hair dryer, water boiler. The mini bar is filled every day with snacks, instant coffee, water, Sprite and Chang beer.
The breakfast is basic but decent. Not a lot of choices for those looking for a Western type of breakfast but coffee is good and omlet as well.
There's a pool on the second floor, also a steam room. Haven't tried them, though. The pool looked clean but quite small.
The most important thing about the hotel, though, is the location. It takes two minutes to the Sapan Taksin BTS station and four minutes to the pier. Using these you can practically go anywhere in the city and you can forget about taxi meters or tuk tuk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed here also couple of times.
My wife likes it better than Win Long Place.

The Rooms are Comfortable .
There is a wide choice of Breakfast.
there is also a very helpful desk where you can book trips.#
I CAN RECOMMEND THE BOAT TRIP AT NIGHT.
You are taken to the boat and brought home again./

itb is not far from Main shopping centre and train Station
There is a Porter in reception a lovely man always has a smiley face

Room Tip: Give it a go . Dont think you will be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astera Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astera Sathorn

Address: 143 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astera Sathorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astera Sathorn is less than 5 minutes walk from BTS Skytrain Saphan Taksin Station. We provide all necessary, amenities and facilities. We also provide our guest an outdoor swimming pool, separate sauna and steam room, fitness center, free wireless internet, satellite TV, laundry service , limousine service and tour arrangement to ensure your total comfort, pleasure and relaxation during your stay. Private parking is free onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astera Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astera Sathorn Bangkok
Astera Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astera Sathorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.