We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night, Free Upgrade
Ranked #15 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would definitely stay here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Nice and quiet location. Modern. Short walk from subway, night bazaar, and restaurants. Staff is fast ,helpful, and very polite. The rooms were very comfortable and inviting. I didn't have to worry about walking out of the hotel and my child being exposed to anything I didn't want him exposed to. Gym offers free aerobic classes. I can't think of any complaints about this hotel and it will definitely be my first consideration the next time I go to Bangkok. Thank you Metropolitan for an awesome experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    268
    59
    15
    7
See reviews for
95
547
136
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Arriving at the Metropolitan we didn't know what to expect of this fairly new hotel but as part of the Como group we hoped for good things. We weren't disapointed. Being struck by the modern minimalist look and feel on check in we were offered an upgrade to room 414 which has an outdoor shower on the fourth floor. I highly recommend this room. The hotel has everything you would expect from a city hotel except for free wifi which is only available in the lobby.

Although we didn't sample dinner at the hotel but the breakfast on offer was the best quality breakfast we've had at any city hotel. The variety was excellent as was the quality.

Overall if you are staying in Bangkok then this is the place to stay and as it's next to the Banyan tree you can also sample their rooftop bar very easily.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I stayed overnight on a business trip and the hotel was a perfect fit. It is in sat horn which was for me a little far from the center, but the hotel was excellent. The service was smooth, room clean, large and silent. It is located in what seems to be an old building which is rather low compared to the banyan tree just next to it, but the feeling is much more friendly, than the banyan tree. The welcome tea and fruits were relaxing after a long flight and the good shower and soft bad made the transition into Thailand easy. The only comment i have is the Internet access. It was kind of odd that from each location (lobby/bar/room) a separate login was required though the prices were not high.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Bangkok, including the Pen a few times and I have to say that the Metropolitan is my favorite.

The chill vibe, modern design, and very reasonable (almost cheap) rates make this place a easy decision to go back to.

There are also nice touches such as the afternoon tea and amazing healthy breakfast.

Some modern designed boutique hotels are full of soft lighting and smooth lines but lack heart - this is not a problem for the Met. The staff has always gone out of their way to help me. I'm shocked this place is ranked in the 60's for Bangkok hotels! - Not true!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just returned from my fourth stay at the Met. Yes there are newer and more elaborate places to stay in BKK but i bet you none have the coolness of the Met, i should know i've stayed at them all. No crowds, no kids just pure minimalism. Thank you Met BKK for being you. Can i move in...forever!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curlyrainbow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Just finished a stay in the metropolitan hotel.
PROS: Everything about the hotel was 100% relaxing. The rooms were amazing, the toiletries were outstanding, the staff were so friendly and always willing to help, and get you a taxi (with a meter), the breakfast was also so great with lots of choice. We used the gym twice in our stay and that was a very well equipped gym, especially for the hotel. The pool is big enough to do laps which is great as well.
CONS: Location isnt fantastic - its right near the night markets but a bit far from shopping (ie siam paragon, etc) but its just a 100bhat cab ride away so not really an issue. We had dinner at Nahm in the hotel. It was a total let down. We actually chose this hotel as we had heard how great Nahm was - what a let down. We did the set menu and it was terrible. Went to dinner the next night at sirroco at state tower and wished we had spent our money there instead.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

It was a nice hotel, but nothing special. The lobby is immaculate, but the rooms are definitely showing wear & tear. So are the hallways. When we got off at our floor the carpets were terribly stained and there was an awful odor. Our room was spacious, but the furniture was chipped and really dated. The bathroom was probably beautiful when it first opened... the layout of it is quite modern w/ the open shower and separate bath... but the tiles around the shower had mold and the drain dripped so loudly it kept us from falling asleep. Also, there is no plug in the bathroom so the hairdryer is permanently attached to the minibar. It was one of the cheapest hairdryers I've ever seen. I had to hold the button the entire time and my hair took 30 minutes to dry when normally it takes 5. I'd only recommend this hotel if it were an exceptional deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, T4B, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.