We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, stylish rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, stylish rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I first stayed at the Metropolitan in 2005, when it was a hip new hotel, and it has aged well. I returned here with my wife for our honeymoon, and the staff greeted us with a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates. The rooms retain their stylish design, and are a great value. Bathrooms large and clean. Room service food some of the best in Bangkok. The breakfasts are excellent and the spa has an extensive gym, steam room and sauna available free to guests. We stayed for four days, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. On our last night we had dinner at Nahm, the hotel's restaurant -- delicious, but painfully spicy food care of Australian chef David Thompson. The one downside is location: it's a bit of a hike to the subway at Lumphini, but plenty of taxis pass by on Sathorn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Sethdirect, so happy you chose to visit again in this very special occasion, it really means a lot to us that you had enjoyed your stay and have good memories of your honeymoon.
We would love to welcome you back, please anything you may need from Bangkok, let us know, happy to be of assistance.
On behalf of all your friends at Metropolitan lots of happiness and warm regards. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    256
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
88
522
128
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were staying 5 days at the Metropolitan by Como over New Years 2013/14. The place is very light and modern and the rooms are spacious. Service is generally good and best of all, breakfast is served until 3PM in the afternoon! We were quite impressed with the breakfast. Good buffet, but combined with a really interesting a la carte menu. Service was good and everyone was very helpful. They did try to assign us smoking rooms when we arrived, but I never figured out whether it was the hotel or the online website through which we booked. Only negative point is that there are not that many sun chairs by the pool and that most of the pool area is in the shade for most of the day. Hence, the water is quite cold. It is good value for money and the location is super so all in all I can only recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I would specify if I would like a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear 5foot, it was great to have the chance to welcome this 2014 together, happy to see you had a good time and wishing you a very happy year ahead.
Thanks a lot for your visit and the kind and detailed review, on behalf of all our team a big thank you.
You are right, this time of the year our pool's water is a bit colder than usual as the sun changes position and there is less sun hours, still it makes for a wonderful and refreshing work out, though yes it takes a few laps to warm up.
Looking forward to have you back, please anything you may need, let us know. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Since the check in, our 3 days/2 nights stay at The Metropolitan was an absolute pleasure!
Special thanks goes to the General Manager, Jorge Monge, who made sure that we had a lovely stay at his premises.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Nash_Butan, it has been a real pleasure to have you with us, happy you had a good stay and thanks a lot for the very generous review.
Please anything you may need from Bangkok, let us know, we would be very happy to welcome you back very soon. Have a happy day. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had 3 nights here. The experience was very good and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We had booked the most basic room but got an upgrade to a slightly bigger room which was nice. It was a very big room with very simple but stylish decoration. There was a welcome plate of fruit which was replenished daily. It's just off the main road so nice and quiet. We only had a view of concrete and part of a carpark which wasn't a big problem as we spent most of our time there wandering around Bangkok. I loved the toiletries.
There is a nice big pool at the front of the hotel. You have to walk through the breakfast restaurant and health spa to get to it which feels a bit odd especially if you just have the hotel bathrobe on over your swimsuit.
We enjoyed the area after you got off the main road as it is fairly residential. Go out of the hotel and up to the main road, turn left and then left again at the next soi. A block or so down on the right there is a lovely small local food market. If you go across the road towards Silom there are lots of nice little restaurants and cafes in the side street. The nearest sky rail station is about a 10minute walk.

Room Tip: Try and get one that looks out to the front of the hotel and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Tess13, it is really nice to read you have moved around and explore the street around the hotel, the one you mentioned to the left is Suan Plu and it is a very interesting and very local street, full of colors and interesting findings and just across the street through Sala Daeng you have all the bustle of Silom and Pat Pong area, so indeed a very nice location to explore on foot and with the convenience of the sky train, subway or taxi.
Thanks a lot for your visit and for this very detailed and kind review, really appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back soon, please let me know should you need anything from Bangkok. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Metropolitan, I loved the feel of the hotel from the moment that we arrived. The staff were very helpful and always friendly - the food was great also, we ordered from room service a couple of times and everything we had was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Deawr DragOn12, regads from us all at Metropolitan, we have really enjoyed having you with us and are very grateful for your visit and your kind review.
The team will be very happy to read and very encouraging for us all.
Food is something we take very seriously and really care about at all our COMO Hotels, we are very privileged at the Metropolitan with a wonderful team that made our food really special from our room service to our very good Glow breakfast to our renowned thai restaurant Nahm, considered one of the best in the world. So it does mean a lot to us that you've enjoyed your meals with us.
Looking forward to have you back, have a wonderful weekend ahead. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Metropolitan is a stylish hotel that ticks almost all the boxes - it's got a great location within walking distance to great shopping, eating, drinking and light rail stop. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. Breakfast options were superb and they even have an award-winning restaurant! There were just a couple of things that made us feel the Metropolitan could yet improve. Firstly, although the concierge introduced himself as we checked in and made a great show of being available for our every need, and although staff were all very friendly and helpful, we realised after we arrived at our room and had our bags delivered that we weren't introduced to the hotel's facilities and highlights and had to prompt reception staff for this information. There were also odd things that jarred with the 'luxury' aspect, like a synthetic rug in our room that was horrid to the touch. Overall, however, we enjoyed our stay enormously and would happily stay at The Metropolitan again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear lamKP, greetings from all of us at Metropolitan Bangkok, hopefully you had a great start to this year.
I would like to thank you for your visit and for your very nice and positive comments and the great valuable, feed back.
We are very happy you had a nice stay, though as you mentioned there is definitely room for improvement. I'm most grateful you have mentioned this service glitches and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused, we are sharing and discussing with the staff. We put a lot of emphasis and training in just the opposite, as you have experienced our team is really nice, friendly and service oriented and we are very sorry that in this occasion they didn't offer a better more complete assistance from your arrival. Once again sorry and thanks a lot for the feedback.
Please anything you may need from Bangkok, let me know, happy to be of assistance and very happy to welcome you back very soon. Warm regards and happy day, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Need I say more. Ok, great staff, great accommodations, great location and great restaurants on site. This is a beautiful place, centrally located and has the number three rated restaurant in Asia right on stie, called Nohm. Best Thai food ever but book in advance because its tough to get in otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Salvador22, you are incredibly kind and generous, but as important is the many great guests/friends we welcome at Metropolitan.
We are extremely privileged to have the support and friendship of many regular guests and many new great ones that definitely make the Metropolitan a great place to stay and for us a great place to work and be of service to all of you.
On behalf of all our team I would like to thank you for your visit and very nice comments, really motivates us to try to do better everyday.
Really happy you enjoyed Nahm, our Thai restaurant, a very unique and traditional Thai cuisine. As you've mentioned early bookings are really advisable, especially for dinner time, lunch is usually easier to walk in.
Please anything you may need from Bangkok, let us know, happy to be of assistance and looking forward to have you back soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 171-room hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.