We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Style in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Service and Style in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days of our honeymoon here. Right from the start the service and attention to detail was first class. The staff are very friendly and polite.

The room was large, modern and stylish with a stunning en suite bathroom.

They surprised us with free champaign and a lovely birthday cake for my wife

There is a lovely pool which we spen and afternoon lounging by

The only disappointment was that the very nice bedroom slippers where not complimentary... a pitty

All in all, great hotel even if on the expensive side

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear acekicker77, greetings from Metropolitan Bangkok, thanks a lot for your very kind review, we are extremely grateful you have chosen to stay with us in this very special trip and happy to know you have enjoyed your stay.
It has been a pleasure having you with us and I'm sorry there has been some kind of miscommunication, of course the slippers in the room are complimentary and we would have been delighted for you to take them.
Please should you need anything from Bangkok or might be planning another visit in the near future, let us know, we will be happy to welcome you back. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    718
    250
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
79
495
124
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Depsite many new hotels, I chose to have my 2nd stay at Met Bangkok for my 3 nights trip recently, I'm very pleased with my stay, the hotel is modern, hip, yet quiet. (very important!) Room size is very spacous, the Met room is more like a suite than just a room. I wouldn't say it's the best hotel when travelling with children, but when in the room I'd say it's safe to have toddler around as it's spacious and not having too many glass structure. The bed is HUGE! Who could resist the Como Shambhala amenities? Breakfast was extraordinary, semi-buffet with an a la carte main course, there's a choice for me, hubby & even baby. On Sunday they extended the bf time 'til 1pm which is so thoughtful! We went swimming and no more than 6 persons were there so we simply had the swimming pool all by ourselves. In terms of location it's not the centre of centre but only 10-15 min. walk to Lumpini MRT, or they have shuttle service every hour to Saladeng Skytrain which is only 2 stations away from Siam area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear MamaBaaRocks, warm regards from your home in Bangkok. we have loved having the three of you back!
Thanks a lot for this new visit and for your very kind review, very nice of you and it makes very happy that each one of you have enjoyed the stay.
As you mentioned all our areas are perfectly suited to families and babies, especially due to the size of our Metropolitan room, the very nice and healthy food from Glow, a beautiful pool and the peacefulness of our location and yet 10 minutes walking distance to both the sky train and the MRT.
We would be happy to have you back very soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved this hotel. Highly personalised service, friendliest staff we've ever encountered, excellent facilities. It's in the details: bottled or iced water available throughout the hotel. A tv with headphones for each treadmill/bike station in the gym; early access to the gym and pool, which is perfect for lap swimming. A quality breakfast. Outstanding rooms, replenished by housekeeping twice a day. The scent throughout the hotel and the music played throughout the public areas created an inviting atmosphere-this place 'glows', Added to this, we received personalised notes from the GM, as well as a surprise birthday cake delivered to my room for my birthday! We travel frequently, and this experience has set a new standard for hotels. Stay at this hotel. You will be surprised. A & A Hueppauff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Anna H, nothing more important to us that making our guests/friends feel at home while at the Metropolitan.
We are very grateful for your visit and it means a lot to us that you have taken the time to share this very kind review. We will share your comments with all our team and hopefully it will encourage all of us to do better everyday.
It has been a real pleasure to have you with us, glad you have chosen to celebrate your birthday with us and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back, please if we can be of any assistance from Bangkok, let me know. Meanwhile receive our warmest regards and a big thank you. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were in Bangkok for 2 nights and loved our stay at this hotel. On arrival we were all served a nice herbal tea which was much appreciated after our long journey from Scotland, when shown to our rooms there was also fresh fruit and water waiting for us. Decor of the room and hotel is very modern, the rooms are large and spacious and the bathrooms are great. Nice big shower and bath.

We were a group of 9 so used the hotels mini bus regularly which was a cheaper option for us than taxis. On one of our nights (a Friday night) we spent a bit of time in the hotel bar and there was a great band on, so that was really nice for some music before going out for dinner.

We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and there was a brilliant selection on the menu. From traditional scrambled egg and bacon to Thai breakfast options which were delicious. Also a selection of fruit, pastries and juices to help yourself to.

We dined in the hotels famous nahm restaurant for dinner on the Saturday and we highly recommend. But if you are looking to eat here, book well ahead and also it is quite pricey!

Located in the financial district, so quite a quiet area but is 5 mins walk from sala daeng sky train and also lumphini metro is 5/10 mins away as well. 60 baht taxi ride from MBK center.

Receptionists very helpful and looked up opening times of attractions and gave us maps to find our way around.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear blah93, happy to rear you back home and with good memories of your trip and the Metropolitan, we have enjoyed having you and the family with us, thanks a lot.
You are very kind and generous, we really appreciate you have taken the time to do this very nice and detailed review, very little to add from my side, we are very lucky to have a beautiful team of warm and talented people at Metropolitan that I believe make for a great stay, from our breakfast team, to our Met Bar and of course our Thai restaurant Nahm considered to be one of the best Thai restaurants in the world.
Thanks for the advice, yes you are right and advice reservations are welcomed and needed as as Nahm is usually very busy at dinner time but most of the days you would be able to walk in at lunch time and it is as well a beautiful experience.
We would be delighted to have you all back, please you know where to find us, should you need anything from Bangkok, please let us know. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is stellar, literally right next door to the Banyan Tree, which is acclaimed, but now, old & tired. It works out really well if you plan on walking over to visit the breath-taking rooftop bar at the Banyan Tree though. But, in terms of 'hotel', the Metropolitan was above & beyond THE BEST in Bangkok. Location leaves you with a sense of calm in a chaotic city. And, the breakdast is THE BEST breakfast I've ever had, anywhere. Don't second guess this. If this hotel were anywhere else in the world you'd be paying over 500$ a night. Luckily Bangkok is cheap, so you can live like a king on a dime. Treat yourself & enjoy it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Chrissybatells, warm regards from your home in Bangkok and all of us at the Metropolitan.
You are the best and super nice, thanks a lot for your visit and this extremely generous review.
I wish that if not 7 stars we do provide at least lots of smiles and a warm genuine service.
We are lucky to have a beautiful property, extremely peaceful but yet next door to most of Bangkok's attractions and as you mentioned we are definitely a great value, quality option when visiting this bustling and interesting city.
We will share your compliments with the team and we will be happy to share with you some of our Glow breakfast recipes.
Definitely we will be more than happy to have and welcome you back, please let us know if we can be of any help at anytime. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Large bed in spacious room, well-equipped bathroom. Very clean. Nice, friendly and professional staff. We were a party of 9 and made good use of the hotel's mini-bus (they call it a van), this was an excellent way for us to get around and cheaper than taxis. In a quiet district but still within walking distance of the 'buzz' or sky train to shopping areas. Good Bar and restaurant. Breakfasts were diverse and interesting. Great porridge, cold with fruit! Try the yoghurts. Hot dishes excellent too

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear FingertipsScotland, greetings from your home in Bangkok, we are really happy to read your very nice review. We have enjoyed having you all with us and it means a lot to us that you have good memories of your stay.
We will share your compliments with our team, specially our Glow restaurant, we put a lot of care and effort into our breakfast with plenty of healthy and creative a la carte options, which we believe makes for a great start to any day, really glad you have enjoyed.
Should you be visiting Bangkok again, please let us know, we would love to have you back and be of any assistance. Best, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed in two room types (City and Metropolitan). Both were in perfect condition, really spacious with extremely comfortable, real king size beds. Some hotels claim to give you king size, but those beds have nothing to do with these.
My back hurts after sleeping in most of the hotels, but these mattresses were awesome.

I am writing this review on my last day of my stay and I can tell you, I could not be more satisfied.
I have been here for a month and never really had an uncomfortable situation. I had only a few minor "problems" but they were sorted out in just a moment of time.
Staff is kind and polite, they really make your stay as good as possible.

Do not miss sunday brunch, and pizza (if it was enough of asian food) in the bar. Both are really nice.
I never made it to the hotels well known restaurant the Nahm, but based on the quality that the hotel represents I am 100% sure it is above the standards.

If I will come back to Bangkok I will stay at the Metropolitan for sure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with connecting rooms. You never know if your neighbors are polite enough to cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear yousayimtrippin, we have really enjoyed having you with us and would be delighted to have you back soon.
We are glad that you have felt at home specially for such a long stay, it really means a lot to us and are very grateful for your stay and your very kind review.
I hope you didn't have problems getting out of bed every morning and happy you have enjoyed our team's service and the very good food, please let's make sure to have a meal at Nahm next time you are back in Bangkok, just let me know.
Looking forward to have you back and meanwhile, let us know if we could be of any help. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 171-room hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.