We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, very professional and kind staff !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, very professional and kind staff !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we enjoyed our stay in the Metropolitan (new year's eve, 3 nights). good location, very kind people, excellent rooms and facilities.
a bit sad the pool is not sunny on the afternoon (only on the morning) due to a high building close

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Xavier B, we are happy to know you have enjoyed your NYE celebrations in Bangkok and at the Metropolitan. We hope the good memories will keep you smiling all year long.
It has been a fun and interesting holiday season full of activities in Bangkok and in the hotel.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your kind review, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    256
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
88
522
128
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Metropolitan is one of the best hotels in Bangkok. The rooms are huge, the facilities impeccable and the staff could not be more efficient and friendly. The restaurants are excellent - especially Glow.
It may not have a river location, but there are lots of restaurants and shopping in walking distance and taxis etc are everywhere.
I'd stay here every time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear SallyH25, really happy to know you and the family have had a good stay at the Metropolitan and enjoyed your visit to Bangkok.
We are very grateful and would love to have you back soon. Thanks a lot for your kind and generous review.
Absolutely right, our location in Bangkok it is becoming more interesting and more convenient every day, easy access to sky train and subway allows for quick connections to the main attractions and areas of interest and plenty of things to explore on foot, including all the shopping and restaurants in Silom, Suan Plu and Sathorn.
Anything you may need let us know, happy to assist and hopefully we will see you soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

we stayed in bangkok for 4 days and we were suggested this by our points company form the major credit cards. It was a gem and the manager (george) took personal time to come over and have a chat with us. The pool was fabulous. The hotel does not seem to be too well known given that its on the business district but i believe its only a matter of time.

highly recommended.

Room Tip: Smaller hotel and hidden from the main road. So any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Hary S, it has been very nice to meet you all and have you staying with us.
We are really happy you have had a nice stay, thanks for your very kind compliments and recommendation.
We hope you have very good memories from this visit to Bangkok and hopefully plans to come back in a near future, please anything you may need from us or Bangkok, let me know, happy to be of assistance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

wonderful location, and great rooms!
For the price they offer on their website, you get a really big room, big bathroom, in a asian-modern style of decoration. It is a really great deal.
But, do not expect to find a warm atmosphere, a lively lobby or bar, and fluent staff in english!
The staff barely speaks english even at reception, you have to repeat and check twice to make sure you are understood, and yet....
My disappointment came from the lack of atmosphere and service, this is not what you expect from a top range hotel in Asia...
The saddest part is the breakfast buffet, ridiculous in size and choice, never seen such a limited choice in Asia!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear PKLune, greetings from all of us at Metropolitan Bangkok.
Thanks a lot for your visit and your kind review. I really appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry for the communication issues during your stay.
Indeed Metropolitan is a great quality, value for money, boutique hotel .
We are small in size compared to most hotels in Bangkok, that is what makes us a preferred choice for most of our guests. Probably, you were looking for a more traditional, bigger city hotel kind of experience.
I'm especially sorry, as it seems we have not been able to communicate or advise better in regards to our breakfast, as you can see in most of the reviews, guests do enjoy it a lot.
You are right though, we don't do buffets at Metropolitan, our breakfast is made to order with a very nice and interesting selection of dishes, as mentioned, a daily selections of pastries, breads, home made jams, spreads, fresh fruit and juices, cold cuts, cereal, yogurt..., all of the best quality and mostly of organic origin, are as well available. Once again I'm very sorry you didn't have a good impression, especially considering the amount of care and effort that goes into our breakfast daily.
Very appreciative of the overall good comments and would be happy to assist should you need anything from Bangkok, we hope you have enjoyed this bustling, happening city. Kind regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the metropolitan this xmas again for the 6th time. The service, the rooms and the breakfast are still brilliant! Had dinner at Nahm restaurant in the hotel, a bit on the expensive side but well worth it to try a modern twist on Thai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear hayter68, warm regards from your home in Bangkok, we were glad to have you staying with us, once again, this Christmas season.
We love welcoming good friends at home and it really means a lot to us that after all your visits you are still enjoying your stays and our teams' service, on behalf of all of us thanks a lot.
As usual, please anything you may need let us know, looking forward to have you back soon. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This review comes a bit late, but myself and the gal booked 4 nights at the Met during December after looking at some good reviews of the establishment online. As per advertised, truly an oasis among the Bangkok mayhem! The hotel was very tranquil and serene, not to mention pretty. Rooms were very decently sized and the decor was one of the best for this price bracket. Didn't have the opportunity to try the breakfast but seems that many enjoyed it. Staff are professional and always willing to assist. Will definitely be going back there the next time I stop by in BKK. The only minus I can think of is that the location of the hotel is some distance from the nearest BRT, a good 10min walk across a very busy Sathorn Road. At least the hotel arranges a shuttle to the station, but you have to make your own way back. But its a good way to walk off all those yummy Bangkok food!

Kudos to Jorge and his team. Jorge hope you are getting used to BKK life! Thanks for the warm welcome and send off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear dhwong, it is never late for such a nice review and your very kind comments. We are very grateful for your visit and for taking the time to share with all of us.
We really enjoyed having you with us and getting to meet you, we are really happy you have had a great time and enjoy Bangkok and the Metropolitan.
We would love to have you back very soon, please let me know if I, we can be of any help.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Metropolitan and it was fantastic for a city weekend. The ambience of the hotel was peaceful and tranquil, despite being located so centrally. The room was spacious and very clean with the usual quality COMO toiletries. The breakfast was delicious - a combination of a la carte as well as a buffet section with fresh pastries, fruit and freshly squeezed juices. The hotel staff were always helpful and very service oriented. We dined at Nahm - it was not cheap but it is also not a local dining experience. We really enjoyed the flavours We liked the option of the tasting menu as we could try many dishes between two, sharing style, instead of ordering just a couple of standard sized plates.

The location of the hotel was very convenient and we would certainly look to stay here again or another COMO property for our next holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Glamanda, we are glad you have found and enjoyed at the Metropolitan all those things that are so important and dear for all of us at COMO H&R.
A peaceful, serene environment. great rooms and beds, fantastic food and warm and friendly staff.
You are right Nahm is a very special Thai cuisine, traditional and elaborate recipes hardly cook anymore in this busting Bangkok. Glad you did enjoy it.
Indeed a great weekend scape, on behalf of all of us thanks a lot for your visit and for the detailed review.
Looking forward to have you back, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 171-room hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.