We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best reward for a hard year of work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 14 more sites!
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best reward for a hard year of work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Looking forward for a well deserved time off, didn't know what to expect on my first visit to Thailand. This place is perfect in every single way. The room just what you need: a Como design experience but with a bed that makes you sleep like a baby. The pool, a paradise in the middle of the busy city. Special mention to the their spa, Como Shambhala, after 20+ hours of travel, their massage is just about what you dream a massage should be. It gets you ready for everything to come. I'm already ready for 2013. Bring it on!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Alcazareo, greetings from the land of smiles, great to know that your first trip to Thailand has been a good one and batteries are fully charge for what, we wish, to be a 2013 full of happiness and smiles.
We have enjoyed having you with us, thanks a lot for your visit and taking the time to share your experience, we really appreciate it.
Looking forward to a second trip soon, please anything you may need let us know, Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    724
    250
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
81
497
124
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Fantastic hotel overall - nice rooms larger than most in Bangkok and with a new, modern feel. The food in both restaurants - Nahm and Glow - is phenomenal, though for the former it is worth calling a few days in advance to reserve a table since it gets busy. The menu offers fresh, healthy food which also tastes fantastic - certainly the best of any of the last 25 hotels I have stayed in. The Jacuzzi and gym are both good, and there is a nice large and empty pool. One small note though - the pool is between several large towers and so only got 2 hours of sun each day while we were there (December, from 1130-1330 roughly).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Alwaystravelling69, greetings from Bangkok and all of us at Metropolitan.
Thanks a lot for your very kind review and for your visit, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay.
Most of our rooms, Metropolitan Rooms, are at least 54sqm and they really feel like a little "studio" with plenty of space and light. Good food, great food is one of the passions at Metropolitan and all our COMO H&R, it is very important to all of us and means a lot that you have found it phenomenal.
As you've mentioned advance reservations for Nahm are advisable, as it is fully booked almost every night, a good option is to enjoy it at lunch time, with a very nice, calm and different atmosphere.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon, warm regards. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This is one of our favourite hotels in the world.....it's greatest features can never be photographed. The service quality is 6 stars and everyone is so, so helpful and nice....and yes ocassionally things do go a little off plan....and each time it has been me...the care is so sincere that I forget that English is to not some people who work here their first language. And the second feature that the camera cannot reveal, is the food quality....it is simply outstanding and Nahm is a world class restaurant.
I would give this hotel a "six star rating" if there was an outside relaxed area to have a drink and some light food, and the other restaurant, Glow, is a little noisy without the same ambience as the rest of the hotel.....this said we will continue to return.
The new manager and his front of house team have added another dimension to the stay..... an experience I have never had in any other hotel in the world.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Foodiemick,
Thanks a lot from us all at Metropolitan, we are always glad and grateful to have you with us. It means a lot to every one of us that you continue to enjoy your visits, you are absolutely right, there is so much to the Metropolitan that can't be capture in a picture or brochure.
Our lovely team, the passion for wellness,great food throughout the property, lots of care and love, glad that all those things are important to you as well.
Looking forward to have you back very soon, let us know if we can be of any help on advance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I am writing to express my disappointment my friend and I encountered tonight by calling the hotel to verify our booking from 29 Dec to 1 Jan.
We called to front desk to look for assistance as we would like to drop off our luggage before as we will be leaving Bangkok for few days until 29 Dec to stay at the hotel. We called to front desk agent and Ms Waleeporn picked up the phone, I had spelled many times my name but Ms. Waleeporn replied by saying no booking was found. She seemed to have an difficulty to understand 26 English letters. You could imagine how worried we were as we were very sure about the booking made on zuji.com.hk and confirmation was well received once we paid the room charges by my credit card. We were terrified by receiving the response that no booking was found at your system as we might have nowhere to stay at that period (which is quite a peak season with New Year Eve.)
Ms. Waleeporn failed to help us but just kept telling us she was unable to locate the booking. In the end, I actively suggested to forward my confirmation to her for her investigation and insisted her to call us back. In the end, she found the booking and re-confirmed the reservation. Very bad impression prior to our arrival as staff was neither helpful nor professional. Don't expect much on this hotel during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear rockjHongKong, greetings from all of us at Metropolitan Bangkok.
We are looking forward to have you with us very soon, we are rally grateful that even if you have not been in the hotel yet you have taken the time to share your experience.
We are really sorry you have felt bad and had a poor first impression, we really strive in making sure our guests have a fantastic experience, way before their arrival. Really sorry we have not done better in this case.
Happy I had the chance to explain personally and apologize, sorry that an spelling mistake has caused this much inconvenience and sorry that in spite of our quick confirmation and follow up you still feel disappointed.
We have been really happy to take care of your luggage for a week and are looking forward to have you with us and show our best hospitality. Please anything you may need during yoru stay, let us know, happy to be of assistance. Warm regards. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed only one night between flights and were upgraded to a huge room with great comfort and style. The nicest thing after a long and tiring journey was the green tea delivered to our room 10 minutes after we arrived. We were too late for the cafe style restaurant - does it really need to close at 9pm? So we had to eat at Nahm - created by David Thompson award winning Australian chef. It was full, but they seated us outside overlooking the pool - rather lovely if rather hot. Excellent if pricey food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear DJG_KAG, greetings from Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, we are very grateful for your visit and your very nice review.
Happy to know you have enjoyed your short stay and it would be very nice to have the chance to welcome you back very soon, anything you may need please let us know. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We only had one night here but would love to return for a longer stay. Our room was beautiful and huge. It was the biggest king sized bed ever and was so comfortable. I decided to have a bath to better enjoy the huge bathroom. While the water was running, a young man came to turn down the bed, put water and glasses and notepaper on the bedside table, slippers beside the bed, close the curtains, and put some ice in the ice bucket. He also gave me some bubble bath. This was definitely more upmarket than anything I'd experienced before and I felt very special.

We stayed at the Metropolitan specifically because I wanted to have dinner at nahm. We opted for the set menu which was lovely but it was way too much food. My only complaint would be that it was very dim and we had trouble trying to read the menu.

We had breakfast downstairs at Glow. I had yummy coconut waffles with mango and passionfruit and Greg had a full cooked breakfast which they served without toast and they actually made it look healthy.

From receptionists to waiters, porters and doormen, we found all the staff very helpful. If weI get back to Bangkok, we would definitely stay at the Metropolitan again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Lanny48, we are looking forward to have you back soon for a longer stay, please let us know if we can be of any assistance in that regard.
Thanks a lot for your visit, and we are glad you have enjoyed this short stay, our food both at Nahm and Glow and the service of our team.
We will share with all of them and they'll be happy to know they have made your stay feel special.
Warm regards and thanks a lot. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here for 6 days in December and had one of my best ever hotel experiences. Right from check-in to check-out, everything was done perfectly, yet in a friendly manner that to me typifies Thai service. I love this hotel, from the yoga mats in the room, to the free classes twice a day, to the sublime food at Nahm, to the helpfulness of the front desk staff and concierge for printing out my Myanmar visa and boarding pass (for free!!!) and making restaurants reservations for me. The Metropolitan felt like home and I would go back in a heartbeat. The rooms are lovely and quiet, the pool and spa area are fabulous. I can highly recommend the 90-minute getting over jetlag massage. This is one great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear PrincessMisha, warm regards from your home in Bangkok, we have loved having you with us and on behalf of our team I would like to thank you for your visit.
It means a lot to all of us that you have enjoyed your stay more than anything our warm and friendly team, and of course our service and facilities.
Metropolitan and all our COMO hotels are very wellness mindful, from the design to the cuisine and our fantastic COMO Shambhala Spa, we are glad all of it have contributed to a very nice stay.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance we would be happy to have you back soon.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 171-room hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.