We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bathrooms, poor restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 761 Hotels in Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great bathrooms, poor restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Extremely friendly staff and service. Breakfast restaurant was very noisy and impersonal. Good pool area but to get there you had to pass through the restaurant, not too comfortable in your swimwear. Spacious room and lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear BussMalin, kind regards from us all at the Metropolitan Bangkok. Thanks a lot for your visit and your comments and feedback.
We will share with our team and they will be happy to know you have found them friendly and enjoyed their service.
It would be very nice to have you back very soon and continue to share our team's smiles and warmth. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    281
    60
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
572
142
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

hi
Stayed here with my wife for two nights in November.
Found the only way to sum up our stay was average.
There was nothing badly wrong with the hotel, just was expecting more? The one thing that swung our decision to stay was that I have always wanted to eat at Nahm,and with that in mind booked it( for a detailed review on Nahm,i have done one on the restaurant page)

Pro’s
Staff - always poite, and helpful
Glow restaurant - great breakfast& fresh healthy food
Gym was nice
Location was in good, nice clean area. and about 10 minute walk to two sky train stations, and next-door to the Banyan tree hotel, roof top drink is a must!

Con’s
Hotel – we were expecting more, very plain (they say contemporary)
Mini bar too expensive
Nahm restaurant – disappointed, found it over hyped
Pool gets very little sun on it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Chimp2000, greetings from Metropolitan Bangkok. I would like to thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience with us.
Glad to know you have found our staff polite and helpful and enjoyed our breakfast at Glow, a lot of effort goes into making it very special, means a lot to us you have appreciated.
I'm sorry you were expecting more of the hotel and our style and design may have not been of your taste, please accept our sincere apology.
We would be happy to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show our best hospitality in a near future, please let us know if we can be of any assistance. Kind regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staying at the Metropolitan in Bangkok made me feel like a celebrity. Great wholesome food, great coffee, great Signature spa treatment - utter decadence. Great looking lobby and very funky bar - The Met Bar.

Room Tip: The room with the sperate shower and bath is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Svetlana J, regards and thanks from all of us at Metropolitan Bangkok. Every one of our guests is a celebrity to us and a very dear friend.
We are very happy you have felt good and enjoyed your visit and stay with us, we are very grateful for your very nice review as well.
Looking forward to welcome you back very soon, warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First time in Bangkok with my nephew last Nov 15, 2012 , we have a great time in Metropolitan Bangkok hotel, although its quite far from the embassy which our main purpose in visiting Bangkok, but no regrets because ....good place to stay. Staff are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Room was big and comfortable, air-condition was so quiet, slept well, our room is in the center por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Yolly300, Happy to know you have had a very a nice stay in the Metropolitan Bangkok and that you have enjoyed your first visit to Bangkok.
On behalf of all of us thanks a lot. As you have seen bangkok is a very interesting city with plenty of things yet to explore and discover and Metropolitan the perfect base for a second trip.
It would be nice to have you back very soon, please let us know if we can be of any help. Till then warm regards from us all. Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed for a night at the Metropolitan Hotel, BKK and have noticed a sea change since the last time we stayed there. The checkin was handled smoothly, the dinner at Nahm is highly recommended. Would have liked a few more options for Vegetarians but what was served was of the highest quality. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and is one of the best gourmet breakfast I have ever had anywhere in the world. What stood out for me was the warmth of service that I have rarely found in BKK hotels. The Shambala products are of the finest quality.

We ordered some stuff from Room service and the promptness was surprisingly good!

Congratulations to Jorge (GM) and his team for making this a fantastic property to stay in terms of luxury, comfort and excellence in service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Der Vikas Nahata, always good to welcome you back at the Metropolitan Bangkok. We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and the warmth and friendliness of our team, they are indeed a beautiful and welcoming group of people and makes me very happy that you have enjoyed their company and service.
Food is one of the main pillars in every one of our COMO Hotel's experience, at the Metropolitan Bangkok we are very privilege to be home to Nahm one of the best Thai restaurants in the world and our very special Glow with focus on healthy, organic cuisine, It means a lot to us that so many of our guests praise our breakfast and food in general, being it served by the pool or, as you mentioned, from room service.
Looking forward to meet and welcome you again soon, please should you need anything from Bangkok or Metropolitan, let us know. Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the hotel, the room was nice and very clean. We also tried the swimming pool and enjoyed it. The staff is really amazing, nice, helpful and efficient. Loved the minimalistic design of the hotel and amenities. Overall the stay was great apart from one thing - the shower was a bit painful, maybe the water pressure was too high or else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear ideal_balance, regards from us all at Metropolitan Hotel. I would like to thank you for your visit, we have enjoyed having you with us.
Our team will be happy to know you have enjoyed their service and have had a lovely stay. I'm sorry about the shower inconvenience and will make sure to check what the issue might be,
We will be very happy to welcome you back soon, let us know if we can be of any help from Bangkok at any time. Kind regards Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My yearly stay at The Met keeps getting better. The Met has been my favourite hotel for the past 6 years since first visiting in 2006. I was anxious to come back this year to experience the newly 'remixed' rooms. I am probably the hotels number one fan and use it as inspiration when decorating my own home. As a lover of minimal design I thought what could they do to the rooms to improve them except for a new coat of paint? Well I think I have summed it up in saying 'remixed'. The furniture is now a darker shade of brown, the daybed covers and bed cushions are now in a creamy fabric and the curtains are now in olive green which works really well. The pool loungers have been remixed also with new charcoal material. What can you do when you are already the best. Remix it!!! There is also new carpet in the corridors which is really nice to walk on. Of course all of the usual amenities are still apparent, the Como bath products, the fantastic Glow breakfast with pastries that are to die for and the friendly team of staff that are forever present and attentive without going over the top! Special mention to the young lady in the Glow restaurant who actually handed in her resignation when i was there to concentrate on having a family. I asked her if i could replace her!!! After 6 years i am always excited to come back to my Home away from Home!

Room Tip: The Metropolitan rooms are a great size to stretch out and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Fox1106, we are looking forward to welcome you back home very soon.
It has been very nice to have you back with us and we are very grateful of your friendship and honor you think of us at your home away from home.
Thanks for your very kind and detailed review, glad to know you've liked our "remixed" rooms, refurbished keeping in mind the strength of simplicity.
We will share your compliments with our team, especially those at Glow, consistently providing a very unique breakfast experience, looking forward to share many more with you.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance and meanwhile receive our warmest regards. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 169-room 5 star hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. Nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, T4B, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.