We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat in hectic Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 745 hotels in Bangkok
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Tranquil retreat in hectic Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent hotel which deserves a fat five star rating. We stayed in one of the penthouse suites, courtesy of the hotel manager since the room we booked was still under renovation. The suite could easily pass for a massive apartment (at least in Hong Kong) and the minimal design ticked. Staff made us instantly feel at home and even Jorge the general manager made time to come and say hello on arrival - a nice touch. Breakfast at the 'Glow' restaurant is by far the best breakfast we have ever had in any hotel, restaurant, and dare I say it, at home. If there was a cookbook I would have bought it in a second.
I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear bubblensqueek, warm regards from your peaceful retreat in Bangkok, it is really nice to know you have enjoyed your stay and our team's service.
Glad you did like your Penthouse Suites, indeed with their double height ceilings they feel spacious, full of light and very serene and welcoming.
Most of our guests really value and praise our Glow breakfast, made to order, a la carte, A great way to start the day feeling full of energy, our Glow team will be very happy to read your compliments, you are very kind.
Please let us know should you need anything from Bangkok and definitely we are looking forward to have you back very soon. Meanwhile receive our gratitude and best wishes. Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    249
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
79
494
123
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This have always been my favorite hotels in terms of the rooms and breakfast (best in the world). The staff there are very courteous and friendly and they always address you by your first name, The room is very spacious, clean and zen looking and I just love their toiletries. I had recommended it to my colleague and everyone said the same thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Iwee800, your confidence in our hotel and team makes us very proud and happy. On behalf of all of us I would like to thank you for your visits and for your very kind and generous review.
We would be delighted to welcome you back very soon, anything you may need on advance,please let me know. Kind regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I travel to Bangkok twice a year and I always stay here for a couple of days just to unwind.

The service is great, the staff are all friendly and attentive.
The room was nice and bedding super comfy. There are hardwood floors and a minimal vibe going on in the suites.

I spend alot of time lying by the pool. I'm not a fan of the breakfast at Glow bar. It's very expensive and not to my liking.

It's pretty cheap getting taxis around Bangkok and the staff were very good about hailing reliable cabs for me.

I would recommend this hotel if you just want to hang around the grounds or Sala Daeng. I liked Sala Daeng...there is alot of weird stuff going on. The plus side of the out of the way location is that it is quiet and nice, a great respite from the bustle, dirt, and relentless chaos of Bangkok.

Room Tip: -the city rooms are big enough -get a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Christopher-Hussein, regards from your home in Bangkok.
As you know wellness it is of the utmost importance to us at Metropolitan and as you've mentioned
we are a wonderful place to unwind! Quiet and peaceful. A fantastic retreat within this bustling city.
Happy to know you continue to enjoy your stays with us, looking forward to have you back soon, please let me know if there is anything we could do on advance.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We couldn't be happier with the Metropolitan. We were easily able to get everywhere from it's location. The rooms were spacious, luxurious and comfortable. The bath products—the sampe they use in their spa—were the best I've ever had. Finally, the food was incredible, with tons of organic and healthy choices. I will be back here, and now completely trust the COMO line of hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Christie, regards from us all at Metropolitan Bangkok.
We are extremely happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us! I'm pretty sure you will love the rest of our beautiful COMO Hotels,please let me know if I can be of any assistance in that regard at any time.
We,at COMO, are really careful and dedicated to our food and wellness and it is a very important part of experience delivered in everyone of our properties, it means a lot to us that you have valued those at the Met.
We are looking forward to have you back soon, let me know if we can be of assistance. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Met is a good hotel and the service is great with attentive staff and nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfast and the spa were the highlights for me. Negatives were not enough loungers by the pool and I didn't like the shower curtain in the bathroom. It's inconsistent with the quality of the hotel and makes for an unpleasant shower experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Moxo2020,
Greetings from all of us at the Metropolitan, thanks for your nice positive comments and as well for the feedback regarding the shower curtain.
I will look into it immediately, a very small number of our rooms use shower curtains, as most of them are walk in showers, but nevertheless we will check and make sure they are of the appropriate standard. Please accept our sincere apology.
We will share your compliments with all the team and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked in to the hotel at 9:30am and was met by the general manager Jorge Monje and director of sales Ba-Wronpak Wachirawarakarn, this gave you a good impression of the hotel and how it was run. We were shown our room which was one of the metropolitan rooms on the 8th floor , the door opened and WOW, I have stayed in a few hotel rooms but this was breathtaking, open, massive, spotless and beautiful. It overlooked the pool and towards Silom and right next door to the the Vertigo Bar. The hotel was set back off the main South Sathorn Road, which made it a quiet yet easy accessable to Bangkok, subways and sky train a short walk. When people say Thailand is the land of smiles, they must have meant this place, the staff were all very polite and smiled and greeted you each time as long lost friend and this really made the hotel. The breakfast was excellent everything you could ask for and anything you want they will do their best to satisfy your request. We saw Jorge each day and he spoke to all the guests on a one to one basis, this really made the hotel, I would like to make a special recommendation to COMO hotels, Jorge is a manager in a million and shows how a hotel should be run and is a credit to your company, I will be staying here again as peaceful, tranquil and an experience all travellers should have had, It made our holiday and one good reminder of our time spent in Bangkok. Thank you so much. PS the beds are to die for, so mush to the point we are going to a shop in Leeds that sell the linen and pillows to purchase them

Room Tip: The metropolitan rooms facing the pool ( as this was the room we had ) were ideal and so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Keith, it is so nice to see that you have very good memories of your trip to Bangkok, I hope they will keep you smiling for a very long time.
It has been a real pleasure to have you with us and I would like to thank you for your visit and extremely kind comments. You are right, Thailand without a doubt, the Land of Smiles and we are very lucky to have a team of beautiful caring, people, really happy to know you have enjoyed their company and service.
You made me laugh, I do agree our beds and linen are to die for,I usually receive a comment on that regard every day, at Metropolitan and all our COMO H&R, a lot of care and attention goes into very subtle things that we believe made for an incredible experience, from our rooms to our love for good food and our focus on wellness.
Looking forward to have you back very soon, please let us know if we can be of any assistance.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Metropolitan Bangkok is superior when it comes to service, spa and dining. I was hesitant to leave the hotel to explore Bangkok because I loved my experience so much.
The design of the hotel is gorgeous from the spacious rooms to the world class spa. The staff are professional and the General Manager, Jorge, went out of his way to greet us and to ensure that we had everything we needed for a memorable stay.
Chris Miller of Nahm created the most incredible meal I have ever had - definitely the most superior dining experience in Thai cuisine around the globe. This is a must for anyone visiting Bangkok. We also loved the Maitre' d, Troy, who ensured we had the best dining experience.
Breakfast and lunch in Glow was extraordinary. The food is healthy light and delicious. You feel energized rather than depleted after every meal.
We took advantage of the spa, amazing gym, olympic size swimming pool and yoga studio! What more could you ask for from a hotel?
We will be back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMonje, General Manager at Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Ciao Christina, greetings from your home in Bangkok! Thanks a lot for your compliments to Chris and Troy, I'm sure they will be happy to read and know.
We are very grateful for your very kind comments, it makes us happy to know you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated every single thing that makes Metropolitan and all our COMO Hotels what they are, the things that you've mentioned service, spa, dining are of the utmost importance to all of us and probably what really makes us a top hotel, every single thing that it is difficult to capture in a picture, so your comments are especially relevant and welcomed.
Please let us know should you be visiting Bangkok again, we would be happy to welcome you back and meanwhile anything you may need, happy to be of assistance.
Warm regards, Jorge Monje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok

Also Known As:
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel
Metropolitan Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Metropolitan Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Bangkok
Address: 27 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok is a 171-room hotel defined by subtle, contemporary design and intuitive, polished service. The Met Bar, a stylish lounge-like bar, serves a comprehensive selection of martini cocktails with visiting live DJs. nahm restaurant serves Thai cuisine from award-winning Australian chef David Thompson whilst glow focuses on an organic, healthful menu. Relaxation is available at COMO Shambhala Urban Escape, comprising Asian-inspired treatments, a gym, Yoga studio and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan by COMO, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.