We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“purest luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #1 of 773 Hotels in Bangkok
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“purest luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place was my personal highlight. The benchmark for luxury. Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed every minute of it! The staff is so attentive and makes you feel very special. This hotel has a very classical, traditional spirit. A very unique, quiet location in the middle of noisy Bangkok. We enjoyed the great breakfast at the river, it was amazing! The boat-taxi was also very convenient and a good opportunity to avoid the terrible traffic in Bangkok. Unfortunately, we had a very tight schedule and couldnt experience the whole accommodation. We will come back, definitely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,242
    292
    75
    27
    19
See reviews for
438
1,205
213
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Once again on a return visit - Le Grande Dame - excelled in attention provided to my wife for her 70th birthday celebration during our stay. Support given to us both with our limited mobility demonstrates the attention to detail freely given by all the staff that really makes one feel as a very welcome return guest. It reinforces the establishment's number one rating in the world - an achievement it attained for 17 consecutive years in the past. Hopefully our health will allow return in the future.

Room Tip: Our personal preference is the Garden Wing split level suites but due to having been able to visit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We travel frequently and usually stay in 4-5 star locations around the world. This hotel ranks at the top of our list. The customer service is superb, very responsive to room food service or room servicing requests. The view of the river from our Executive Suite was gorgeous. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the view from the restaurant amazing. The massages were incredible. Can't say enough positive things about this wonderful place. We can't wait to return for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The word hotel does not do justice to the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok - it really is a most wonderful and luxurious home from home. We spent another night there (November 30th) en-route from a top end resort in Phuket back to London necessitated by British Airways flight schedules but I have to stay that this hotel is so exceptional that it made an inconvenience into a real treat. From the meeting contact at the airport to the hotel chauffeur to the greeting when we arrived, all was exceptionally good. The room was excellent and the Verandah restaurant overlooking the river providing a quite exquisite breakfast with the most amazing cappuccino. The hotel is true to the Mandarin Oriental mind set - the customer is so much first and we will always select them. I wish they were in all the world's cities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear HeavenHolidays

Wow! Thank you very much for this glowing review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am very pleased to hear your wonderful feedback and I am delighted that you had an exquisite time. It’s great that you especially enjoyed breakfast the Verandah overlooking the River of Kings. Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay with us in the future!

Best Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Amazing staff and amazing service...this is a must see hotel even just for a coffee on the terrace or for a dinner...Stayed twice and both times were excellent!
The whole building is just magnifcent and the service is sooo perfect...
The spa and the boat service very organised and there is nothing that they cannot do for you...amazing...
the whole lobby decor just brings some old times history back to this grandiosa stylw building...
Highly recommended for elderly and beautiful as well....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear skfmac

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok; and thank you for taking the time to leave such a superb review in particular regarding the Oriental Spa and your dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ soon.

Best wishes
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is another of the worlds iconic hotels and I always love to return.

Warmth and friendliness of hotel staff, high standard of rooms, superb cleanliness, access to the city, amazing spa and sport facilities - it is all here.

Bangkok offers many options (Penninsula is accross the river from MO, Shangri-La around the corner) but for me it is - when Bangkok, then the Oriental ... I return only in a week time for three more nights and can't wait to be back already ...

Room Tip: Higher floors, from 10th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Milan P

Thank you very much for you kind review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed the legendary Oriental service and especially The Oriental Spa. We appreciate your ongoing patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, very soon.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. All staff were lovely from the second we were picked up at the airport. Knowing we were on honeymoon they upgraded us to a beautiful suite with a fantastic river view. We ate brunch every day on the river terrace, very wide selections that changed daily. Also ate at the Thai restaurant across the river, also fantastic. Concierge was very helpful with arranging tickets to a muay Thai fight, we did pay a small service charge but were glad to be able to avoid the aggressive ticket sellers at the stadium charging 2700 baht for ringside tickets. Access to ferry and trains by the hotel ferry was convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Beansie8150

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am delighted to read you had a wonderful honeymoon at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. When your plans bring you back to Bangkok, please do let me know and I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok for your first anniversary.

With best wishes,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.