We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #2 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“The Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I think this hotel started the service standard by which all others are judged. This hotel gets it right. Now with Four Season and others there is keen competition but this hotel delivers when it comes to service. The hotel is looking a bit tired bit the high level of service more than makes up for it. I have stayed at this hotel many times and never ceases to amaze my already high expectations. This is the hotel to stay at in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear VoxVolpe

Thank you for this positive review of the hotel. I really appreciate the comments about our service standards and I will be sure to share your comments with our colleagues. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.
.

Kind regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,750
    227
    63
    26
    17
See reviews for
333
954
168
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Amazing check-in service.This does not happen at the front desk but you are wisked away to your bedroom and the last few formalities concluded as you settle into your room. Great room with gorgeous bathroom and view of the river and the very special treat of fresh local specific fruit in the room every day!! At turndown service a little message of the day is left on the pillows. And early morning your newspaper is waiting in your very own postbox in the room. Fantastic buffet breakfast selection combined with a fantastic location f sitting right on the waters edge, giving one a great view over the busy river. For dinners, after long and busy days out only made use of room service. The service and food was great and the order was correct everytime. We spend some time next to the pool and once again the menu was extensive, the food and service great and small extras like refreshments and fresh fruit available at all times. . Nothing was a problem and everything was delivered with a smile. We loved the hotel's water ferry taking us to and from the sky train whenever we wanted, it made commuting a joy! Overall the staff at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok have been exceptional and we thank you for a great stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I just checked out of the mandarin oriental. Don't really want to leave now as I had a wonderful experience here. Service is just impeccable. The hotel has everything you need including a great spa, lovely restaurants, nice pool, good toiletries, etc. It is just by the river, not the most convenient but they do have shuttle service to the pier which is right next to saphan taksin BTS. Coming back to hotel by taxi late at night is not a problem - just learn the thai pronunciation for 'oriental' and every taxi driver knows.The hotel has a lot of heritage and the side streets are nice to walk around for some silver and home decor items. But above all else, service is really unbeatable here. The chief concierge Chaba is in the know and extremely helpful. I will come back anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

By far, the weekend we spend at the Mandarin Oriental was one of the best experiences ever in a city hotel.

Everything is perfect in Mandarin Oriental and there is nothing that you can seriously complain about. What really impressed us was the professionalism of the staff, in every part of the hotel and at any time. We were always welcomed by our names and we felt at home from the moment we checked in.

The check in process took a maximum of one minute and then a staff accompanied us to our room. Fantastic room, perfect views of the Chao Praya river and excellent amenities. The bathroom stands out with the earthy colors and beautiful design. There is only one minor architectural fault: the toilet is near the 2nd door (sealed one) that faces the bedroom. Ideally it should have been on the opposite side.

I've asked some special requests and everything has been arranged as expected.

We spend an entire weekend inside the hotel and another thing that stands out is the food. Breakfast is excellent and the Chinese restaurant is an absolute mast for everyone staying at the hotel or living in Bangkok. The Lord Jims' was also very good but there were a couple of things that didn't go 100% with my taste. I had the seafood in puff pastry and I have two complains. The pastry is not exactly puff pastry; it is a mix of bisquit and puff pastry. The sauce was also overpowered by the losbster bisque and it was difficult to enjoy the flavor of the individual items.

Drinks at the bamboo bar are divine and the time by the pool amazing.

If this hotel will do something more in terms of environmental management (e.g. a card for the lights) it can be an example for other luxury city hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Trip_Datum

Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback following your recent stay Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the cuisine, service, rooms and river views. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay at “La Grande Dame” in the future.

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have been many times to this hotel, always perfect, spotless. My only criticism is the location, I don't like being there and prefer downtown rather than river, but that's my personal taste, as the place is just best of best in Bangkok.

Pay for it if you can afford it. You can expect the best, for me they have never failed so far.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Shake P

It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I have shared your feedback with our colleagues and they were delighted to hear your feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my second stay and again I was not disappointed. You immediately feel relaxed on arrival. Staff are friendly and helpful without being 'too much'. Breakfast by the river watching the boats go by, Ciao offers cocktails in the evening over looking the river traffic (make sure you use bug spray, we got eaten alive). Rooms are of a high standard with lovely amenities in the event you forgot to bring any toiletries. Take the hotel boat across the river to the Thai Restaurant (excellent) and you'll also find the cookery school and gym. You can take the boat shuttle to the pier by the Shangri La hotel to access the sky train and within minutes arrive to the hecticness that is Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear DencBristol

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. We are glad you enjoyed the service, rooms, and culinary delights. We appreciate your heartfelt recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location and surroundings were so perfect, I would book this hotel again despite being less impressed by the accommodations and staff. We loved being able to walk out the hotel.
Additionally, the concierge service was less than stellar. When we asked about specific tours recommended in all the guide books, the woman we met with had no idea what we were talking about. She was only able to provide us with a brochure from one tour and also told us that the brochure was out of date. Both she and another employee we spoke with were not at all proactive in making recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear kenkingya

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience with us and thank you for your constructive feedback as well. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another magnificent experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.