We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star....6, without a doubt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #1 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not 5 star....6, without a doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Most hotels talk about 5 star service, the MOB delivers!

I just got back from 1 week in Maldives & then spent another in bangkok, my favourite asian city & my first time to Mandarin Oriental.

Service is impecable. For one, alot of hotels talk about having a personal butler for the room but in every case I have found the butler does nothing more then push you to buy expensive dinners & excusions. A true butler looks after you & the room. Everytime we left the room at MOB the room was serviced, 4 or 5 times a day, it didnt matter, when we came back, they had tidyed up. The room staff were impressive.

The restuarant & bar staff were great as well. And the fact that you had to wear long trousers at night & a jacket in the restaurant might come as a shock to my fellow Australians but the MOB is a high quality product & the last thing anyone wants to see is shorts & thongs in the bar.

We got a 4 night special where the last night was free & I thought it was a very good deal.

I thought the food was incredible & the prices reasonable.

Limo to airport was also very good & reasonable price.

I have been to Bangkok at least 10 times & this is the best hotel I have stayed at so we will be going again.

Room Tip: we booked 4 nights & got the 4th night free plus they gave us a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear John K

Thank you very much for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our colleagues warm service impeccable. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the butler, restaurants and bar service. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ in the near future.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,357
    301
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
469
1,256
217
343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tongeren, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Mandarin Oriental. It's breathtaking ! The staff are so very nice and always helpfull and friendly. Everything was taken care off, even in the smallest details. The food was more then delicious and the breakfast at the river bank terrace was refined.
Room service came several times a day, water bottles were refreshed every time, and every day we got fresh fruits.
Just unforgettable !

Room Tip: Bed mattrass is fairly hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communication Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Lieve H,

Thank you for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants as well as the room service with the fresh fruits. I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This review is quite overdue.. As we stayed at this property June last year..part of our you could say second honeymoon! :) We had a lovely experience here from checking in to checking out. There is an element of old world charm about this place which only adds to the experience. We stayed here for 4 nights in a deluxe room. The best Thai hospitality we had encountered throughout our stay. From the front desk to the doorman to the porter staff to every single person working in this hotel. Everyone says hello to you and welcomes you with saavadika! My husband's fourth trip to Thailand and even he was impressed!

We ordered room service a couple of times and it was very authentic and very good! Can't comment on breakfast as we stayed on room-only basis.

I managed to book myself a massage at the spa and wow it was amazing. It wasn't just a massage it was an experience. From the location across the river.. To the setting the ambience and ofcourse the skilled masseuse!! I left the spa feeling completely rejuvenated and relaxed! When we return to Bangkok we will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communication Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear London2Dar,

I’m delighted to hear that you define your stay here at the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok as your second honeymoon. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor - I’m glad you enjoyed the service and the hospitality of our personnel and the treatment at the Spa. I look forward to welcoming you back in future, perhaps for a third honeymoon…

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Oriental hotel lives up to it's history and provenance. Although smaller in stature and less assuming than it's high-rised contemporaries, the Oriental soars effortly above them all with it's unfailing levels of service. No less than 6 meet and greets before we arrived in our rooms! Starting from our taxis door being opened and a big welcoming smile as we entered the hotel lobby, our bags were taken away to be placed into our rooms while we were escorted to the reception. Once booked in we were escorted to the lift where we were greeted by our names and taken to our rooms. On our floor was our own floor butler who catered for all our needs - First class hotel with first class +++ Service, Service, Service

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel!!!! Great environment, location, rooms and service. Worth the extra! Breakfast buffet is amazing. Loved the river boat ride across to the other section of the hotel. Must see hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communication Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Wildrover_13,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor and for posting the nice photos. I look forward to welcoming you back in future to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I spent one night at State room (912) on 2 May 2013.
Everything is great. The room, the hospitality of the staff and everything really impressed me.
There are some flaw but the greatness of the service helped me to forget and could cover all those fault.
The breakfast at the terrace is the best in Thailand.
Don't miss afternoon tea set at Author's lounge.
The lunch buffet at Lord Jim's is great as usual.
This is my first time for dinner at Verandah, actually it's great but not really great. I will try it again next time.

The bed is really great, i forget St Regis bed from now on.

I am sure to come back again for my leisure time.

Room Tip: 912 is state room with river and pool view. It is twin bed but actually Hollywood twin. If u want ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communication Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear TinnyKuma,

I’m delighted to hear that you had a nice time here at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor and for uploading all the nice photos. I look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

old fashioned charm and good grace married with modern efficiency. Staff exemplary - the tiniest detail taken care of - the food was delicious. Room service twice and each time was a delight, Garden wing had great views of the river, at night a real treat to watch the beautifully lit boats sail by.
By no means cheap, but still value for money, you would struggle to get this level of service in many hotels. Back to work next week and the endless rounds of Holiday Inn Express - boy I am going to miss this :(

Room Tip: Garden Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communication Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear chall85496,

Thank you very much for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the food, room service and the garden overlooking the Chao Phraya river. I look forward to welcoming you back whenever you need a break from work.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communication Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peninsula Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#6 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#12 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 5,147 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
3.0 mi away
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 778 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,090 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.