We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service extraordinnaire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #2 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Service extraordinnaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wow- it’s comforting to know that you can still count on your stay at Bangkok’s Mandarin Oriental to provide unsurpassed excellence in style, comfort and service. The Oriental (as the locals refer to her) has garnered more awards than Jennifer Lawrence,
ranging from “Best Hotel in the World” to “Urban Spa of the Year”.

Be sure and ask for a suite overlooking the harbor, where all the action takes place.And don't miss High Tea in the colonial Authors' Wing, which has suites named after Somerset Maugham, Noel Coward and James Michener.

The uber comfy feather beads provide a wonderful nights sleep. Also loved that every day the floor butler brought a different tropical fruit bowl. One day, after returning exhausted from a long day of shopping, he tapped on my door to deliver a complimentary sushi pick-me-up. Classy touch is providing guests with a few sheets of personalized gold -embossed stationery.

While lounging by the swimming pool, my “cabana boy” would quietly sneak over to drop off a chilled washcloth and a tall glass of ice water, and, if I was awake, offer to bring me a poolside snack.

I never tired of the alfresco, bountiful buffet breakfast served at the Riverside Terrace where I’d sip my cappuccino as I watched the brightly colored, wooden boats chugging up and down the river, as I tried to decide if I wanted a cooked-to-order omelets or Pad Thai or some other local specialties (and, of course, I would always end up with both).

“Your leisure is our pleasure” is the tagline for their Oriental Spa. The ultimate me-time begins with the fun ferry “cross-river” to the intricately carved teak house with 15 treatment rooms, as well as the Ayurvedic penthouse, a holistic slice of heaven located above the spa, which offers a wide selection of natural healing treatments.

Room Tip: If you want colonial atmosphere you might want to stay in the Authors' Wing. I preferred the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Food-E

Thank you for considering Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok a “place with unsurpassed excellence in style, comfort and service”! We are delighted to hear that our butlers and “cabbana-boys” provided exceptional service and that you enjoyed the Riverside Terrace and the Afternoon Tea at the Authors Lounge. When your plans bring you back to Bangkok, please let us know, we’ll make sure to enrich your “ultimate me-time” again.

Kind Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,747
    225
    63
    26
    17
See reviews for
330
953
168
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Decided to stay at Oriental for a birthday celebration and they didn’t disappointed us with their flawless service and hospitality. As soon as you stepped into their hotel lobby you felt like you’re in an oasis.

We checked in around noon and they were able to arrange a room for us ( as normal check in time is 2pm) , we dropped off our bags and the butler came to greet us , brought us welcome drinks , cold towels and gave us a tour about the room. We then had a wonderful lunch at Lord Jim and by the time we head back to our room , the butler gave us a surprise with a birthday cake in our room ! Then in the evening when we came back from dinner guess what ! another surprise ! A beautiful orchid flower hamper !

If you’re planning to celebrate any special occasion there is no doubt to choose this hotel . Their service will never let you down !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Candice213,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. We are pleased that you appreciated the birthday cake and orchids and thank you very much for sharing the lovely photos. We look forward to welcoming you back next year, and we will make sure more surprises await!

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous hotel!! Great service, beautiful and luxurious. If you have the chance, stay here. Worth the price. Rooms, while not "huge" are very comfortable and relaxing. Butler service is a lovely touch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear KG1019,

Thank you very much for you kind review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service and especially our butlers. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benji_kt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel. Perhaps the bar on the top of the peninsula might be higher or the pool at the shangri-la might be better but I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bangkok. Timeless charm, amazing service lovely rooms and you feel like you have skipped back 100 years. if you are going to bangkok stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Benji_kt

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous stay and you consider Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok as the best hotel in Bangkok. We really look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with loads of character. Most importantly, the level of service is unlike anything I have ever experienced. The spa was great, food delicious, and the staff went well beyond expectations. There should be six stars for this hotel. It is a long way from Canada to Thailand, but this is a hotel I hope to return to again in my lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Nancy53_12

Thank you for posting an excellent review about your experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience, and that our team consistently exceeded your expectations during your stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Best wishes
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First class hotel with service standard and facilities to match. Worthy of its best in city reputation.
Very friendly attentive staff. Very good security. Fabulous afternoon tea in the Authors Lounge which was to die for - a must. Spa delightful but seemed somewhat on the expensive side. Very good breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river. Great evening buffet on the the Verandah. All in all thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river - as some do not. Make sure you check
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Pringle1

Thank you very much for posting an outstanding review on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that our team managed to consistently exceed your expectations and that you had a wonderful time experiencing The Oriental Spa and Afternoon Tea at the Author’s Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really superb luxury hotel, with splendid riverside location. We stayed here as part of our 3 week trip to Thailand & Hong Kong. I think this is probably the best city hotel we have stayed at in recent years.

The staff were very helpful, welcoming and always peased to do their best to look after guests, and we felt their attitude was real, natural and not forced.

Our room was on the 12th floor with butler service,overlooking the river, which it was always busy. The bathroom was spectacular, and clearly very recently refurbished, the room was not large but adequate.

There are 3 restaurants on the riverside terrace and we did not eat out at all as it was wonderful to sit beside the rive and simply watch what was going on.

The hotel has a traditional Thai restaurant on the opposite side of the river with a constantly running ferry to take guest across. We ate at it on one occasion, when the traditional Thai dancers were performing which was enthralling - about twenty dancers and with each dance there was a "crib card" to explain what the dance was all about and the different parts of it, very useful to understand it all. The meal was a Thai banquet, about 14 different dishes, helpful as it meant we did not need to choose ourselves! My wife cannot eat hot / spicey but they were used to this and the dishes were amended / changed accordingly.

Breakfast on the Terrace was an indulgence with a magnificent buffet available, plus waiter sevice if required, every style of food imaginable, and the wonerful view too!

Great hotel, would definitely stay again on a future visit to Bangkok!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor number with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Taveller49

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. Furthermore, I am happy to read that you’ve enjoyed our culinary delights, especially Sala Rim Naam, our signature Thai restaurant!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, soon.

Warm Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.