We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #2 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed for 5 nights on holiday and was sad to leave.right on the river .you can watch the world go by.lovely location, the best room ,the best service,the best food .amazing .will be back.stay here ,you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    257
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
374
1,055
188
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in the world and after being in over 120 countries, I think I can be impartial. The service is beyond reproach. The food has only improved in the 30 years that I have stayed here. Last night's dinner of roasted salmon with a sancerre sauce accompanied by fresh asparagus and saffron rice was delicious. My favorite Jim Thompson Suite is comfortable elegance filled with orchids and beautiful Thai artifacts. The gym is an easy trip across the river and is immaculately maintained. I always feel like the Oriental is my home when I am in Bangkok.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear durgaChicago

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. It is indeed a true pleasure to read that you have been enjoying ‘La Grande Dame’ for the past 30 years. We look forward to welcoming you back ‘Home’ on your next trip to Bangkok.

Sincerely
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ses-Paisses, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel on the 16th January on our way back home to Spain.We were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary and the hotel really spoilt us. We would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights and loved everything about it. From the stunning foyer, with its fabulous displays of orchids to the pagoda-shaped ferry to take you to the spa across the river, it was just special. Rooms that were really well thought out, with lots of nice touches and treats. Charming, attentive staff throughout. When our dinner guest turned up in shorts (banned along with flipflops and backpacks in the evening), he was issued with some jogging pants with no fuss at all! We enjoyed the lunches and dinners that we had by the river terrace, especially the fish dishes.

The riverside location is a terrific asset and you are one minute from a ferry terminal from where you can get to anywhere along the river - by far the best way to travel in Bankok where the traffic is horrendous.

The pool fringed with tropical vegetation was lovely and we never had any difficulty at all in securing loungers or pool service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear BGPLondon

Thank you for posting an excellent review regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday experience with us and that our team has succeeded in providing you with exceptional service that Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok is renowned for. When your plans bring you back to Bangkok, please let me know; I would be pleased to help with the necessary arrangements.

Warm regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you can splurge in any Thai hotel, this is the one lodging experience to go for it! Everything about this hotel is a sublime experience with the most superior Thai service and attention to detail that one can imagine. Not to be missed are the cooking lessons and the Thai dancing during a perfectly prepared dinner in the excellent restaurant. This is world class luxury bar none!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at Mandarin oriental for 6 nights for the 3d time. It is more than 10 years since last time.
I stayed at the Penisula recently and I will try to compare the two hotels.
The service at Mandarin Oriental is exceptional. The anticipate my wishes and really do their uotmost to help me. They are very friendly.The butler at our floor did his outmost to help us connect the computor (mac) to the TV, and finally he succeded. Many would have given up, but he did not. I had my birthday during the stay and they knew and brought me a cake for celebration.
The Penisula is newer, no butler, less staff. Even if Oriental is older, You do not really notice as things are very well kept. Breakfast was more plentiful at the Peninsula.
Both hotels are excellent, Penisula for a more modern hotel Oriental for more and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. I think river view is preferrable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Eric060

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. It is indeed delightful to read that you enjoyed the exceptional butler service and the breakfast along the River of Kings.
We look forward to welcoming you for your fourth visit.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel used to be rated the best hotel in the world however we are now very far from it... I used to enjoy staying there but will surely not return anymore, as Bangkok has other much better great hotels.
The service is not friendly and inefficient. The breakfast buffet is very poor, not fit for a 5 star hotel. Impossible to get a fresh crispy bread roll. Cheeses are leftovers.
The famous Lord Jim restaurant is run by an incompetent unfriendly manager.
The only good restaurant in this hotel is the Normandie which is a stark contrast to the other restaurants.
I would surely not recommend this hotel to anyone expecting a 5star service or facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.