We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5* stay with just one surprising bad note” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #2 of 752 hotels in Bangkok
London, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A 5* stay with just one surprising bad note”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have often dined at the MO on our frequent visits to Bangkok but, for some odd reason, had never stayed there until now. Apart from one jarring experience - of which more later - this remains an excellent hotel and the staff continue to be a credit to the organisation, reflecting the extensive training given.

Check-in was a delight and accomplished very quickly, being completed in our room. We had a superior room and it was fine: all the glass sparkled, the chrome gleamed and the wooden floor had a deep sheen. Standards of furnishing are high and everything worked perfectly. Naturally, the bed was very comfortable, but not quite as soft as we expected. I think that MO still has the temerity to charge for wifi (in this day and age?) but this did not affect us as we had 3G connection for local use. The floor butler was very helpful, the daily fruit left in the room was perfectly ripe and we received 2 newspapers every day (Bangkok Post and IHT). Housekeeping standard was excellent and my husband's dress shoes were whisked away and polished without him having to ask. Even the corridors are impeccable, dressed with perfect orchids. There is this indefinable atmosphere of everything being under control at all times and that takes a lot of hard work to accomplish.

Pool area: very nice with attentive staff bringing iced water regularly and delightful small food offerings during the day. One point: it may be one of the most expensive hotels in the city, but it is not immune from sunbed reservers. We observed one guest who, for all the days we were there, reserved both a poolside cabana and a pair of beds in the sun - and was rarely in residence at either!

Dining: we dined at the Verandah, Thai and Lord Jim restaurants. The first 2 were excellent but dinner at Lord Jim was a sad disappointment (see our separate reviews for all three restaurants).

Overall, the MO remains a yardstick for the hospitality industry, which makes our experience at Lord Jim all the more surprising. Everyone should experience the MO at least once, preferably more...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sue 14

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am please to know how much you enjoyed your time at ‘La Grande Dame’. I have taken note of your comments regarding Lord Jim’s and will review this in detail with our culinary team. My apologies for the inconsistency and rest assured we will follow up on this.

Overall, it seems you particularly enjoyed the service levels and personal recognition during your stay. I have shared your comments with our team and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback regarding the ambiance, housekeeping, and butler service. Please let me know when your plans bring you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ as I would be delighted to assist to make your future visits even more fabulous.

Warmest personal regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,749
    231
    63
    26
    18
See reviews for
337
957
168
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived at the Mandarin full of Great Expaectations, and we were not dissapointed. It way surpassed all we thought it would be. All we can say is enjoy the ambience and splendour of this great Hotel and the Service you will receive. Afternoon tea is a must. From arriving to leaving you will enjoy every minute.We don't want to say any more and spoil any surprisesjust go and relax in a wonderful environmont.
Jean and Alan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Wingrove42

Thank you very much for posting a fabulous review regarding your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that our team consistently exceeded your expectations and you really enjoyed the ambiance and splendor of ‘La Grande Dame’.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok is the ideal hotel based on its location (on the Chao Praya River), proximity to shopping and touring of this city, and the overall experience of being in a legendary perfect hotel. From the very start of one's stay this hotel embodies style and attention to service. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, the lobby while not as enormous as others of its price point is elegant and the perfect location to watch the comings and goings of its clientele. The pool is lovely and attendance by its staff to guests needs is complete, but never cloying. The shopping arcade contains numerous boutique-sized shops with gifts that encompass every need and at every price from the most modest to high end exquisite clothing, antiques and jewels. Service in each room is attentive, every floor has its own butler service. Views of the river make a stay at the Mandarin Oriental a wonderful experience. The hotel has several river boats to convey its client to the spa across the river or to shopping and tourist sites. A fleet of BMW limousines is available. Concierge service is exemplary. Dining at any of the on-site restaurants is as good as it gets, not to be missed is "Le Normandie" a lovely French restaurant that rivals the best in France or Quebec. Overall this hotel experience gives rise to the high rating this hotel has enjoyed and continues to be enjoyed under the management of Ms Amanda Hyndman.

Room Tip: Views of the river as you turn right off the elevator in the main tower are certainly favoured, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Canadvisitor

Dear Tams888, Thank you for posting your holiday experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to read your appreciation of the hotel’s elegance, the unique riverside ambiance, the culinary delights and the warm hospitality and professionalism of our team who made your stay special.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to “La Grande Dame” in the very near future.

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is definitely one of class, with beautiful grounds and a an exquisite restaurant. It is right on the river and also has a free boat that will take you on a cruise up & down the river to see the sights. The buffet dinner served on the riverside patio is absolutely fantastic. They have, among many other choices, prime rib and other hand carved meats, complete salad & sushi bar, and a various selection of just about everyting you can think of in the food line. A must do, at least for an evening meal. Very romantic and during the Christmas season the lights are amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear TheBoatBums

Thank you very much for your recent review and for highlighting your culinary experiences, and Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok’s exceptional ambiance. We look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” for another wonderful and exquisite stay.

Kind regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

All of the top reviews of the Oriental Bangkok are spot on - you need to come to this place to appreciate it. The colonial charm, the views, the wonderful cuisine, the service, the riverside setting, the amazing rooms, being pampered with little treats, all contribute for an unforgettable experience. Right from the moment you arrive, you are treated like you are the only guest and nothing is too much trouble. They really go all out to make sure that their guests are happy and comfortable by anticipating every need. Other hotels could learn a lot from them.

My favorite things about The Oriental:
1. The service. They really look after you. There so many staff and all so helpful, smiling and welcoming. Butler Service was the best we've ever had
2. The suites. Clean, classic with all the modern technological requirements. They have balconies and the views are just unbelievable.
3. Breakfast along the river. Fantastic ambiance, large selection, exceptional quality food. There is no better way to start your day watching the river flow, and indulging in the Oriental delicacies.
4. The whole hotel is exceptionally clean and well decorated. The valentines lobby flower design was major highlight and it seems to attract a lot of interest.
5. Ciao, we were lucky to be there during the re-opening of Ciao and one of the very first guests to experience this super fine Italian dining restaurant. The New Ciao has a lifestyle feel to it while keeping an elegant and classical touch. The bar is just superb and attracts a nice eclectic crowd, the food was very good as well, we loved the northern Italian touch to the menu and the home made tiramisu (which is served from a large blow) – the best ever!

We were really glad that we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental, as it’s centrally located, yet distant enough from Bangkok’s congested areas.

During our trip we visit some of the new Oriental ‘wannabes’ in Bangkok. Well, they can try, but there will always be ONE Mandarin Oriental ... this place will always be our home in Bangkok! - Book today, you will have a holiday of a lifetime. Thanks to the Mandarin Oriental team for a lovely and unforgettable week!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Bsevag

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated the colonial charm, the views, the wonderful cuisine, the service and the riverside ambiance during your stay at “La Grande Dame”. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our newly opened Italian Restaurant Ciao, and the warm hospitality offered by our passionate colleagues. Thank you as well for considering us as the ultimate destination in Bangkok.

Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another magnificent experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Warmest personal regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This extraordinary hotel is the proverbial graceful duck swimming along the pond... everything happens behind the scenes and the face to the guests is serene, calm and professional in the extreme. This hotel should be the blueprint for all 5 star hotels around the world. The staff are nothing short of amazing and unlike some other hotels around the world the staff here are genuinely caring about every aspect of your stay. From arrival to checkout nothing is too much trouble and in fact I rarely have to ask for something as the amazing group of long term, dedicated people who are the staff at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok seem to have the ability to anticipate your every need! From the moment I check out of this hotel I plan my return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear McKJewel

Thank you very much for posting an outstanding review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful time during your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, and that our team managed to consistently exceed your expectations and anticipate your needs. I have shared your comments with our team and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback on service.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I first must say I did not stay at the Mandarin Oriental, I attended a 3-day conference this week but since I live in Bangkok I went home every evening. I must say, that this hotel is has class. From the service you notice once you get out of the car, to the ammenities, to the food, what a great hotel. When I leave Bangkok and travel back, this is where I will stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.