We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #2 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 2,313 Reviews
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This Hotel has it all. Rated amongst the top 10 of all Hotels in the world numerous times. The service is second to none. The selection of restaurants and bars is awesome. The Mandarin Hotel is close to the centre on Bangkok and right near the train station. The Hotel has very friendly polite and professional staff. It is situated directly on the river and provides boats for sightseeing or transport. All the amenities are first class, including a massive health spa or day retreat across the river where there are tennis courts spas saunas gyms and even more dining options. I recommend this hotel very highly

Room Tip: All the rooms are good in this hotel, you can over look the pool as well as the river or you could g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    256
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
374
1,057
188
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Well, what can I add? The Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok is truly the best hotel in the world. The pampering spoils one for normal life - yet it does not make one feel stuffy in the least.

Breakfast or lunch on the terrace with long-tail boats chugging down river in the background take you in to another world. The superb breakfast offering everything under the sun (except that you enjoy delightful shade in this hot climate). Service that whisks away used plates the moment they are finished; tea poured as soon as the cup is empty.

When entering the elevator to the floor of your room, the charming person positioned to do so, watches in the elevator mirror to see which floor you habitually go to and presses the button for you before you ask if he has done so before.

More than meets expectations. Truly a leading hotel of the world. I would spend the rest of my life there if I could afford it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Shelley H

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent visit to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. Thank you for your review and for mentioning the hospitality and caring service provided by our compassionate team. I am glad we were able to make you feel at home and make your stay so memorable.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best wishes
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Simply one of the best hotels in the world. Incredible attention to detail and glorious luxury for a very reasonable price. We spent the last night of our honeymoon here and it did not disappoint. Using the hotel's own ferry service to go to dinner at the hotel's Thai restaurant I felt like James Bond. The hotel perfectly combines old world romanticism with modern luxury. A Thai mojito at the Bamboo Bar with its own band is highly recommended. So too the wonderful afternoon in the beautiful Author's Lounge.The only tiny criticism is that I was surprised WIFI wasn't included in the price. But with such a wonderful experience at this palace of a hotel I feel ashamed to mention it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok for your recent honeymoon. I am happy to read about how much you enjoyed our outstanding restaurants, and in particular, the dining experience at Sala Rim Naam, set against the backdrop of one of the most famous locations in the world. I will certainly share your kind words with all our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary.

With best wishes,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Have been visiting for thirty years . Every time it's like returning home. There maybe more modern design hotels....but if you want to be treated like a king and queen and be made to feel as the most special people in the world . This is where to stay.
Attention to very detail by the most efficient and charming staff.. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
Housekeeping is the best you can get . You return to find your clothes folded and toiletries put in a tidy way.
Dining in every restaurant is a total experience and food served at its very best.
Situated on the river so there is always something happening.
Just been for the light festival. The most beautiful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are a pleasure .. Depends on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and location is good. We spent just 2 nights but we got a great experience eventhough the price is a bit expensive. However if you want a good service with all what you need, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have been there some years ago with big expectations as this hotel is considered one of the best in the world. Well, didn't get disasspointed, as what we found was more than we expected.
Once you enter the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok, you feel very welcome, everyone seems go out of himself to make your stay memorable. Surely one of the best service I had during my stays around the world.
Thank you very much !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the moment you walk in, you feel the care and attention the staff pay to every aspect of your visit. Setting the staff here aside from other luxury locations in Asia is not just the abundence of staff, but their competence and proactivity - anticipating your next desire, and always ready to help. We had a conference there for a week and were very well looked after.
The rooms - whilst they look old wordly; as opposed to other established historic hotels of similar grandeur, it has been well kept up to date with all the bells and whistles you'd expect from a brand new build.
The breakfast by the river was extensive and fantastic, albeit pretty warm! The other restaurants were fantastic - and there were so many places to eat and drink we barely touched the surface.
A quick boat trip across the river takes you to the gym and spa - the gym is really well equipped and of course you get the headphones, towel and cold water before your workout then a cold shot of juice and cold towel after - it really is amazing.
The overall location is really convenient - either walk to shops, take a taxi to Silom road or even take a boat to the main terminal. And being on the river, the views from much of the hotel is fantastic by day and night.
There's so much competition among great hotel - and money stretches so far in Thailand - however for $400 or so a night it's hard to beat The Mandarin Oriental when you want to revel in the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear travj1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated your time at “La Grande Dame”. I am pleased that you enjoyed the culinary delights at the hotel, and the caring hospitality offered by our passionate team, resulting in memorable experiences being created for our guests.

Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at “La Grande Dame”.

Sincerely,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.