We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give more than 5 stars? This establishment is 10 out of 5.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #2 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 2,313 Reviews
Sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Can I give more than 5 stars? This establishment is 10 out of 5.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The first sign of a really classy establishment is when you are not treated differently if you are staying with a gift voucher. The second is if they remember your last stay with a hotel within their group, even if that was literally decades ago. And the third is when you have a long list of things you want to do in the city in which you are staying, but you find any excuse not to actually leave the hotel grounds!

Such was our recent experience at the quite-divine Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

I had purchased a 3-night stay through a charity auction (already a good sign, that the property ‘cares’ for things outside its own profits) and negotiated an upgrade to the next room type for a very reasonable fee. The upgrade was to a ‘Deluxe’ room which had fantastic river views. The room was compact but luxurious in its furnishings and detailing, and featured quite lovely details.

Most impressively, though, Deluxe rooms also have butlers which look after guests on each floor, sometimes to an almost over-the-top extent. When, for instance, we failed to put out any shoes for them to have polished, they just helped themselves and polished the shoes anyway, returning them in a gorgeous little shoe bag. When we needed an extension cord we got one instantly – with a power board attached! When we struggled with our DVD player, someone was there in an instant to fix it.

A new fresh fruit type featured as a gift after each day’s room servicing, with a little card explaining the fruit’s name/qualities/origins. On one day we had a large tray of delicious mangosteens, which was quite a treat indeed.

Housekeeping was personalised, as well. On the first day, they brought a little tray on which they arranged my bedside bits-and-pieces (previously spread all over the table top by me). Ditto our bathroom bits – they were arranged (hysterically, in order of height!) on a linen cloth on the basin by housekeeping.

Given the property’s history of housing writers and authors over the decades, turndown service included little inspirational quotes from famous writers, all of which related to ‘sleep’. Cute.
These personalised touches continued at public areas such as the pool, where iced water, fresh fruit and dry towels kept coming … as well as little nibblies and snacks – all gratis.
Speaking of the pool … there are in fact two pool areas, one which is a good size but has no view of the river, and another which is basically a small plunge pool/water feature surrounded by luxurious cabanas in which I could easily waste away an entire day, and which have fantastic river views.

On our last day in Bangkok before heading home to work, we thought we’d splurge on pool-service lunch (in a cabana, of course!). We had the most exquisite lobster salad (there must have been an entire lobster on my plate!) and a crab salad sandwich on squid-ink-infused bread, at a ridiculously reasonable price of around $30 for the lot, but what was even more amazing is that it came with a complimentary basket of assorted breads, linen napkins, elegant salt and pepper shakers ...

Guests have a choice of a la carte breakfast in the air conditioned restaurant, or buffet al fresco. I strongly recommend the latter, as tables are right on the riverside, with cool breezes and a sumptuous selection of all manner of fresh fruit, cold cuts and hot food on offer. They make a mean cappuccino (my husband is a very harsh judge of bad coffee and he was thrilled with their offerings) and have just about any tea you could desire for the rest of us. Multiple chefs are happy to produce breakfasts to order, and there is even a basket of stale bread which guests can use to feed the absolutely huge catfish who hover around the restaurant, awaiting their treats. Hint: this is a great way to keep your children amused while you linger with your breakfast and enjoy the view and the breeze.

We were invited by management to a sumptuous cocktail party on our last evening, which was held in the historical Author’s Lounge – all very Rudyard Kipling! Every level of management seemed to be there, asking questions, engaging with guests, ensuring everyone was happy with their stay, and serving up lovely snacks and drinks, including a signature cocktail which was just wonderful. Service really doesn’t/can’t get any more personal than this! We even got a ‘happy snap’ taken which was delivered the next day in a commemorative frame, so that we could remember the evening.

Additional nice touches: shuttle ferries (restored teak barges) to take you to the BTS (Sky Train) station, to the nearby shopping centre, and across the river to their award-winning Thai restaurant and the spa.

In short, this has completely destroyed my 10-year-old “best places to stay in Bangkok” list. There is no more list: there is just the Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to at least 'Deluxe' so you can maximise your enjoyment of the river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    256
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
374
1,057
188
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here a few days a year for the past 22 years. Every time I arrive I'm a little afraid. Afraid it can't be so good, afraid they will have cut done on service, BUT every time they deliver !. This is the bench mark for hotels around the world. Believe me we have tried so many, and nothing is as outstanding as this. Why ? Well it's simply called service, something which is disappearing in our modern life. If you're looking just for fancy rooms and iPod docking stations, then you will wonder what's so great about this place. If you want serivce you will love it. Oh how I enjoy a quiet breakfast over looking the river, being served instead of running up and down to a buffet every 2 minutes.
Everything is top quality, the food ( which hotel has their own made tea bags !), the linen, the beds, and the deepest bath tubs I've ever seen in a hotel (complete with bath salts)
The longer you stay the better it gets. The staff then know your ways, know when to turn down a room, no when not to ring the door, know which pillow you need.
After a day, they will know your name, hand you the key, and the lift boy will automatically press the correct floor...
Most so called 5* hotels should send their staff here, ( especially Europe and North America) maybe they could learn something about service. They all have the "hardware", it's the "software" that makes the difference.
Long may The Oriental set the standard for 5 star hotels.
Oh just one negative thing... A FEW OF The GUESTS, especially the gentlemen, surely a bit of an effort with the clothes !! Jeans /shorts and trainers aren't really smart casual !

Room Tip: Pay more and choose a beautiful suite if you can !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed at Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok for 2 nights and thought I'd died and gone to heaven! The staff were world class and rooms are heaven comfort. Entertaining staff on elevators who managed to remember your floor level. Breathe
Taking views across the river with free shuttle boat service. Loved every minute of being here and wouldn't hesitate staying again.

Room Tip: Every room is world class
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Decoration looks like your grandmothers house but the service is impeccable. A must for those looking for a little luxury

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrineholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Service , food, location, everything great. Don't forget the Spa. But last use their service of transport if you are leaving on a int flight.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I hadn't stayed at the Oriental in over 10 years as the recession took its bite out of our travel budget, but we decided to splurge for a couple of nights prior to a sailing trip off Phuket.

I emailed the hotel directly and asked if they would be able to give us a discounted room as we had sometimes received in the past, and they offered us a good rate, considerably below the hotel website or Expedia etc. rates. In addition, they included daily buffet breakfast, plus dinner one night in two of their "lower" end restaurants. Even more, a 90 minute Signature spa treatment and free wi-fi were added to the pot. Not sure if this deal was because we had been guests previously, or because the Thai tourist economy is still suffering, but we were most happy to accept.

After our long flights, we did very little outside the Hotel for the two days we were there and found the service, accommodations and amenities to be of the highest standard. Our room was on the 11th floor in the main building and was reasonably spacious and extremely comfortable. Super comfortable bed with lovely linens, good lighting at bedside, and also over the desk, which was wired for computer access, as well as for charging other electronics. I couldn't get the bedside CD player to work, which was a little annoying, especially as the selection of CDs provided was very appealing. Mini-bar and TV with all the usual international channels, as well as local.

Bathroom had two sinks, plus a separate shower and toilet area, as well as a full bath. Lots of good quality toiletries, including detergent, sewing kit, nail kit etc. Plenty of towels of various sizes and high quality. The robes used to be of a mid-weight cotton, but this time were of a silky brown fabric - not to my taste. The lighting was good and adjustable.

Plenty of storage for clothing and shoes, with slippers provided to wear in the room. Hangers were real hangers with hooks, and plenty of them in various styles. In room safe and a cubby hole accessible from the corridor to place shoes for cleaning and also receive the free newspapers every morning. And of course a lovely view of the Chao Praya river.

The fitness center across the river has been expanded and has a wide range of equipment (treadmills, StairMasters etc.) as well as an amazing array of both free and fixed weights. There is a trainer available most times to assist and explain equipment, as well as do what looked like very painful manipulations. There is also a yoga room for classes several days a week. The water and towel are welcome, as is the iced towel and cold drink following one's workout. The spa is also across the river and offers a variety of massages, facials etc. My massage was excellent, and combined Thai treatment with more traditional massage. The large treatment room I was in was almost as large as our room, and had a steam shower, wash basin, wardrobe and a comfy chair in which to sip the green tea offered afterwards.

We breakfasted at the Terrace buffet, which was extensive and international. Asian, American, European options were all available, including a wonderful selection of fresh juices and, according to my husband, excellent coffee. And of course plenty of willing staff to explain dishes and keep drinks topped up. The Verandah Cafe was a good alternative for pre-7:00 am breakfast and for lunch, with good Thai and non-Asian choices on the menu.

We enjoyed spending time in the Bamboo Bar, which plays good jazz in the evening and has tables outside for people-watching pre-dinner. Excellent attentive and pleasant service here as well - it's always good to be remembered the next day. There are now two pools at the hotel and we enjoyed just relaxing and reading and swimming at the larger, older one. Pool staff were attentive and provided iced water at regular intervals, as well as other beverages or food from the menu.

Service overall was impeccable - the floor butlers are amazing, the young man who directs you to the next elevator in the lobby is always smiling, and restaurant and bar staff most attentive. One of our days there was the Songkran New Year holiday, and the staff seemed to relax a little and open up - a very pleasant insight.

Since we were travelling separately, we did not use the hotel's airport limo service as it is pretty pricey, and we found the taxi rates variable, to put it politely. The airport run ranged from 7,000 baht (I gave him 5,000), through 4,000 (and the driver got lost) down to 2,500 off the meter. Buyer beware and make sure the meter is running and the driver knows where he's going!

A great respite from busy Bangkok and a terrific way to manage jet lag. We'll return, even without the great deal.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Good place and location. Luxury hotel with all the usual trappings, which in Asia includes plenty of staff. Most of them are delightul and engage with a ready smile as typified by all at reception. However, step into a restaurant or go to the pool and the staff appeared detached and despondent. Maybe it was the heat but it was certainly something that jarred during our stay.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue,Charoenkrung, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.