We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Montien Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Montien Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Montien Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Bangkholaem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

It is little wonder that this hotel is almost empty.
Maybe once grand, now tired, bad location out of the way, inconvenient location, long distance from airport and very non adaptable attitide to guest requests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    156
    64
    15
    14
See reviews for
55
135
31
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had 3 fantastic days here. The hotel is really nice and sits on the river a little away from the centre area but that should not put you off unless all you want to do is go to the bars in the centre area. The temples and grand palace are really easy to get to using taxis (about 100 bhat). The hotel runs a free shuttle to Asiatique (10 to 15 mins away) and it is full of shops, restaurants and stalls. Well worth going to! The staff at the hotel were great and the concierge arranged for us to have a nice private taxi to take us to the river market and river kwai for 3000bhat (£60/$90 for all day). It was great that we could do what we wanted at our pace and the taxi driver was completely happy to stay as long as we wanted. Drinks a touch pricey in the lobby bar but not outrageous. There are not a lot of restaurants or bars within walking distance but we used the shuttle to go to asiatique. We loved the hotel and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Munich
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was booked in at the Montien Riverside and hoped for a better stay than I had last time. Unfortunately, it was even worse. The room I was given was really dated and far from being clean. The room maid must have had a bad day. Stains on the carpet, missing towels, dirt in the bathtub. Plus an old tv set with a very limited choice of channels. Disappointing. Their Montien Dinner Ship was not on duty. Not enough guests they said. I start wondering if it's just for decoration. Next morning the next letdown at the buffet breakfast. Many items were gone and no more replenished although there was almost one more hour left for breakfast. Some staff struggle with English therefore it's not always easy to communicate. Worst of all is the way the hotel treats your personal data. They send you unwanted emails and make it impossible to unsubscribe. Even worse than that: with the unsubscribe link comes the full amount of other people's personal data. I have tried everything in the last few weeks to get my name and personal address off their mailing list. Emails to the PR department, to the general manager. At least five times. They have never ever replied to any of my emails. Instead they keep spamming my mailbox and happily send other customers' full contact details (and of course my own one) around the world. Never ever I have stayed in a hotel displaying such a degree of indifference and total absence of interest in customer care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stopped here for 3 nights on our honeymoon.

The hotel itself cannot be faulted! The staff were great, food was good and the rooms and facilities were all good too!

Only observation would be that it is a fair distance up the river so you will have to take taxis to get around. They are relatively cheap tho so not an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ok hotel with a beautiful view of the river as well as nice restaurants (e.g. Sai Chol on the ground floor that serves really good thai food at affordable prices).
Very large hotel, a bit worn down and the main focus seems to be on conferences and parties. Quite bad location for visiting Bangkok - takes some transportation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked the Montien for our 4 day trip to Bangkok in June. We arrived in Bangkok very early in the morning, but on arrival to the hotel, were delighted that not only was our room ready, but that we had been upgraded. Our room was a corner suite on the 20th floor, so it was spacious and had wonderful views over the river and city.
The hotel was very quiet during our stay - so quiet in fact that when we had dinner the first evening (we were jet lagged and didn't fancy venturing far), we were the only two people in the restaurant!
The food at the hotel was very good. The breakfast buffet in-particular was fantastic. A great variety of international food, which was delicious.
We used the pool a couple of times - its a great size and lovely to swim in.
Bad points to share - the hotel does look very tired, which is a shame as in its hey day I'm sure it would have been grand and beautiful. Don't let this put you off though - the rooms are clean, the food is good and the air-con works perfectly. We did get ripped off on our last day. We were waiting for our transfer, so decided to grab a quick bite to eat from the café style restaurant. We were not given a choice on menu, but were told to use the buffet that was available. We had a small plate of food each and got charged an astronomical sum for a full buffet lunch which we hadn't asked for. That was rather annoying!
On a final note, please do not be put off by the location. Yes, it is a little out of it, but it cost us no more than 100 baht (just over £2) to drive into the city or to the river taxis. It is very easy to get around and the area itself is very safe.

Room Tip: The higher the better, in order that you get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, beautiful hotel very clean. Food from the on site restaurants is wonderful. Only downside is it is not near shopping and city center. Free shuttle nightly to asiatique market was great though!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montien Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien Riverside Hotel

Address: 372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Bangkholaem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montien Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montien Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien Riverside Bangkok
Hotel Montien Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montien Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.