We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montien Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Montien Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Montien Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Bangkholaem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had the luck to get upgraded to a corner room - which was a very luxurious suite, almost bigger than our own house back home!
It's a nice hotel, quiet, a bit outside the busiest part of town, but a taxi will take you downtown for 75 bath.
Breakfast was really great too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    154
    64
    15
    14
See reviews for
55
134
31
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We specifically booked this hotel because it was away from the hustle of midtown Bangkok, and it proved to be just that,it was not noisy and was a tucked away from the bustling city centre, the free shuttle to Asiatique and the sister hotel proves worthwhile as you can use this to get to the Skytrain station from where travel around the city is a breeze.Only challenge might be getting back at nights when you need to negotiate with Taxi drivers to get you back to teh hotel from the station.Overall the hotel is decent and accomodates quite well for various amenities, breakfast was good and an overall good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Montien Riverside hotel for 1 night in December. The rooms were average.. and CRT TV still graces the room. Hotel is about 45 km from airport and about 10 km away from main Sukhmvit area.

We paid about 450 bhat for taxi from airport to the hotel.

There are no restaurants which are close by - walking distance. You have to take TUKTUK or taxi to Siam area to eat food late in the night.

Check in and check out was easy.

Morning breakfast buffet was okay. Not much options for vegetarians .. but otherwise standard buffet. Nothing special.

Room Tip: As for riverside view only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Located in the outskirts of BKK city u can say but still well within approach ... indra square is just 80 THB from here in a cab .. Moving all beautiful ambience of the reception .. nice lifts. good clean rooms and look over at the river is just awsome :) .. Breakfast is tasty with lots of options to have ... Friendly staff ... A very pleasant stay here.. :))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Knowing of the great reputation of the Montien hotels elsewhere in Thailand we booked a five night stay at the Montien Riverside Hotel in Bangkok. This hotel is located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River in the south western district of Bangkok. Located in the hotel grounds is a shopping arcade.

The room was spacious and clean in conformity with other hotels in the Montien group. A complimentary bowl of fruit was provided and fresh flowers decorated the room. Amenities in the bathroom were adequate. Our room had a view of the river. In terms of the physical attributes of the hotel it could not be faulted.

Our experience with the staff was totally disappointing. When we arrived the bell boy insisted he take our luggage from the taxi to the check in desk. Imagine our surprise to find that we were one bag short. We discovered that it had been left unattended outside the hotel. When we pointed this out it was recovered but the staff made no apology for this lapse of service.

Check in was a long drawn out affair. We started the check in process at the reception desk and then told it must be completed with the guest relations officer who was not available "just now" and would we mind waiting. When finally she was available the check in process was continually interrupted by the guest relations officer receiving several telephone calls which she had to attend to. 45 minutes after arriving at the hotel we still had not completed the check in procedure and this with no other people attempting to check in or out.

The hotel prides itself on its Montienthip - a converted rice barge which suposedly has dinner cruises from 7.30 pm to 10.00 pm. We tried to book for the cruise that night but I was told very firmly that they only took bookings for a minimum of four people. We were only two and suggested that maybe another couple might want to book.The response was that they only take bookings for four people and they would not accept our booking for two. Consequently we had dinner in The Cafe in the hotel. We were amazed at the high prices charged for food. Two main course of simple Asian food and one beer cost around the 950 Baht level. A bottle of water from the in room fridge cost 100 Baht. A bit over the top and verging on price gouging don't you think.

Breakfast at The Cafe was nothing special. The food was just adequate with Asian and Western cuisine available. But again the staff seemed bored with their work and gave the impression that the guests were a nuisance. Well before breakfast was due to end the staff started setting up the restaurant for normal use and started clearing away the food. Our request to leave some items for us was again met with a lack of interest even though it was more than 30 minutes to go before breakfast ended.

The location of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. There are no restaurants or bars within walking distance of the hotel nor is there easy access to a Skytrain station or MRT. A taxi is needed to access any of these venues and they are not cheap so factor this into your cost of stay. The hotel is apparently aware of its poor location and offers a free shuttle bus service every two hours from 9.30 am to 9.30 pm to the Montien Surawongse - a much better located hotel and a better hotel than the Riverside in every respect - and the relatively new entertainment and shopping development of Asiatique The Riverfront from 5.00 pm until 11.00 pm.

Our experience at the hotel was disappointing primarily because of the poor attitude of the staff which is not in keeping with the other two Montien hotels. The poor location did not help. Although we had booked for five nights we checked out after the first night. For the price paid there are many hotels in Bangkok superior to the Montien Riverside.

Would we stay there again? No!

Room Tip: Look at its sister hotel, The Montien Surawongse. A much better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear crocnsw,

Thank you for your comments on our facilities and services after your recent visit to our Montien Riverside Hotel.

We are glad to know that you were happy with the physical attributes of our hotel. However we do apologise for the slow check in process and some shortcoming in service that you had experienced.

We welcome the opportunity to meet up with you so that we can offer you some courtesies on your next visit to Bangkok. You can contact me at gmriver@montien.com

Our food and beverages prices are in line with 4 or 5 star hotels in Bangkok. We also provide complimentary 3 bottles of drinking water which we place in the bathroom.

Our breakfast buffet is served daily from 6.30 a.m. till 10.00 a.m. and we would start preparing for our daily buffet lunch only after 10.00 a.m. Our daily buffet lunch is served from 11.30 a.m. till 2.30 p.m.

Although our hotel was built for corporate meetings and incentives, we have very attractive room packages in many well established websites for individual leisure and corporate guests who would like to avail themselves of a riverside location. Our hotel's location is just 10 minutes to the city and about 8 minutes to 2 entrance/exit to the expressways that enable our guest to access easily to any part of Bangkok.

As you have correctly mentioned, we provide regular complimentary bus shuttle service to our sister property, the Montien Hotel Bangkok in the city centre and another regular complimentary bus shuttle service to Asiatique the Riverfront, a new night shopping and entertainment area located just 10 minutes away from our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

ANDREW LOW
General Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I ben there with my husband and very impress for the location and services.
Room very clean and beautiful.
Great view. I will definatey recommend to my friends and family and will be return customer.
Food also great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked this hotel just a few day before departure. It was difficult to find at first, nevertheless, it was worthy, the hotel itself was nice and very well decorated. The staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming, especially the front desk staff. The room that we stayed in was clean and spacious with a fantastic view to the Chao-Phra-Ya river. Breakfast was great and plenty to choose from.
All-in-all, I will stay in this hotel for my next visit to Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montien Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien Riverside Hotel

Address: 372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Bangkholaem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montien Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montien Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien Riverside Bangkok
Hotel Montien Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montien Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.