We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - good service and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montien Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Montien Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Montien Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Bangkholaem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good - good service and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in June 12. This was really just a stop off before we went to one of the islands. I liked the location of the hotel as we were slightly out of the hussle and bussle which suits us!! - you do need to get Taxi's everywhere but as long as you get in a metered taxi they are pretty cheap. The hotel is about half hour away from the airport. we were room only so cant comment on breakfast. Drinks were expensive - a bottle of beer worked out about £6.00 and for Thialand thats expensive!! - service was very good , all staff were great - even the house keepers were very good!! The room was nice - overlooking the Choa Praya river as are all the rooms. I do think though the waste land at the side of the hotel could be cleaned up - but this is not the hotels fualt! At night the view over river is lovely!!!

I thought the hotel the staff and the rooms were very nice!! Not the kind of place i would want a two week holiday in but fantastic for what we anted it for!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    157
    64
    15
    14
See reviews for
55
136
31
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was a Pleasure staying in this hotel,Though its a little outside the city,but it was a worth staying in this hotel,All my request were accommodated , staff at the hotel were just too good and i did not had any prolems whats so ever during my stay, just loved it.........

RITESH AGARWAL
KOLKATA, INDIA

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter,"Corner suites are large and sunny,"Higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

A Lovely Hotel 10years ago,but needs updating badly...Old small tvs,the picture was so bad that you couldnt see it,was told sorry they would try to fix it,left 3days later,still the same!!! the view of the river is great esp at night,very pretty..Breakfast was good,large buffet with plenty of choice,it is a good hotel if you just want to relax and not in a hurry to go anywhere,the Bathroom was Huge with a large bath and a shower...But overall not a 5* Hotel and overpriced for what you get...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear pipersg,
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand

Many thanks for your recent stay and review on Montien Riverside Hotel.

It would be grateful if you could let us know what room number you had stayed in recently so that we can check it right away. We are proud of our self to be a Luxury Hotel by the river and maintain that for long time. Your kind comments on our property will even strive us to work harder and challenge us to satisfy all your needs.

Please do let us know when you decide to stay with us again in the future so that I will personally welcome you back to our hospitality. I will ensure that you would receive our best care and services that Montien Riverside hotel has to offer.

With warmest regards,
Soros Cruachao
E-Marketing Sales Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Munich
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

There's basically nothing wrong with the Montien Riverside. The location at the Chaopraya is pittoresque but yet pretty far away from everything. The reception area is large, welcoming and rather impressive. Check-in went fast, friendly and efficient. The rooms look a bit dated but are spacious and clean with a nice panoramic view over the river.
So why only three stars?
The Montien Riverside promotes itself as a five star luxury hotel. Given it's your first stay in a Bangkok 5* hotel you might be happy. Having been to many others you'll soon find out that the Montien promises far more than it can keep.
Here is what I didn't like:
- The hotel doesn't have a shuttle boat to the central pier. So far every single 5* hotel on my list being located at the Chaopraya had one. Since there's only a minibus shuttle to their sister hotel and a shopping mall you need taxis very frequently. It's not so much about the cost but more about losing time. The trip to central pier through Bangkok's crazy traffic took us almost one hour.
- The Dinner Cruise ship which is widely advertised on their website, etc is out of order. I had contacted the reservation desk via email weeks in advance. Back came a list of lame excuses and answers to questions I didn't ask. So right after check-in I made a reservation face to face. Again excuses. Like there's a minimum of passengers and so on. The lady at the front desk didn't even ask for my room number in case of further incoming requests. You find adverts all over the place announcing "daily departures". This is obviously not the case.
- The room comes with a small TV having the most limited choice of channels (some 8 or 9) I've ever come across in a decent hotel. No movie channel, no HBO, no sports channels. Disappointing.
- The minibar. Yes, I know, prices rise with the number of stars. But 110 baht for a small bottle of soda water? Come on. 45 baht for the same bottle is the price at BKK airport. 25 baht at the 7/11. And we're not talking French or Italian table water. By the way, 110 baht is 2,75€ or 3,40 US$.
- The opener. Once you've treated yourself to the luxury of a small botttle of Thai soda water the race for the opener is started. In the minibar? On, under, next to it? In, on, under the desk? In a drawer? Nope. Let's call the receptionist. In the bathroom? Why the heck...? But again, no opener. Second call to the reception. Finally a staff came up to the room and pointed to a small metal item detached to the wall next to the toilet and under the hair dryer. How crazy is that?
- Mentioning the hair dryer - it didn't work.
- Service. After check-in we wanted to have a drink outside, enjoying the great weather and atmosphere at the river. Sorry, Sir, no staff outside, only after 6pm. So we came back at 7 pm just to find the complete outdoor sitting area being closed. Nobody there. The first staff we encountered on our way back inside didn't speak a single word of English.
- And finally: after all the letdowns I wanted to check my emails. There is wifi available at the hotel. But they'll charge you the ridiculous amount of 400 baht for 60 minutes. 400 baht is 10€ or 12,40 US$ - and they have the cheek to call that a "service". Call it a ripp off and we're getting close.
Bottom line:
No, Mr Soros Cruachao, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, answering the TA reviews. I will definitely not come to stay with you again. Not that I was totally unhappy with your place. Breakfast was nice for example. But there are simply far too many really classy 5* hotels in Bangkok that offer a unique, outstanding and after all reliable service. And don't tell me the low-season tale. What you charged me was pretty much high season.
By the way, we finally ended up in the Hilton Millenium that night, having a drink by the river and watching the other 5* hotel shuttle boats and dinner cruises pass by.

Room Tip: The more expensive corner room is not worth the extra money. The second window only provides a sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, General Manager at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Chris_and_friend,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and that you found our check-in fast, friendly and efficient.
We would now like to explain our position with regards to the other comments that you have about our hotel.

Yes we have a minibus shuttle to our sister property, the Montien Hotel on Surawongse road, which is located in the city centre and the route allows our guest to choose if they would like to visit a large shopping mall nearby, called Central Rama 3 or to alight at Surasak or Chong Nonsi skytrain stations. The Surasak skytrain station and Central Rama 3 are situated about 10 minutes from our Montien Riverside Hotel.
We also provide a minibus shuttle to a new night market and riverside restaurants venue called Asiatique - the Riverfront which is located about 10 minutes from our hotel.

When you stayed here our Montienthip Dinner Cruise was not out of order. It has comfortable sofa seating and is considered very private as it has only 28 seats. Therefore so as to make it economically viable we need a minimum of 4 persons before we would set sail for a dinner cruise. Our Guest Relations staff is aware of your room number when you made the request for information on the dinner cruise. All our guests who are booked on the website are checked in by our Guest Relations staff.

For your information, our minibar prices are in line with many 4 star hotels and lower than the prices charged at 5 star hotels in Bangkok.
Yes, our bottle opener is located in the bathroom like they do in quite a number of hotels in Bangkok. In our hotel it is located at the wash basin area.
We would like to add that all bookings made through the website will have rooms assigned by our Guest Relations staff and they will personally check these rooms before the guest check in. We wish to confirm that the hairdryer was working when the room was assigned for you.

We do not operate our food kiosk in the river terrace. However if guests would like to have drinks or food served in the river terrace then our service staff in the Saichol Thai restaurant, which is adjacent to the river terrace, would serve our guests. We apologise if the Saichol staff was not on hand to serve you when you returned to the river terrace at 7 pm that day.

As for our internet charge, we wish to clarify that our charges are also in line with most hotels in Bangkok. Like most 4 and 5 star hotels we have 3 floors of corporate rooms which we call Club C floors wherein the room charges are inclusive of interent use.

Thank you once again for your kind comments on our food and services and we hope that we have clarified our position on the other comments that you had and we look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Bangkok. Please contact me when you have decided on your next visit to Bangkok so that I can personally welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
ANDREW LOW
General Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

What Bangkok, the city stands for....wild, crazy and shopping heaven...this hotel stands little off track.

Huge....quite and by the river side.

Most of the rooms have a view of the river and looks stunning in the evening with the whole city lit up.

The night bazar....silom area is not far but with unbelievable traffic time is anybody's guess!!! 45 mins drive from the airport this hotel is little away from the centre of action and quite far from the siam business district.

Its well equipped with more than one option of restaurants, banquet halls, a decent size swimming pool and fully functional gym.

Rooms (standard) are basic. House Keeping is restricted only to making your beds. Safety box available in room. Air conditioning though works fine in the room but not to its best in the common area like lobby and some of the restaurants....and the weather in may can be quite unbearable!!!

Services in all the restaurants are fine except the coffee shop are okay. Food quality is also just okay (you might even find stale food)....

Will stay in the hotel again? not sure...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with odd nos facing the river side... particularly 07 (i stayed in 1707) and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, General Manager at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear auribuddy,
New Delhi

Thank you for your recent stay and review on the Montien Riverside Hotel.

The Montien Riverside Hotel, Bangkok, is well situated on the river on Rama 3 Road, and easily accessible to and from Bangkok's Suvarnabhumi International airport and the city centre via the expressways. There are two entrances/exits to the expressways about 10 minutes from our hotel. It takes about 45 minutes to get to our hotel from the airport and about 25 minutes to get to the city centre. In addition we provide free minibus shuttle service to our sister property, the Montien Hotel Bangkok, located on Surawongse Road, in the city centre and Central Rama 3 shopping centre and to the Surasak and Chong Nonsi skytrain stations. It takes about 10 minutes to get to Surasak skytrain station and Central Rama 3 shopping centre.

We also provide free minibus shuttle service to a new night market on the river called Asiatique-the Riverfront which is located about 10 minutes from our hotel.

All our guestrooms which start from 7 floor upwards are guaranteed river views. Our bedrooms are about 32 sq metres in size, with super single twin beds and large king sized double beds. We have satellite TV channels,International Direct Dial phone system and Wifi in all guestrooms . All our bathrooms have separate shower and bath tubs and fully equipped with bathroom amenities including the hair dryer.

Like most 4 star and 5 star hotels in Bangkok,we provide the complete Housekeeping service including making up the beds. We also provide an evening turn down service.

Our lobby area is covered by high glass panels and during the hot month of May, it can be a challenge to try to keep the coolness in our lobby. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We wish to confirm that we are very particular about food hygiene and we make sure that we do not serve stale food in any of our restaurants.

We thank you for your kind comments of our hotel. Kindly let us know when you have decided to visit Bangkok again so that we can personally welcome you back to our hotel.

Warmest regards,
ANDREW LOW
General Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby de la zouch
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Firstly the good, the hotel has great views over the river and from 20 odd floors up good views of the city. I don't know if the hotel is in the 'heart of the business district' as they claim but if so then it would be good bet and possibly worth considering at the right price.
We stayed for a three night stopover before travelling to the beach at Hua Hin and found the hotel comfortable with large rooms but overall a bit 'tired'. The gym and pool were ok but no guests were using them and the hotel grounds facing the river were a little neglected. The staff were quite attentive but needed to be prompted for more coffee but not taking plates away.
Two examples of the tired nature of the hotel were that the sink leaked in the bathroom, not seriously, and the air conditioning settings were guesswork. you set the thermostat to 25 and it was seriously cold set to 30 plus and it would get warm enough.
Perhaps we should have been located in the heart of Bangkok as to do anything involved a taxi or transfers. The hotel offer transfers to Asiatique (hourly) and their sister hotel (two-hourly) and a trip to Asiatique for food/shopping or just enjoying this new development is definitely worthwhile.

Room Tip: Only consider if the location is good for business
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear david h,

First of all, thank you for your recent stay and review on Montien Riverside Hotel.

We really appreciated your kind comment on the Food and Beverage feed back and of course it has taken on to the Director of Food and Beverage's attention and needful action. However, over all we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay while you were here with us.

Please let us know when you plan to come to stay with us again so that we can ensure you of our excellent services that Montien Riversdie Bangkok Hotel has to offer.

With warmest regards,
Soros Cruachao
E-Marketing Manager
Montien Riveriside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The good: We stayed twice in this hotel because was included in our Bangkok tour. The experience was really good. The breakfast that was included was great. The room were clean, large and the views were great. The staff provided great service and friendly. The hotel has a free shuttle service to central Bangkok. During the nights they have music at the lobby.

The bad: Location - far from central Bangkok. If you go to bed early (before 11:00pm), this hotel is for you. The free shuttle runs until 11:30pm that is nice, but you are in Bangkok. There is a lot of nightlife activities in Bangkok that we were returning to the hotel after 1:30am.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soros C, Director of Sales at Montien Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear JorgeRLuquis,

Thank you for your recent stay and review on Montien Riverside

We are pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay. However, we would bring your kind comment on our shuttle bus schedule to the attention of our hotel management.

We hope to have a privilege to welcoming you back to our warmest hospitality again so we can make sure you have the best service and care that Montien Riverside hotel has to offer.

Best regards,
Soros Cruachao
E-Marketing Sales Manager
Montien Riverside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montien Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montien Riverside Hotel

Address: 372 Rama III, Bang Khlo, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Bangkholaem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montien Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Montien Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montien Riverside Bangkok
Hotel Montien Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montien Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.