We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Bangkok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BelAire Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BelAire Bangkok to your Saves list
BelAire Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Good for Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Nice hotel, good room and bed with very friendly staff. The food at the restaurant is amazing, however a little expensive, I was very impressed with breakfast. Bathroom was average with a bath/shower, area is good but you get a lot of hassle from taxi and tuk tuk drivers on the street. I feel like this hotel is a solid 3 however I gave them a 4, because I have stayed in Bangkok half a dozen times and realize how hard it is to get good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Belaire Bangkok, we are delighted to read your comments.

Chef was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our culinary offerings at the restaurant together with an impressive choice at our breakfast buffet. Our pricing compared with hotels in the immediate locale is aligned. When compared with standalone establishments outwith the hotel, will certainly be priced differently.

Tuk Tuk and taxi drivers are on every street in Bangkok, is a way of life has its advantages over having to queue. Best to embrace the diversity and accept it for what it is

Thank you for recognizing that we delivered on our promise "good value" do contact me on gm@belairebangkok.com if you require assistance when planning your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    462
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
143
391
85
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Bel Aire again on our way down to the beach. Never a disappointment. The staff are attentive and very helpful, the rooms are comfy and clean and the buffet breakfast was great!
Fantastic location to the sky train and local attractions and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Jilly 101,

Thank you for your review, great to know that our hospitality put you in good stead for your onward journey to the beach.

The hosts appreciate your recognition of their efforts as they genuinely try hard to engage in making a guest stay comfortable and memorable. Chef enjoys knowing his breakfast choice is seen as being great.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Belaire Bangkok on your next visit and please contact me on gm@belairebangkok.com if you require my assistance.

Kind regards,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in executive floor with family. We got breakfast and lounge time in evenings. Hotel was first class, very good location for getting around Bangkok. Staff very attentive and rooms were kept spotless. In the evening we went to lounge for drinks before heading out, again very comfortable to sit and lovely staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear trishowles,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are all delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay.

Your hosts are genuinely interested in ensuring that guests time spent with us is enjoyable and memorable, so it is great to know that the entire family were delighted with their hospitality. I enjoyed our chat when we met at Club Tribeca.

Thank you for recommending us and for recognizing the hosts attentiveness.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and please contact me on gm@belairebangkok.com should you require my assistance.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel has a nice, modern lobby and a restaurant. The pool area is pleasant as well. But the room on the other hand is quite dull. The furniture looks a bit used and the bathroom needs modernizing, however the biggest disappointment was the bed. Not only was it extremely hard, but it lacked proper bedclothes as well. All you get is a blanket between two bed sheets. I would expect such a solution in a backpackers’ hostel, not in a 4-star hotel.

Another disadvantage is the wi-fi with its turtle speed. Sometimes it took 5 minutes to open the mailbox.

Despite the rooms and the Internet, the hotel has some strong points as well. Its biggest advantage is its wonderful staff. All the people working there (reception, restaurant, housekeeping) are incredibly kind and helpful. They are undoubtedly service minded and if it wasn’t for the room, I’d gladly come back here just for the way you are treated here.

The breakfast provided is good as well. It offers a selection of both Eastern and Western food and a vegetarian option.

The hotel is situated in a pretty convenient area, near to Nana BTS, 24/7 supermarket, and a market, though the market nearby can be rather tiring after some time.

Overall, the hotel is OK but could be so much better if the rooms were modernized and the beds changed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Kamisowa,

Thank you for your review via Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Belaire Bangkok.

We are most grateful for your constructive feedback concerning your accommodation and will certainly take your comments about the beds comfortableness into consideration when replacing. Our new duvets are being manufactured as I write with delivery expected next month.

Your comment on the wi-fi speed is a first, thanks for bringing to our attention.

Thank you for recognizing your hosts as they genuinely try hard to ensure they deliver a comfortable and memorable stay and it is extremely gratifying to read their efforts are observed.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Belaire Bangkok in the future.

Kind regards,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

It was my first time staying, but it was my mum's 2nd or 3rd.
After a little delay checking in, sometimes paying ahead through a travel agent can get messy, but once management had sorted it out we were off to our room. Lovely and absolutely massive hotel room.We of course used the safe, anyone who doesn't is a fool and I question whether they have every traveled before. Common sense people.
Staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Great pool and breakfast was ample. Great location also, you are absolutely right in amongst all the activity, so if you really want Bangkok city, this is the hotel to visit. Everything close by and walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Tash J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your first stay at Belaire Bangkok together with your Mum's either second or third, we are delighted to read your comments.

Great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities, amenities and your hosts were very hospitable. Certainly our fabulous location makes exploring the city a doddle and empowers guests to be independent of relying on taxis etc.

Please than your Mum for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. We got woken up by the maid knocking the door 1 time then letting herself in. We told the maid we did not need the room cleaned. So no need for her to come back?. I went for a swim with my children my wife went shopping. The maid let herself in the room while we were out, (this was confirmed with the card key reading) and helped herself to some money. The management disregarded this, and said we should of used the safe (fair enough). But we did ask for nobody to go in the room.! They handled this situation very unprofessional and made us feel very uncomfortable. I would not recommend this place. Rooms are shabby in a seedy location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments via TripAdvisor. Your circumstances while truly concerning and most unusual as possible theft incidents at Belaire Bangkok are virtually non-existent. That aside we extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused while trying to resolve the issue.

Our hosts are taught to be diligent when handling guests belongings, not to enter a guests accommodation without being invited (if occupied). On this occasion it appears a possible crack evolved in our system and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

In trying to recover the missing money (Stg 40 pounds) that apparently was left by the TV, we accompanied your wife to the police station to report the matter as the thought of a host possibly removing a guests belongings is taken very seriously hence the urgent action we took in working with you to resolve the issue.

The registration card upon check-in it states: Quote"Please keep your valuables locked in the in-room safe provided, free of charge. The management are not liable or accept responsibility for any loss of personal belongings" Unquote

Despite our genuine efforts to resolve the issue prior to your departure it is regrettable that you interpret our actions as being unsatisfactory. If our efforts constitute a one dot review then so be it-as we are devoted to our guests security and safety at all times.

We hope the above explanation is suffice and assists the TripAdvisor community at large.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and thought it was good enough to go back, hotels staff friendly and more than helpful we booked for 4 nights but checked out an hour after checking in, this area is full of middle eastern visitors kids jamming lifts took 15 minutes to get from level 1-7 running around floors ringing door bells these guest think they are only ones staying here, spoke with duty manager who was only to happy to give refund for 3 nights as many western travellers have complained in past can't knock the staff or hotel just the rude guests

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear MelbourneThaitime,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on Belaire Bangkok via TripAdvisor.

It saddens us that on this occasion Belaire Bangkok did not live up to your expectations.

Your scheduled stay period coincided with the arrival of our Middle East guests, an annual event at the end of Ramadan. This pattern occurs on different months each year. Perhaps explains why on your last visit (five years ago) the atmosphere was different.

Nevertheless we understood your desire to relocate and acted in our spirit of placing the guest first by accommodating your request without question. We sincerely hope that this unfortunate hiccup did not tarnish the rest of your stay in Bangkok.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for your recognition of the hosts, the hotel and it is our sincere hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Please write to me on gm@belairebangkok.com if I can be of further assistance.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BelAire Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelAire Bangkok

Address: 16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#133 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#138 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#155 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BelAire Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the boutique hotel favoured by savvy travellers and the city's elite who need to be at the centre of the action. A portal to all the treasures of the kingdom, BelAire Bangkok, is nestled in a quiet street just off bustling Sukhumvit Road, with its wealth of shopping, business and entertainment possibilities.Just a 30 minute drive to the Airport on the Expressway, in close proximity to embassies, the Central World and Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre, and mere steps to the BTS skytrain and MRT underground transportation systems, getting around has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BelAire Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel-Aire Princess Hotel Bangkok
Bel Aire Princess Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BelAire Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.