We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, beds very uncomfortable!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BelAire Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BelAire Bangkok to your Saves list
BelAire Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 941 Reviews
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“Excellent hotel, beds very uncomfortable!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a great place to stay, excellent service and close to sky train which was great. The rooms were nice and very clean but the beds were very uncomfortable, very hard! The breakfast was nice and the food at the restaurant was nice for tea also. Was a great place to stay just the beds let it down.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Chels667,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay at Belaire Bangkok, we are dleighted you found the hotel excellent.

We are grateful for highlighting the beds being too hard, first time we received this comment. Will definitely bear in mind when procuring our next consignment of mattresses.

I am glad that you found our breakfast and restaurant food nice, your comments have been shared with the team.

Please when planning to visit Thailand again and should choose to stay with us do let me know so we can ensure the appropriate bedding is plotted in your room.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    462
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
143
391
86
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed in the Belaire on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed , staff, hotel, rooms, location,Spot On, absolutely ideal for either singles, couples and even family's.
The hotel cater for all nationalities and there seems to be no language barrier.
Recently I recommend this hotel to a couple and they stayed on my recommendations and they could not thank me enough!!!! Can't praise the Belaire anymore "QUALITY and Value For Money"

Will not book anywhere else when I'm I'm BKK

Room Tip: Check Agoda for best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Ross D,

Thank you for patronage and for taking the time to review your recent stay at Belaire Bangkok, we are all very happy to read your comments.

We are grateful to you for recommending Belaire Bangkok, and delighted that your friends enjoyed their recent stay.

Please do contact me when planning your next visit as I would like to thank you in person for your genuine loyalty to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth In England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our second stay at the BelAire Bangkok formerly BelAire Princess , and we must say not much has changed which was really nice. The staff are very helpful and friendly , the food in the restaurant is very good and good value for money. Breakfast offered plenty of choice , the only thing we did miss was last time we stayed they had Banana's in a sauce which was awesome. The Hotel is in a great location for the Skytrain , don't be put off by the shabbiness of the road from Hotel down to Nana stop for the Skytrain ( 5min from Hotel ), you are very safe . You have a very handy local supermarket 2 minutes away , great for local produce , herbs and spices & curry pastes , amazing value. Our room was smaller than our last visit but clean and plenty big enough , beds were comfortable , swimming pool was nice to use after a hot day.
The spa was wonderful , we had an aromertherapy massage for an hour which left us very relaxed , must nicer than one we had in Chiang Mai which left us sore for 3 days. We would certainly come back next time we are in Bangkok as the staff make this hotel plus location to Skytrain. And we had no problem with protesters while we travelled about.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the Hotel as it is a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent service and staff with special mention of the manager. Truly a great place with good rooms. I have stayed at this property at least about 15 times and it has been consistent in service and quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear eyelevel,

Thank you for tkaing the time to review your second stay at Belaire Bangkok, we are delighted that after your previous stay five years ago to receive your encouraging comments.

We are glad that you found our breakfast variety fulfilling. The banana dish you mention is actually bananas soaked in coconut milk, Chef willl prepare them especialy for you on your next visit.

Your hosts are happy that you would choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Everything OK!! Good Quality of the rooms! Sukhumvit Soi. 5 is a quite good location to go out!
The taxis we paid, that were ordered by the hotel, were too expensive! Globally good hotel!.............

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Bernard J,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us.

It is gratifying to know that everything met your needs, our rooms to be of good quality and of course our fabulous location. Concerning taxis I am not sure whether you are referring to the local street taxis (we have no control over), or the limousine service provided by our contracted supplier which is safe and reliable in very clean vehicles.

Thank you for staying with us and recognising us as globally a good hotel.

Kind regards,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Disappointing but not disastrous. Very basic, not great location. We were grateful to the driving services of 'Mr Clean' whose company, patience and immaculate car was a saving grace. Must visit the Jim Thompson house and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear David H,
Thank you for taking the tme to review your stay at Belaire Bangkok.

We are surpised to read your comments that you were disappointed and our location not being great as it is honestly so out of character with other reveiws.

Perhaps you could write to me personally gm@belairebangkok.com to discuss your thoughts.

Kind regards,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at BelAire for many years now and each time we return to Thailand we don't even consider another hotel. I have read the reviews of some people who say it is old and needs improving but we have always found it to be clean and with spacious rooms, what more could you want? The staff are very friendly and the breakfast more than adequate. We were upgraded once again which was really appreciated as we had a separate shower which to a couple of seniors is great. We moved on for 2 weeks and were supposed to return to BelAir for another 2 nights but unfortunately my husband became very ill and was admitted first to Chanthaburi Hospital then to Bangkok Hospital for 5 1/2 weeks and we returned back to Australia with my husband on a stretcher so missed out on another 2 nights staying at our favourite Bangkok Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil T, General Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear handmb,

Firstly, how is your husband? We were all surpised upon learning of his illness and hope he has fully recovered.

We are most gratteful for your loyal patronage over the past years and thank you for composing such a good review of Belaire Bangkok. Delighted to know that you were upgraded on your last visit and that your hosts took great care of you both.

Do let us knwo when you next plan to visit Bangkok as I would be dleighted to meet you. My email is gm@belairebangkok.com

Kind regards,

Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BelAire Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelAire Bangkok

Address: 16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#134 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#139 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#157 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BelAire Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the boutique hotel favoured by savvy travellers and the city's elite who need to be at the centre of the action. A portal to all the treasures of the kingdom, BelAire Bangkok, is nestled in a quiet street just off bustling Sukhumvit Road, with its wealth of shopping, business and entertainment possibilities.Just a 30 minute drive to the Airport on the Expressway, in close proximity to embassies, the Central World and Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre, and mere steps to the BTS skytrain and MRT underground transportation systems, getting around has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BelAire Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel-Aire Princess Hotel Bangkok
Bel Aire Princess Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BelAire Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.