We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BelAire Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BelAire Bangkok to your Saves list
BelAire Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The staff are amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

You are really in the heart of the action at the bel aire, don't let the road works put you off, you don't notice it , even when you are out by the pool. The rooms are a bit dated and a new carpet is needed in the room we had, but the beds and rooms and facilities are of a great size,l what made this hotel for me was the exceptional service of the staff, they were so nice and polite, big shout out to barman porn who had a smile whatever time day or night and was always really helpful. Would definitely revist

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nicola459,

Good day! Warm summer greetings from all of us here at BelAire Bangkok!

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel based on your most recent stay with us. A few rooms may need some more improvement. And this is what our Enginering and Housekeping Teams are prioritizing right now.

As you mentioned, it is indeed our staff who makes all the big difference compared to other properties. Our staff are very warm and friendly, and always on-hand to assist guests. And we are very proud of this. Thank you for recognizing their hospitality

On your necxt visit to Bangkok we do hope to see you again at BelAire Bangkok!

Thank you for your support.

Best regards,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    461
    111
    31
    20
See reviews for
143
390
85
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
chelsea,vic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was rated 4 1/2 star. It was a bit dated. The hotel was clean.We were up graded to an executive room. Which was lovely. Large queen size beds. Large shower. DVD player in the room. With the up grade we had a different floor to go to for breakfast. We were waited on by very attentive staff. The location was good. Near the MRT. Nana station was 5-10 minutes away. The first night we had room service. Food was hot and tasty, and very reasonable. Breakfast was excellent. One morning has Pad Thai. It was he best I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Book for a deluxe room. You will nearly always be up graded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear rambo37,

Sawasdee khrap!

Thank you for posting your review of BelAire Bangkok through TripAdvisor. Your comments will be useful to other travellers looking for alternative accommodation in Bangkok.

Yes, you were indeed upgraded upon arrival to one of our Club Tribeca Rooms. And with this upgrade comes a long list of other benefits and services, available only at our new and revitalized Club Tribeca Lounge. And we are glad you were satisfied with the service.

We thank you for your support, and hope that you will visit us again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

great freindly staff , always polite and helpful to me , the breakfast is a buffet style with all the choices anyone could want . My room was a good size and always cleaned properly every day . I loved the decor of the hotel , gave it a nice relaxing feel . the skytrain is only a few minutes walk from the hotel , the night life was close by . Gullivers restaurant is nearby and worth a meal , cant see why some guest comments didnt like the walk from the hotel , i found this an attraction , full of life .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear thomas w,

Good day from warm Bangkok!

We received your comments through TripAdvisor and are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel's prime location is a big factor why most guests choose to stay with us; proximity to the BTS Skytrain Station, with bars and restaurants near-by, small night market within walking distance.

And of course, our hospitable and friendly staff is a big strength of BelAire. We are proud to mention that our staff always receive positive comments from guests because of their warm, friendly service.

We thank you for sharing your comments and recognizing our staff's performance.

We look forward to welcoming back to our doors very soon!

Best regards,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

my wife and i have never been to thailand before. but what a great hotel.the hotel is situated in a crowed dusty atmospheric road but dont be put off about that.the staff are really welcomeing and really greated us with a smile.(thats why they say ITS THE LAND OFF SMILES)
the hotel bedroom was very spacious very clean and the bed very comfortable(after a long flight)
the breakfast buffet was beautifully laid out. the food was always hot and there ommellets were just fantasic freshelly cooked in front off you
there is a small tour desk.in the lobby off the hotel which we found very helpfull and booked trips. and not to badly priced.overall experince off hotel and thailand EXCELLENT
AMUST

Room Tip: WE were on the 14th floor and the room was lovely and clean not not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear lelliebosh60,

Sawasdee khrap!
Warm greetings from BelAire Bangkok!

We are all proud and happy to know that your first visit to Thailand and first visit with our hotel was excellent! And we would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers through TripAdvisor.

Our Housekeping, F&B, and Front Office Teams are all delighted that you were satisfied with their service and hospitality. This is our major asset and one of the reasons why our guests keep coming back to BelAire.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to our doors on your next visit to Bangkok!

Thank you for your support.

Sincerely,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've stayed at the BelAire Bangkok more times than I can remember over the last 10 years - always for a couple of nights at the start and end of a month long holiday in Thailand. And over those 10 years this hotel has just got better and better - always a great welcome, discrete and quietly efficient staff, comfortable and spacious rooms. Most of all it's great value and located in a very useful part of town close to the Skytrain, street markets in Sukhumvit Road and some good eating places. Soi 5 is no longer the quiet side-street it used to be but don't be put off by the approach to this hotel - once inside you immediately forget the noise, dust and heat outside. Free wi-fi in all rooms, good buffet breakfast (there's also fantastic food at Took Lae Dee restaurant in the Foodland supermarket at the other end of the street). Can't recommend this hotel highly enough! I hope it never changes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable - a higher floor offers a better view though
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear portsidejane,

Warm greetings from BelAire Bangkok!

Thank you for sharing your encouraging words through TripAdvisor. And we are very happy that you have been supporting us for the past 10 years, and we are very proud of it! It has been our top priority to provide warm and friendly service to our valued guests, and this is one of the many reasons why our guests keep coming back to BelAire.

Likewise we appreciate your comments about our facilities (clean & spacious rooms, free wifi, etc). The photos you have posted will also be helpful for other guests to have a glimpse of our hotel from another guest's point of view.

We all hope to welcome you back very soon!

Thank you for your support.

Sincerely,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Calif. USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Bel Aire for 7 days. I split my trip to visit Ko Samet returning after the Island. Usually I stay in other parts of the city due to the crowded area that is Sukumvit. But this trip I thought I'd change things up and I was happy I did. I noticed some reviews that said the walk from the hotel was a negative. If you don't like walking then one should just stay away from Bangkok. Bangkok is walking. Along the two block journey there is much entertaining to be enjoyed. The area is filled with everything one could ask. If solitude is what you want you are in the wrong place, but the rooms and hotel provide a very pleasant escape from the fun madness. The area is a entertaining circus of massage parlors, restaurants for Western, Asian and Middle Eastern foods, plus it's in the center of a very active shopping and nightlife area. The main road leading from the area happens to be in a area frequented by Thai ladyboys. They are non threatening and also entertaining but beware of spending time with them. They are very streetwise and some are looking for more than a good time with you. Stay clear of them but enjoy the many sights and smells that are in that area. It's a fun and safe place to stay. The skytrain is handy for traveling the city and doing business. The hotel was clean and I thought it was friendly and business like. They provide a free breakfast every day and I enjoyed that service. The rooms were very nice, large and had cable television. Room service was good but the area is totally saturated with so many food stalls and restaurants I only used them for small last minute snacks. They offer a very nice pool with a small gym connected to it. There are hi rise hotel sprouting up all around you so you won't ever have a sence of privacy. All the boo boos aside it was safe and that's the main concern. I would bring my cell phone and get a cim card to make outside calls because the hotel prices are not good. They pile on the surcharges and to dispute them is useless. They have two computers that are in the lobby charging a small fee which I think is a bit petty for a hotel of this size. I've stayed all over Asia in small guest houses that provide that service free of charge. I would book this hotel online because walk ins are much more expensive. In Asia you get what you pay for meaning don't expect to get anything free but you won't be cheated either. It's all mathamatics and Asia is good with math so always watch your bill to keep everyone honest. The staff was very nice but never forget that in Asia you must be very patient and never lose your cool with anyone. Losing your temple shows lack of self control and you lose face and respect by over reacting to the small stuff. I always try to remind myself that I'm there because I want to be there. No one sent or forced me to travel. Speak slowly and be respectful yet assertive. One will be surprised how issues clean up when you act nice and smile. it's like magic. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Anywhere I travel: I always stay below the 6th floor. Fire rescue can't save you if you are too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear steadicamdaddy,

Sawasdee khrap!

We would like to give you a big thanks for posting your feedback from your most recent stay with us! Your words cerate a vivid image of our hotel in the minds of other travelers around the world. Your description of our hotel, the location, happenings around the area, and tips about the local culture will surely help other guests who plan to stay in Sukhumvit Soi 5.

And above all, we are glad that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Bangkok. We are proud to have you in our long list of satisfied guests.

Thank you for your big support! And we hope to se you again very soon!

Best regards,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is situated up a crowded dusty atmospheric road but do not be put off. As you walk into the cool bar area, it immediately relaxes you. We were on our honeymoon and were happily upgraded (mainly also by excellent Trailfinders who booked our trip) to a room on the top floor. The room was large and very well designed with space for a sofa overlooking the city scape. We didn't trial the pool- no time in a 2 day trip but breakfasts were very good with a wide choice of food. The staff were very helpful- bar staff and reception who provided maps and information. They went above and beyond their service making us feel special. I loved the efficient, cool vibe of this hotel as its everything you need when you are jet lagged and exhausted from exploring the steamy chaotic city.
The area is full of markets and a bit touristy but we discovered a great bar called Nest on a roof top a few streets away. Otherwise you can take the sky train to other districts and back to airport really easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennedy K, Manager at BelAire Bangkok, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear LondonAdventurers,

Good day!

We are happy to know that you both enjoyed your honeymoon at BelAire! Your room was well prepared prior to your arrival, thanks to our hard-working Housekeeping Team. And thank you for commending the service of our F&B and Front Office teams. They are always happy to be of service to our guests.

BelAire Bangkok is ideally located in Sukhumvit Soi 5, just walking distance to the nearest Skytrain Station. And within the area are small restaurants, bars, shopping centers, convenience stores, night market.

On your next trip to Bangkok we do hope to welcome you back again!

Thank you for your support.

Sincerely,
Ken Kapulong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BelAire Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelAire Bangkok

Address: 16 Sukhumvit Soi 5, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bel-Aire Princess)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#133 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#138 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#155 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BelAire Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the boutique hotel favoured by savvy travellers and the city's elite who need to be at the centre of the action. A portal to all the treasures of the kingdom, BelAire Bangkok, is nestled in a quiet street just off bustling Sukhumvit Road, with its wealth of shopping, business and entertainment possibilities.Just a 30 minute drive to the Airport on the Expressway, in close proximity to embassies, the Central World and Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre, and mere steps to the BTS skytrain and MRT underground transportation systems, getting around has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BelAire Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel-Aire Princess Hotel Bangkok
Bel Aire Princess Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BelAire Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.