We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm Amongst The Crazy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pathumwan Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pathumwan Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Phayathai Rd, | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extra 10% off Suites
Ranked #36 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Calm Amongst The Crazy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Pathumwan Princess was the perfect choice for us in Bangkok, the hotel was modern and served our 4 day stay in Bangkok perfectly.

Check in was quick and pleasant with a quirky yet refreshing test tube drink which was needed after the journey from the airport (Bangkok traffic is crazy).

ROOMS:
Great modern rooms, perfectly spacious, comfortable and well designed, we had no complaints about the room or bathroom at all, great toiletries and the Glass bathroom wall with a blind for privacy was great. We were on a high floor and the view over the pool and Bangkok pleasant enough. Though the additional bed we were given due to there being 3 adults in the room was a very thin mattress, and considering the standard of the hotel we were left disappointed with this. Wifi signal was a little weak in our room but skype calls were still possible.

LOCATION:
Right on top of the 7 level MBK Centre, a massive shopping centre which is a haven of shops, market shops and fantastic restaurants – the food hall on the 6th floor was amazing value and tasted great (the mango juice is to die for) . The hotel is also located within walking distance to the skytrain station (through the MBK centre), so extremely convenient. Central World, Siam Plaza and Pratunam markets are all close by. Some areas are well serviced by public transport, however the Grand Palace and Floating Markets are defiantly not. We hopped onto a TUK TUK – more for the experience than anything, though I would recommend hiring a driver for the day or taxi’s (the doormen will hail one for you but I believe these are cheaper on the road). Chatuchak Weekend Market was also easy to get to via public transport and well worth the visit.

POOL/GYM: Lovely gym/spa areas, one of the best hotel gyms I have encountered (full size gym). Great pool area with a fabulous view with a sunbeds and few tables and chairs around – the free Wifi was also usable out there.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was very good (everything you could want), you had the choice of the ground floor indoor restaurant or outdoor by the pool, we sampled both, the inside had more choice but both worth trying.

We chose the hotel because of the MBK centre and were very glad we did, the convenience it offered was worthwhile, being open till late we could explore the city and then retire back to our hotel to freshen up, do some shopping and then grab some tasty dinner and do some more shopping all just a short stroll back to our room.

We really enjoyed our stay, and would return and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    875
    142
    39
    29
See reviews for
719
1,020
168
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I organized some meetings over 3 days at your hotel just last week and we had a total of 36 participants. Many of them chose to stay at the Pathumwan Princess Hotel. My own impression and that of many of my group who told me is that this is one of the best hotels in its category. The service was excellent throughout: reception, room cleaning staff, catering, restaurant ... all staff were always friendly, eager to help and capable of doing so. I organized a similar meeting at your hotel in 2007, but since then it has been totally renovated. The rooms are beautiful and cozy, the views are great, everything works well. One thing that can improve is the wifi speed in the guest rooms, as I told your Sales Supervisor. By a very slight increase in the room price you could include 2 Mbps wifi free in all rooms. The breakfast is wonderful ... what a wide choice! And the food in all outlets is of top quality. The meeting rooms are nice, modern, brightly lit, comfortable. And your staff catered there to all our needs almost effortlessly it seemed. Our participants were impressed with the high quality of your coffee breaks too! Congratulations! Chapeau! We will definitely come back. J-P. Allain

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, especially on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days last December with my family. Check-in was a breeze. Nice room and comfy bed, love the layout and design. Breakfast was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pathumwan Princess hotel - stayed for 2 nights fr 12-14 july with family.

I will give Pathumwan Princess excellent rating mainly due to its location. It's on top of MBK center one of the largest malls in Bkg. It's great to have the convenience of a shopping centre food court and movie halls attached to ur hotel. May b we would not have stayed in PP if not for location.
Hotel is very good on its own provided u like being in the middle of the city. All glass n chrome,rooms r spacious enough, bathrooms have rain shower hand shower and tub but no washing pipes attached to toilet only paper and quality of toilet paper is cheap!

bathrooms have glass windows to bedroom with option of electronic curtains. Toiletries r limited but good quality. our room had the pool and city views which looked lovely at night. pool is excellent - clean and big and there's a pool bar.

Food at the Thai and international restaurant on ground floor is very good and service excellent. Breakfast had enough variety but same menu is repeated everyday.
Overall our feel was it is clean professional luxurious but costly and bit impersonal. We had minor complaints which were quickly and efficiently attended to.

We had a bad experience during our stay which I'd like to narrate so that other tourists r warned. MBK center closes all its shops restaurants and food court by 10pm which is just too early for an happening city. Anyway one might we came back late from dinner cruise at the river. Since my son had not touched the Thai buffet we wanted to go to any fast food places and MBK was closed. We asked security guy at the hotel whether any place is open outside and whether is it safe to go out - for a woman and child alone. He said it's perfectly safe and there is a Burger King open 24 hrs and it's just around the corner opposite Siam discovery. Both information turned out to be wrong. We met some drivers of tuk tuk which were stationed just at hotel gate and the driver said no Burger King is nearby which would be open. Since we trusted hotel security more,we wanted to go to Siam discovery next road and check our ourselves and tuk tuk driver offered a cheap ride. He was right and there was no fast food joint open in that road or next road so we took a u turn back to hotel. Suddenly from no where this thief on a bike appeared who while riding fast next to tuk tuk tried to grab my handbag. Luckily I had the holders all twined in my hand and by intuition I grabbed bag back. He rode fast and disappeared while we all started screaming. The incident was really scary since I had money credit cards iPhones all stashed in that bag. We went back to hotel quick and complained at the lobby. We told them to instruct their security guys to advise tourists properly ESP when they ask you whether it is safe. Their response was just nodding - hope they understood since the English skills of most of the staff at hotel is very basic.

But about the hotel rooms food and service we have no complaints. If I get a chance I 'd like to have a longer stay and explore MBK center in detail.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I used to come to this hotel since i was a kid but then we tried Novotel and we got used to it, however i tried Pathumwan hotel again last year and really loved the new renovation! It's warm and mordern , But whats amazing in this hotel is MBK!If you've been to Bangkok you will know that traffic and weather sometimes might stuck you in the hotel, so this hotel is excellent for such a thing, cus you don't need to leave outdoor! The BF is good and the stuff is helpful too. Really recommended if you are planing to stay long time in Bangkok and don't want to go over the traffic everyday!

Room Tip: Try going around siam square , really stores there are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the best in Bangkok. It's location is central to everything. The staff go o extreme lengths to make sure their guests are happy. If you have children then look no where else. This hotel caters and looks after the children like they are VIPs.
I have stayed here 10 times and the experience only gets better. Constantly improving and updating.
The best hotel in Bangkok !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I write this as I sit in my room on the 28th floor. We are about to checkout and head to Hua Hin for 2 nights but will be back here on Saturday. We stayed here 5 years ago and I just love it here, the people are all very friendly, the breakfast amazing, shopping right next door great......wireless could to do with being better and perhaps just a little spruce up to the room.....when we arrived they gave us a cake for our honeymoon which was just Devine little attention to detail is great. Hopefully when we come back in a couple of days we get to experience all the good things about this hotel again. This really is a must stay hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pathumwan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathumwan Princess Hotel

Address: 444 Phayathai Rd, | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pathumwan Princess Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 5-star Pathumwan Princess Hotel, located in the heart of Bangkok, adjacent to MBK shopping center, offers direct access to National Stadium skytrain station, and is only a few steps to the Siam Square shopping district. Facilities include award-winning chic restaurants; including Korean fine-dining, rustic Italian alfresco dining, traditional Thai and international buffet. Contemporary ballroom and function rooms accommodate up to 300 persons and overlook the tropical 25-metre swimming pool. The hotel’s Olympic Club, with 9,000 square metres of fitness and sports space includes tennis and squash courts. Tantara Health Spa is a haven for health and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pathumwan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pathumwan Princess Hotel Bangkok
Pathumwan Princess Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pathumwan Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.