We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of lebua at State Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added lebua at State Tower to your Saves list
lebua at State Tower
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special offer
Ranked #61 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lebua State Tower 16th August for 2 nights. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels all over the world and the only thing that is 5 star about this hotel is the very overpriced food and beverage. The reception and hostess staff are the rudest and most incompentant staff that I have ever encountered in all of my hotel experiences.

The view from the sky bar and sirocco restaurant is amazing and the food was good, but the hotel is shabby and in need of a refurbishment. We did complain to the management team during our stay, as we encountered problem after problem, but they did not seem bothered or interested that we had some major problems and did little to rectify it. Shame, as we were there to celebrate a special occasion.

3 words, do not stay here!!!! This text box does not have enough space to type all of the problems and issues we had during our stay. Looking for a 5 star Bangkok hotel, go to the banyan tree or shangri la!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,074
    1,094
    341
    113
    75
See reviews for
471
2,536
266
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After hearing amazing reports of Lebua, we decided that would be the place to stay during our next weekend in Bangkok. What a mistake!

As we were flying after work, we landed late and it was well past 11pm by the time we arrived at the hotel. The first thing to hit us as we left the taxi was a strong and very unpleasant smell of drains, this was also evident in the lobby area. Check in took almost an hour and reception staff responded extremely rudely when we asked whether there was a problem with our booking. It transpired that there had been a serious problem but this was not communicated to us and worse, we discovered that reception staff had out and out lied to us on a number of points during and immediately after check in. First impressions were not great and unfortunately set the tone for the service we received over the rest of the weekend.

After finally managing to check in we were pointed in the direction of the lift where there was a large queue of tourists waiting to head up to Sky Bar. Hotel guests are afforded no priority for lifts and over the course of the weekend we found this quite frustrating as our room was on the 58th floor and we often encountered full lifts and would have to wait for 2 or 3 to come before there was space to get in.

When we reached our suite we discovered it was not set up to accommodate our group. Despite sleeping 6 people, there were amenities for only 4 people. We called down to reception to request additional supplies for our group and had to chase twice more before we received the missing items.

The breakfast is amazing, probably the best selection I have seen, however the breakfast area is small compared with the size of the hotel.

We were met with spectacularly rude staff at the club facility on level 52 and at breakfast on the second morning, staff were unhelpful and very sarcastic.

We had dinner at Sirocco where the food was good but overpriced. The wine list was poor and again exceptionally overpriced for the quality of the wines available. The view from the roof is fantastic but to enjoy it I would recommend eating at Sirocco rather than visit Sky Bar. The bar area is very small and has standing room only. It gets very crowded and unless you are one of the fortunate few to get a place at the edge, it is very difficult to admire the view as people are so tightly packed in to the area. There are better roof top bars in Bangkok if you are looking for somewhere to sit and have a nice drink while admiring the view.

The hotel itself is ok, but does not compare with 5* hotels such as the Four Seasons or the Banyan Tree, however what really spoiled this trip for us was the breathtaking arrogance and rudeness of the staff we encountered. Our group members all travel frequently across Asia for both business and pleasure and between us have never had such a disappointing experience at any hotel, never mind a 5* hotel. We were left with a strong feeling that the hotel is trading off the Hangover film and that they feel this is enough to attract guests despite substandard service and inflated prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Check in was laborious. We had to wait in a reception area while paperwork was gathered, and someone showed us various upgrades, tours and other things to buy. Finally, we were escorted to our very large, well-appointed room. 35th floor with balcony overlooking river...a little scarry. Service was excellent. Great AC. Great location. A bit pricey compared to other 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times with prices ranging from £73 a night to £330 a night with the later being this year.
Its always been a fantastic experiance but its starting to feel like they are milking the fame from the Hangover 2 movie. Sky bar is a must do if you can handle the crowded feel and the food in Scirocco is great by at £500 for a meal for the 5 of us Bangkok has a lot more to offer.

The breakfast buffet is incredible, one of the best i have ever seen and well worth it.

I would suggest staying else where unless money is limitless or you want that one special occasion.

Room Tip: Try and get a club tower room. This gives access to the tower club lounge with free cocktails and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is amazing. We stayed in a suite on the 59th floor and the size of the room just blew me away. It was massive and I've seen smaller flats!

The bed....oh...my...god....I just wish I could move it home with me. The biggest bed I've ever had the luxury of sleeping in. Despite the wife sleeping diagonally, we still came nowhere near touching each other. And it's only a short walk from one side of the bed to the other!

If you sign the waiver they will open up the balcony for you which I highly recommend. It does seem a bit strange that in a country like Thailand that you have to sign such a thing but whatever. The views are fantastic.

The Skybar is one of the main attractions thanks to the Hangover film and one of the reasons my wife chose this hotel. Unfortunately I think this has become a victim of it's own success. Don't get me wrong it's beautiful but come evening time it's rammed with tourists all trying to take photographs. Luckily the restaurant was full both nights we were there so we couldn't eat there. The amount of tourists trapsing through would have put me right off.

Instead we ate on the 52nd floor outdoor restaurant instead which was much more civilised. The only frustrating thing was they don't let you take photos of the bridge you walk over. But I can understand since it'd end up like the Sky bar. It wasn't cheap by western standards, let alone Thai but it's an experience worth having.

Breakfast was great, a wide selection. Internet access was pretty fast for a hotel.

I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the suite. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed at Lebua hotel in Bangkok for my second time and I just can say that is really impressive. Everything was perfect! We had one dinner at the Breeze which is an excellent restaurant with incredible views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

From check-in to check-out we had an incredibly disappointing experience fuelled by a catalogue of errors and some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced in any hotel let alone one branding itself at 5*. The hotel has a massive amount of potential but sadly our stay was ruined by an incompetent mess up with our room booking and some extremely poorly trained and rude front of house staff. Unfortunately the only thing 5* about this hotel are the prices!

Despite arriving late after an evening flight, check-in was unbearably slow and we were left waiting in a lobby that smells like drains for nearly 40 minutes with no apology or explanation. We were finally herded to the lift queue and eventually squeezed into a lift with throngs of non-hotel guests headed up to the Sky Bar which shares a lift with the upper floor hotel rooms.

As it transpired the reason for the long delay was because our room was not ready and had insufficient beds set up for our party. The room that we had specifically reserved (4 months prior) had been given away to another guest. There was no acknowledgement that we had been moved to an alternative suite, and when confronted, the reception staff were unapologetic and downright rude in their response. We were left waiting for over an hour for the extra beds to be moved from the corridor into our room, at 1am (after 3 phone calls) we gave up waiting for any help from the hotel and set them up ourselves.

I would like to say that the experience we had following this improved, but sadly we had two very bad experiences with exceptionally rude staff at both the club room on level 52 and the main breakfast room Cafe Mozu. I have travelled in Thailand many times and have generally always experienced excellent customer service so we were shocked and massively disappointed by the attitude of some of the front of house staff at Lebua. We spoke to management about the issues, but despite them paying lip service little was done to appease us or rectify the situation.

The rooftop restaurant is beautiful and worth a visit for the view alone and the food is good (although the Sky 'Bar' is little more than a holding pen - no seats, it is standing only in a very small cordoned off area that was tightly packed). I would suggest the Banyan Tree roof top bar is a far superior option if it's a bar with a nice view you are after. Unfortunately this hotel is living off the reputation of the roof top facilities and its connection with The Hangover 2 film.

The food is good and the rooms are ok, the pool is small for the size of the hotel but ok. The view is great, but there are other places to get a nice view. My overall impression was that they are a very poorly organised operation and the customer service is shameful. If you want a 5* experience I would suggest you avoid this hotel or you may end up being extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Helen Loveday,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback from your most recent stay with us. I am not only very concerned but greatly disappointed in ourselves that we should have let you down so badly.

Your whole experience was not up to lebua standards. Our staff is one of our strongest asset, and please be assured that I have already discussed all points with the relevant department heads to avoid similar shortcomings in the future.

I would also like to ensure you that we do spend a tremendous amount of time and resources training our employees in order to give them the tools and confidence to deliver outstanding guest service.

Please rest assured that we would spare no effort to ensure you a most pleasant and enjoyable stay at our hotel if we had a chance to welcome you and your friends back during your upcoming travels to Bangkok.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if there is anything I can do for you.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#52 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#64 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#72 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — lebua at State Tower 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lebua at State Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.