We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking sights!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lebua at State Tower

Save Saved
You added lebua at State Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
lebua at State Tower
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special discount upto 39%
Ranked #62 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Breathtaking sights!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The sights from the rooftop restaurant and bar are spectacular and takes you to another world. Highly recommended to go to there 65+ floor rooftop. Service was impeccable and made us feel really special. Have been a great fan of Lebua and they kept up to the expectation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,841
    957
    295
    95
    69
See reviews for
392
2154
228
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked this hotel by chance as part of a package with our flight and wanted some luxury before our travels around Thailand. What a treat..From the moment we arrived we were greeted with such courtasy, and efficiency and was the begining of our 5 star experience..We were upgraded to the 55th floor to an amazing suite..with a great view over Bangkok. The bar at the top was amazing, (expensive!) however worth it for the treat and spectacular views of Bangkok. Breakfast was fantastic and catered for every taste buds.
The only downside was the location - Whilst it is easy to get about - there seemed to be very little attractions in downtown Bangkok.
Overall a great start to recover from the flight and adjust for our trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Caroline556,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at lebua at State Tower.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our hotel and our services. We do hope that your travels through Thailand are as fantastic as the start in our hotel and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner again in Bangkok.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Luxury apartment-styled accomodation. Perfect food and drinks available all day at the club lounge. Very comfortable stay but the location is not dead central and the swimming pool is not inviting enouh, too small for a hotel that big, it'd be nicer if it was a roof top swimming pool. Staffs at the are well trained and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose high floor if possible above Level 50 for breathtaking views of Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

For our final night in Thailand we booked the Lebua because we wanted a bit of luxury in Bangkok, which lets face it, is a crazy busy city. We booked for a transfer from the airport,at £70 its a complete splurge. We upgraded our two rooms to the Club tower suites, ours was on the 52nd floor and well worth the extra £50. The view was incredible, absolutely breath taking. Check in was smooth and the girl that looked after us was lovely. Our ears would pop in the lift as we went up! All the staff, from the pool to breakfast, the cleaners and the concierge, everyone was polite, happy and engaging. Even dressed in our scruffy travelling clothes, they treated us the same as the other posh dressed guests. We did feel out of place though, more because of being looked down upon by other guests, is place is incredibly posh and formal. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We went for a meal at Above Eleven and when we got back our room had been turned down and there was a note on our bed giving us the following days weather forecast. that night there was a Huge thunderstorm over Bangkok. watching it from the 52nd floor balcony is something we will never forget. we felt like we were in the sky. For breakfast there was a lot of variety, and a guy toasting your bread for you in a fire oven,which was pretty cool. The lady making the omelettes was amazing to, I have never seen an omelette made with such precision before. Breakfast service was impeccable.
With the club tower upgrade we got to use the fabulous club lounge. Hand made chocolates, creme brûlée, cocktails, tea, coffee and high tea all for free. They even put the napkin on your knee for you. Perfect way to chill out and reflect on the whole trip before the mammoth trip home. I found a lot of previous reviews way too critical for this place, when you see the poverty on the streets of Bangkok you appreciate the contrast and how lucky you are to be able to afford to stay in such a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a club tower room! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Indimaguire,

Thank you very much for your fantastic positive comments about lebua at State Tower and Tower Club at lebua.

Especially your feedback about the staff courtesy and the product of our Tower Club Suites are a great motivation for the team and all of us at lebua look forward to welcome you and your partner again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I selected this hotel primarily for the roof top bars, as they were a big draw card in hotel choice.

Admittedly I did no research on the property itself, but assumed it would be of a five star standard and of a high calibre.

The lobby area is nice and the staff very welcoming. As I had booked a Tower Club room, I assumed we would be whisked to the club lounge for check in as is the case in the majority of hotels with club floors.

We were in fact kept waiting a short time in the lobby before being taken to the business centre for check in which I found quite bizarre. There were complimentary refreshments which was a nice touch seeing we arrived early and had missed breakfast.

Imagine my dismay when told we could not check in until 2pm ( which was fine seeing we arrived at 11:30am), and could not access the club lounge for a snack or beverage after such an early start to the day. I have never encountered this before in a 5 star property with club floors. Not a good start to our stay.

Miraculously our room was ready 10 minutes later and we were showed to our room. Even though we had a room on the 58th floor with a nice view, other than the bathroom, the room itself was quite average and dated, and the beds quite hard.

There was no mini bar, but there were complimentary soft drinks in a fridge in the kitchen ( which had no cooking utensils/equipment) which was a nice touch, but lacking for a 5 star property.

The club lounge itself doubles as a restaurant in the evenings, so closes at 6pm; not the usual 5 until 7 canapes and cocktails as at every other hotel I have stayed in. You can however order beverages from a limited menu through the day with an assortment of snacks on offer; not a large array, but sufficient.The staff in general are pleasant, but when busy can be quite abrupt. Breakfast in the club lounge is very limited with no hot items at all, and a very basic spread. Downstairs in the main restaurant breakfast is very good but so busy. The whole point of breakfast in a club lounge is the intimate and quiet ambiance which is not the atmosphere downstairs, so even though a good breakfast, I do prefer club lounge.

The bars on the 63rd to 65th floor are great with magnificent views, but can be very crowded with a lot of people outside the hotel frequenting them; the lifts can therefore be very full with a line of people waiting to access the bars; not good for the guests staying on the club floors trying to get to their rooms!

No preference is given to in house guests in the bars, so you really need to get there well before 6 pm in order to get a table. The drinks were good and ambiance great, and staff very nice and welcoming ( as in most areas of the hotel)

The spa left a lot to be desired; attached to the gym and quite dated and basic; not at all what I have experienced at hotels of the same standard; and the treatments themselves, very disappointing and not at all professional; the staff really were not experienced which was obvious in the standard of massage both of us received.

I actually lodged a formal complaint as I was so disappointed; and the duty manager offered us a later checkout which was appreciated seeing we had a late departure; I also assumed the charge would be removed from our bill, but it wasn't!

That was really the final straw in what was a less than satisfactory experience.

Upon check out I bought this up again and was given a discount on the treatments, but I didn't think that was the correct way to deal with a complaint in my opinion.

Needless to say I would not return to this property, and other than visiting one of the bars on the upper floors, and I probably wouldn't recommend it with so many other 5 star properties available in Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Bali4eva,

Thank you for your feedback informing us about your experience during your recent stay at our hotel as well as for the opportunity talking to us directly.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service our hotel is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits.

All your comments have already been discussed with the relevant departments to avoid similar shortcomings in the future and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may has caused you.

I truly hope that we do have the opportunity welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and would like to offer my personal assistance with any questions or requests you might have.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

fabulous hotel, huge suites, 2 bathrooms, dressing rooms, fully loade kitchens.
view was stunning from 22nd floor.
staff were there tending every need without being in your face.
breakfast was really something special, I've never seen a buffet like that before in my life.
beautifully presented, extended brekky times.
famous bar on the roof was a little disappointing, too many rules about where to stand etc.... photo `police` telling you where you can & cannot take photos! which was a bit over the top.
we found the bar on the lower floor which was about 20th I think, was much nicer, the Indian restaurant one.
much quieter, no rules & gorgeous views.
over all this was one of the loveliest hotels I've stayed in and I will def. be going back

Room Tip: I think river view will be great but we had city view which just took my breath away every morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lebua Hotel and Spa at the State Tower for a week (June 2013). We stayed in a Tower Club suite on the 55th floor. We had a brilliant view of Bangkok from our balcony and at night it was nothing short of remarkable. We also went to the rooftop restaurant (Sirocco) / bar (the Sky Bar); picturesque! The cocktails and mocktails were brilliant. The dress code is cocktail, which the hotel guests wore, unfortunately it's a tourist attraction and occasionally under dressed visitors show up.

The service we received throughout the entire stay was nothing short of excellent. On the way to the hotel, my husband realised he'd left his mobile phone on the plane. Upon telling the concierge she had the hotel's airport liaison onto the problem and voilà - four hours later, my husband had his phone delivered by limousine! The service only got better from there.

Access to the Tower Club suites is via express elevators. These elevators also serve the popular restaurants and bars on the rooftop. One evening we came back to the hotel to find a large queue for the elevators but the friendly manager organised priority for hotel guests over visitors.

The buffet breakfast is arguably one of the best we've had (we're picky eaters). The omelette station manned by four chefs to make personalised egg dishes was delicious! The homemade jams and wood fired pizza oven to toast your bread was impressive (as was the enormous choice of fresh breads and pastries available). The fresh juices was also tasty. Lebua catered for European, Indian, Japanese, Australian, Chinese and American styled breakfasts.

The young woman who was the concierge (her name has escaped me), was excellent, she recommended several places, which all turned out to be superb. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The Tower Club suites have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco M, General Manager at lebua at State Tower, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Lakshami,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Tower Club at lebua & lebua at State Tower.

We are delighted to read through your comments and I thank you on behalf of the entire team, for detailing so many positive elements that you have experienced during your stay.

We will also give a special thank you to our Concierge Team and the entire lebua team is looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marco Metge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — lebua at State Tower 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lebua at State Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.