We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asia Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Asia Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
Asia Hotel Bangkok
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   296 Phayathai Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

quite good location, just around BTS. easy access to Siam square.
the facilitis in the hotel are not the most moden, but still quite convienient for family travel, even it can help to provide free baby cot for the little child.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    375
    283
    106
    79
See reviews for
173
273
93
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here a total of 3 nights. It is an adequate hotel if you don't mind it being rather run down and shabby. The rooms aren't cleaned between guests very well, as I found a few previous occupants' hairs in various places. However, for the price you can't expect much and it is right on the BTS, which means a lot less perspiration getting on a train.

Room Tip: Make sure you keep your receipt for the deposit, or they will try and keep it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The direct access to ratchatewi bts is big plus but hotel itself little bit out of quality . Room size and furniture not too bad as compare age of hotel but bathrooms surely need renovation . Breakfast open buffet have wide selections of asian buffet but dont expect any european foods such as olive ; chesse etc but only eggs ; My most negative view of this hotel very long check in and check out procedure and the loudy customers ; their noise in lobby can be tolerable but in the middle of night 3 am that is really big trouble . i stayed this hotel 2 nights both from 3am to 5 am was fully loudy by asian customers . I suppose they had early flight to back home but i really dont know why they have to talk each other as much as loudy like in party and shut the doors such as they are in their private home ; If this is the style of their life i would rather stay not the nearby bts but calm hotel occupied by deferential customers.

Room Tip: ask the floor where the asian customers would not check out middle of nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights as a couple but for some reason we had 2 single beds pushed together and dressed separatly.

the location was very good as the hotel connects directly to the sky train which came in handy many times.

the breakfast was average and always so many people.

the tour desk seemed to only want to sell us tours and not really help us much, thought they were quote pushy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Asia Hotel has a very convenient location such as a direct BTS Ratchathewi next to it. Therefore, I have no hesitation and become my first choice staying at Bangkok for the second time. There wasn't any problem when I stayed at the first time. However...

This was a true story on the day that my whole family check-out at 8am (GMT 7+). The duty manager stopped us from checking out because the booking we had done through a Thai local agency did not make any payment to them. If that's the reason, they should have informed us since the day we check-in. The floor manager mentioned that they had been trying to contact the agency since we check-in.

Once our driver arrived at the hotel and made a phone call back to tour agency, I believe it's all misunderstanding, the floor manager then allowed us to leave without apologizing, same as the duty manager, went into the room without any explanation. Not even feeling apologetic when we had been standing at the reception counter for 35 minutes, which we might be miss our flight.

** Note: This case might not happen to everyone, it's just a personal view which I wanted to feedback to the hotel, to improve their management skills, which I can't find any feedback on their website.

I will just comment about the overall the hotel facilities. Let's talk about the breakfast. It's about the same throughout the 5 days that I'm staying. For example, you will find Omelette and fried egg, fried rice, black jelly dessert every single day. As for housekeeping, they should know it's a triple sharing but they only provide 1 set of toothbrush and 2 sets of towels.

As for wifi, my phone is able to detect the wifi something like (Asia_Free Wifi), when I requested for the username and password, it claimed that payment is needed. Something like 20 minutes of usage cost 200 Baht.

Anyway, if you are on the purpose to Bangkok for shopping, this hotel is still quite worthwhile to stay in terms of location and price of the hotel. I believe you won't be staying the hotel almost the whole day. What's important most is that you have a shelter for resting over a long shopping day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

So, this was my first trip to Bangkok. I stayed at the Asia hotel. Compared to what you get in the states for sixty bucks per night, it was a little better. But, I have a feeling, because Bangkok is so cheap, that if you look around, you'l be able to find better, even for that.

The hotel is a little dark. The foyer and halls are not air conditioned. There is internet, but it is sloooow. I could only find one corner in my room where it worked, otherwise it was non-functional unless I went to the hotel lobby.

The room service was priced reasonably and I was pretty happy with the Thai food, the freshness of the fruits and the salads was good too. The Filet Mignon tasted a little funny, but it was my only steak in Thailand, so who knows, maybe that's just how Thai beef tastes.

The room had air conditioning that worked quite well. The cleaning staff did a good job. I never saw any bugs inside. There was enough hot water for showers. The plumbing worked. There was a separate faucet for drinking water. Refrigerator, minibar, TV with cable, and safe in the room. The bed was comfortable. So, all the basics were covered.

The breakfast buffet was OK. There were several restaurants in the hotel - chinese, brazilian meat, vietnamese, etc. There were also several shops in the hotel (good for buying souvenirs and trinkets).

Verdict: If you are traveling on a budget or if you are looking for a cheap, but not terrible place to have a low-level business meeting or educational conference - this is a decent option.

If you are wanting to impress business clients, or are used to a higher caliber of hotel, this is not the place for you. I came here for business and spoke at a conference here. If I were vacationing, I would have spent a little more and gone to a better hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Asia has the benefit off it's own entrance off the Sky train Station. This means that you can access most of the major tourist areas with ease. The hotel is only one stop from the Airport link which is also a bonus.
You can also walk to Siam square which takes approx. 15 minutes. Siam square is the most modern (and expensive) shopping area in Bangkok. It has a wonderful food court for when you become tired of 'Street food'
The Asia hotel is quite a nice hotel with two good swimming pools and a some nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Hit the back streets around the hotel for cheap restaurants and Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asia Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel Bangkok

Address: 296 Phayathai Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
#93 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asia Hotel Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Asia Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Asia Hotel
Asia Bangkok Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asia Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.