We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Soi 19

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Soi 19 to your Saves list
City Lodge Soi 19
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #323 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 334 Reviews
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No regrets here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been in Bangkok many times and this is one of the best location-valued hotels in Bangkok. With the tax and service charge, it’s about 50USD per night. It is nice, very clean and in a great location – next to the Terminal 21 mall and BTS Aksod station. Now, the only complains I have is the FREE internet which was terrible! And since this is Bangkok, the internet needs to be working at ALL time. One last major improvement would be a FREE breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor - shower was weak. Then they moved me to the 4th floor, room 407 which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We were happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be convenient. We have however duly noted your comment about the internet and the shower for improvement. Please accept our apologies if this has inconvenienced you. In regards to the breakfast, we know propose a small complimentary coffee and croissants station in the lobby to all guests at the lobby.

Best regards

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    188
    71
    17
    8
See reviews for
17
27
68
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

City Lodge is located on Soi 19 Sukhumvit Road. After spend 3 years in Bangkok I would say this Soi or Soi 11 is the best location to be staying. It is in the heart of Sukhumvit.
The hotel is about 20 minutes for Suvarnabhumi (with out traffic). About £8 in a taxi.
The price was excellent, I paid about £22-£24 a night. - 3 star hotel.
The location is the best thing about this hotel. Asoke BTS skytrain is literally outside the hotel. Also, Terminal 21 shopping mall is next door.
The hotel is on top of EL Gaucho Steak House - one of the best steak house/restaurants in Bangkok. Nightlife is only a few minutes walk away including your fast food and convenience stores.
The hotel room was a little date but clean. I was impressed with my balcony the 7th floor overlooking Asoke intersection, Sukhumvit Road and the hustle and bustle outside.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and for the details on the location and dining facilities available around the hotel. We were happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Since I discovered this hotel on a business trip more than eight years ago, It's been the only place I've stayed during my regular returns to Bangkok. After my most recent stay I figured it was about time to give them the recommendation they deserve.

This is not a luxury hotel, but offers everything necessary for a very comfortable and convenient business or holiday stay at a price that is excellent value for money. I've also emphasised the amount of time I've been going there because in that time there has been a great consistency in the service and value provided, and the key staff involved in providing it, which means it should stay good for a fair time after this review.

Cautions about this hotel are that it can look a little shabby (and un-airconditioned) on the trip between the nice lobby and the excellent rooms. The in-room WiFi, although free, can be unreliable and I'd advise booking the more expensive rooms so you get up on the top floors away from the traffic noise of the very busy Sukhumvit Road. Also, although the room servicing and laundry are excellent and reliable, there is not really a lot of other in-room services available so this is more a get out and do things type of hotel rather than a staycation place.

Now on to the good bits. None of the above dampens the fact that the rooms are a good size and well equiped and are well cleaned and maintained. The air-conditioners do a good job and the bed is large, clean and comfortable. Everything you need to be very comfortable if using the hotel as a base to get out and about. I've always found the staff to be friendly, helpful and accommodating of any questions and requests you might have.

It's the ease of getting out and about and it's convenience to the rest of the heart of Bangkok that is the great attraction of the place. A couple of minutes walk and a few baht will take you anywhere the brilliant Skytrain, Underground and Airport Link train services can take you. An easy walk or a few minutes on the Skytrain will also take you to any number of markets and restaurants and attractions ranging from the Mega-Shopping malls to the infamous red light districts.

If you don't want to go too far, there is an excellent restaurant next door and a 7/11 next door on the other side and some very good (legitimate) massage spas within a few metres.

Highly recommended for the value conscious traveller looking for a home base in Bangkok.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are on the upper floors away from the traffic noise of Sukhumvit Road. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Mr Peter C

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review on this occasion. We were very happy to read that you have been enjoying staying with us over the years and that the hotel meets your needs. We appreciate your kind mention about the staff.

We have also noted your comments about the Wifi and plan to have this improved.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is just next Asoke Bts station and Terminal 21. Breakfast is serve next door with a standard menu but taste fine. Wifi signal is quite poor. Can be quite noisy as all rooms have balcony facing the main junction.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We were happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the City Lodge Soi 19, but have duly noted your comment about the Wifi signal, which we will review.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Bangkok.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Check in was a big worry. The receptionist took a call just as I started to check in and then tried her best to ignore me for ages while she talked on the phone, trying hard to convince another customer he'd be better off booking on the internet (than bothering her with more work I suspect.)
Anyway, after check in things improved. The room was large (I went for the deluxe I think, a few dollars more), the bathroom had a good sized bath and on the seventh floor it was quite quiet, even with the edge of the protest site just down below on the corner.
I wouldn't pay extra again for breakfast, unless you really want the convenience, because the choice is quite limited. The food is ok, but really you'd be better off going to the basement food court of Robinsons nearby where you're spoilt for choices!
Anyway, this hotel is literally a hop skip and jump from the escalator which goes up to Asok Station, and you can negotiate your way around to Sukhumvit for the alternate train line easily, too (once you've done it the first time it's easy!). You're literally next door to Terminal 21 so if shopping's your thing you're in heaven. And if you jump on a train, Bangkok is yours. There's no end of nightlife options.
And so, would I stay here again? Definitely. I just won't expect great service at check in so if I get it, it will be a pleasant surprise. Certainly for the rest of the stay the reception staff were friendly enough. Oh, as a warning. Don't venture into the minibar. My wife did by mistake. One bottle of water = 107 baht. No, not much I know, but when you can buy water for 7 baht at the 7/11 next door.............

Room Tip: try to go for a higher floor, it is a busy area and getting above the traffic noise is a good thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and helpful review. I was happy to read that like most people you find our location to be very convenient, and that you would consider to come back.

I was concerned about the level of service you received upon arrival and will certainly share your remarks in order to improve. Please accept our apologies for this.

We are aware that our guests have many choices for breakfast, but wish to maintain the offer
on location, for those who prefer eating before starting to explore the city.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

First trip of the year to Bangkok before "shutdown".

Location is ideal if you love Terminal 21. Just beside the famous El Gaucho steakhouse. Nice 7 floor hotel, don't expect the red carpet treatment...it is more for convenience.

Hot water, tub, air condition and balcony available for very reasonable price. Be warned it is near the main Asoke road so it may not be quiet most of the times. Also, not much channels on cable if you're the staycation type of person. Wifi is free without password.

Also observed some rooms being renovated / maintained with some works and improvements being made.

Overall, if price and location is your deal at this location - look no further. If you need to be pampered, look for the big boys instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I was happy to read that you found the City Lodge Soi 19 to be convenient, and value for money. I appreciate the fact you noticed we were doing some preventive maintenance to the rooms during the time of your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place couldn't be easier to find, just step off the sky train at Nana, look over the balcony and the sign almost smacks you in the face. The room is of a reasonable size. Comfortable enough to spend your nights in. My room was right on top of the sky train platform but didn't present any problems for noise. Reception staff were friendly and check in, check out were very simple. Best part of this hotel is it's location. Great night life and daytime bars/shopping in the area but having such close access to the BST, it's so easy to see much more of Bangkok. This place is already in my plans for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 19, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read that you found the hotel to be convenient and enjoyed your stay in Bangkok.

However, based on the description you made, you have actually stayed at the City Lodge Soi 9, which is directly in front of BTS Nana Station. This page is actually for the Ctiy Lodge Soi 19, which is close to Asoke Station (one station further) and in front of Terminal 21.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Soi 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Soi 19

Address: Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge Soi 19 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior hotel in the heart of Sukhumvit area, City Lodge Soi 19, on Sukhumvit Soi 19, is located at Asoke skytrain and Sukhumvit underground stations. In the middle of Bangkok s most exciting commercial, embassy, shopping, dining and entertainment district, this Bangkok city centre hotel enables guests to explore the vibrant city and its multiple options – all within easy reach.City Lodge Soi 19 provides well-appointed guest rooms with modern amenities and personalised service for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your City Lodge Soi 19 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Soi 19 Hotel Bangkok
City Hotel Bangkok
City Hotel Soi 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Soi 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.