We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR TRIP TO BANGKOK RUINED!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Free Upgrade
Ranked #54 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR TRIP TO BANGKOK RUINED!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Ridiculously rude and unhelpful staff. Room service is microwaved meals and canned soup. Hotel car/limousine service is a joke!!! I wanted to go to Wat Arun temple for sunset, I booked the hotel car to go, which isn't cheap (1200 baht). Upon getting to the lobby, the driver directly refused to take me saying there was too much traffic now and that he didn't want to take me. So why would the hotel let me book a car and tell me it was an hour drive from the hotel and then refuse to take me?!?! After a 30 minute argument with the driver, I realized there wasn't even a way that I would make it to the temple in time for sunset. Then, the hotel manager apologized and said they would take me complimentary for sunrise in the morning for the inconvenience. The sunset is much, much better by the way. So I woke up at 4:30AM and head down and they say there isn't a car and that there is no reservation, they don't even apologize and they won't take me in the morning, even if I paid for it!!!!! So I woke up unbelievable early for nothing, this hotel has completely ruined my trip to Bangkok, going to the temples was my main priority and they insured that it didn't happen!! On top of that, the bathrooms aren't clean, mold in showers. If you aren't an easy sleeper, even on the 30th floor you could hear the crowds and club music because the walls aren't sound proof from the streets below, very loud and noisy hotel!! The only good thing about this hotel is the buffet breakfast is very large with a lot of selection.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
domaschke, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your comments.

The experience you described on this website causes us deep concern.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any frustration or anxiety that our staff may have caused you during your recent stay at the Amari Watergate Bangkok
For the transfer to Wat Arun a series of miscommunications on our part, added to our failure to address your needs in an appropriate manner led to this unfortunate experience. The driver was trying to inform that at the moment the brigade/street taking you to the temple was blocked by a Red Shirt demonstration causing traffic jams and that the time was not enough to make for sunset. However the issues for having the car not ready on the next day morning is not acceptable.
Please rest assured that the issue was addressed to the department concerned to prevent this type of incident from happening again in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention, therefore giving us an opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    761
    203
    59
    30
See reviews for
582
976
214
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Value at it's best.
Very good hotel.No need to hesitate
Ticks all the boxes from quality to location.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Amari Watergate is located in the heart of the shopping district of bangkok. Bang opposite Platinum mall and a 3 minute walk to indra square. pantip plaza is a 2 minute walk. you can find all the shopping that you can think of in and around this luxurious hotel. The hotel boasts of exclusive chinese and thai restaurants and ample parking space. also has a Spa and recreation centre and a swimming pool.
just the perfect hotel for your business, leisure or shopping expeditions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Since I was there to organize a meeting, I got a room at the Executive Floor with access to the Executive Lounge, which had the most attentive and helpful staff, much better than the staff in other areas of the hotel. The room was luxurious, the pool very nicely designed, but the Executive Lounge is a very good reason to do business here, with complimentary cocktails every night, complimentary wifi, drinks and fruits and pastries round the clock, and a fantastic view. You can also do all your checking in and out here, avoiding the crowds at the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights, and even thought the reception showed professionalism, they apparently gave me the wrong bedding configuration. This is very upsetting but I decided not to change it as I was alriight with the single bed. Internet abit too expensive. Dirt on wall switches and some noise at night from above, apparently the walls are extremely thin and i can hear people talking!

The good thing though, is the location, as well as the spaciousness of the room. Lobby is spectacular too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My husband and I visited Phuket , Thailand for a conference and decided to stay in Bangkok for 4 nights.We had a three night stay at Amari Watergate which is a good hotel to stay though I wish breakfast had a varied english spread instead of a varied Asian spread (japanese mostly)
The hospitality is a what a regular four star would offer
Ans yes , the lobby looks really exotic !
But what turns the tables in the favour of the hotel is its BANG ON location.
Situated right in front of the Platinum Mall which is a great place to shop for clothes , bags etc it is also close to MBK and Pratunam mall.
Since the most of the sightseeing part was already done ( this was my second trip to Bangkok) I wanted a place which was easily accesible and close to all shopping areas
Since my husband has a slip disc problem , he could go back to the hotel whenever his back needed resting !
Beware of touts outside the hotel though..they mislead you and con you at the first given opportunity ! Happy Shopping

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

this is the best property of amari group and also the best 5 star hotel in pratunum area. excellent location for those who love shopping as you get all wholesale markets right there. check amari official website for best internet rates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#45 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.