We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a geat location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Watergate Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Watergate Bangkok to your Saves list
Amari Watergate Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Free Upgrade
Ranked #54 of 771 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
“Great Hotel in a geat location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The Hotel is just great. Good location. Beautiful, well equipted and quiet rooms. Very efficient and smiling service. Nice pool with nice poolside bar inwhich one can relax from the hactic city. Great fashion and electronics malls just across the street. Wallking distance from the great malls (Parangon, Siam, Central World).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    724
    195
    55
    29
See reviews for
564
932
208
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Amari Watergate in January, one en route to Ko Samui, and the other on our return in order to explore Bangkok a little before returning to England.

This was a very good hotel with the following highlights for us:

1. Large reception area and very prompt service

2. Good room bathroom well equipped; comfortable bed; good TV; great view out over the city.

3. Thai restaurant in the hotel was good

4. Breakfast: on our first stay breakfast was in the main restaurant and was excellent - a huge selection and very good quality. On our return trip, however, there must have been a large conference on as breakfast was moved to a smaller restaurant. Here, it was more difficult to get a table, everything was a little crammed, and the selection of food was less. This was a pity.

5. Location: on a busy main road ,opposite a large market-style shopping mall (and close to a much larger, ultra-modern mall). Easy to get taxis to the main attractions. Taxis very cheap but always ask to go on the meter - the fixed fares will tend to be double or treble the price, although you can haggle on those fixed fares if you wish. Beware - even though they're cheap, the Bangkok traffic means you might not get somewhere quickly in a taxi! But we weren't there long enough to suss out other forms of transport.

6. Outside pool and bar area: the highlight for us. This was on one of the higher floors at the hotel so had great views out over the city. Quite a large pool (although water was a bit cold) with plenty of sunbeds and a bar area. Perfect for escaping the mayhem of Bangkok down below.

All in all, a good hotel, perhaps more geared up for business than holiday guests but a very good place for a stopover to get a taste of Bangkok en route to the holiday resorts.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We arrived here as we had something delivered from their hotel in Chang Mai and decided we needed soem luxury after travelling room so booked in.
We got a deluxe room for 4,000 Baht a night with breakfast.
Great spaceous and modern room onthe 12 floor over looking the pool on the 8th.
Nice to come into air con afetr trekking round Bangkok every day.
Great breakfast as you would expect, and staff are ok but not as amazing as their colleague we had experienced in Chang Mai. Very quick to help you with luggage and taxi's but they have got used to tips and sometimes it is a bit irritating - when you have a case on wheels adn they want to help you with it to go 2 metres! Not very that but what you expect in hotels I guess.
Pool is great and the health centre is all free.
Woudl recommend look round the markets next door - really interetsing and some deals.
Get a canal taxi from the Pratanum pier over the bridge - great fun, cheap and a bit different.
Fruit on arrival
It is on a busy room, but then so is the whle of Bangkok
Close to all the shopping centres and should be 400 Baht to the airport through the toll.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed at the Amari watergate for 3 nights. The staff were friendy and very accomodating. The hotel was clean and modern with very stiff beds(but this seemed to be common in all of Thailand). There was a refigerator in the room, which came in pretty handy. The skytrain is not close. It's quite a walk to the skytrain station. The station is near the Siam Paragon, if you would like to go to a great grocery store it's in this mall. Also, scared to eat from the carts? There is a fabulous food court here that sells everything on the food carts, a great, safe way to try the food from the carts. The business center charges 200 baht for 30 minutes. I found an internet cafe that charged 20 baht and hour.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

By far the most welcoming hotel in Bangkok ! Without exception all the staff and management ensure every guest feels special and valued. Perfect for relaxation and prime position for shopping.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed at the Amari Watergate at the end of our trip to Thailand. We checked in with no problems, staff were very attentive and we instantly felt relaxed there. Our room was great, good size, comfortable king size bed and nice bathroom if not a bit dated (tiles were old and the grout was discoloured). Huge tv in the room with decent channel selection and a big plus was the luggage shelf which meant we could keep our bags out of the way for once!

Breakfast was pretty good, huge selection but some of the hot items were lukewarm/cold and as it is such a large hotel it was very busy in the mornings. Another point was that the lifts were incredibly slow! Could get quite tedious after a while so don't expect to get anywhere in a hurry!! There are 5 lifts but only 2 seemed to be working a lot of the time, not good during busy breakfast time as this is a large hotel.

Free wifi in the lobby was handy, plenty of places to sit as well. The lady on the guest services desk was very helpful and had a map of the area with various shopping places marked on. During our visits to Bangkok we found the MBK shopping mall to have the best bargains, there is also a good electricals mall just down the road from the hotel, though be aware that it closes at 7:30pm.

We ate at Henry J Beans during our stay (located in the lower lobby). This had a good menu at reasonable prices and was what we needed after two attacks of food poisoning during our travels in Thailand! They also had good drinks offers on and a house band, they started at 8:30pm but were pretty bland and seemed disinterested in what they were playing, which was a shame.

Overall we really liked the Amari Watergate, it was a nice bit of comfort at the end of an eventful trip to Thailand and despite being a large hotel it was very quiet in the room. The only negative really was being away from the skytrain, it is so hot in Bangkok which makes walking anywhere unpleasant. Heavy traffic makes taking a taxi ride anywhere pretty time consuming. We also had to argue with our taxi driver to the airport that we wanted him to put the meter on instead of paying him the 500 baht that he thought that we would be stupid enough to pay - please be aware that a taxi to/from the airport should be around 300 baht inclusive of toll charges (the tolls come to 70 baht) so don't accept paying the 400 -500 baht that some drivers will try to charge you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

During the chinese new year, my family, all together about 25 people went to bangkok for a short trip for 5 days. My best friend strongly recommended Amari Watergate at Bangkok to us. She said she knows the General Manager Mr Pierre Pelletier very well and he manages the hotel very well too. Going according to her recommendation, we did stay in Amari Watergate.

It was such a pleasant experience for our family. Firstly, staff there are very polite, always greet you with a warm smile. you would feel very warm and welcome over there. Secondly, environment, under the strong management team, led by Mr Pierre, was very clean, neat and pleasant. Thirdly, we are just normal travellers, not the rich and famous group. Mr. Pierre took the trouble to greet us during one morning. The impression of our stay there is really warm and welcoming. Needless to say, the rooms are affordable and super comfortable.

Will definitely stay in this hotel again should we visit bangkok again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#40 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#52 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amari Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Watergate Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.